Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

gould calls for 2nd brisbane nrl club

scruffy_tyson

1. crowds are at their lowest since around 2000. what happens to crowds when they are a bad team?

2. corporate sales are down massively as well. unlike the broncos who turn sponsors away.

3. the club is struggling financially and its still a good team.

4. with soccer and RL expanding in queensland, its going to be a real struggle for AFL to survive there. good luck with it

The crowd averages for the Brisbane lions in 2008 has been 28,128. A crowd average that many NRL teams would be happy with. Last week Brisbane had 34,000 people at the game yet only winning one of there last seven games. They also have 23,072, which is low for an AFL team, but a number of members many NRL team could only dream about. The Brisbane Lions will always survive because the AFL will keep giving it the money it needs. It is not in that bad of a financial position because when they won the three premierships they invested the money into a number of different companies which have gone on to perform well.

lets see how long the AFL is prepared to back them when they lose millions.

their crowds have fallen around 30% from their peak and i expect further falls to come.

with another NRL side in brisbane to compete with and soccer on the rise, id be worried if i were a fan of the lions.

given the pathetic tv ratings they get, the lack of crowds would be the final blow for the club

It's the most obvious thing in the world that the NRL needs teams in Brisbane and Perth. Those two teams would cement the game's position in one state and enhance it in another, generating increased revenue for everyone and at the same time make the NRL look better by having more games shown on TV with big crowds in attendance affects the 'look' and 'feel' that surrounds the sport.

Getting people like Gallop to admit this and actually do something about it is another matter.

exactly.

brisbane is RL mad.

gallop says we need more strength in capital cities.

here is a capital city which is crying out for another team.

they would not only increase TV ratings on nine, but also have massive crowds and be profitable.

by bringing in another brisbane nrl team we will create another RL powerhouse.

indeed the rivalry with the broncos would also help them as well.

the broncos will always be the biggest club in brisbane, but a second club getting 30,000 each week will be fantastic.

just to inform people :

the Brisbane Lions get live FTA coverage into brisbane, in great time slots.

despite this help, they often come last in the ratings. games get around 65,000 people watching in their home state.

that is a massive failure.

last week the broncos titans game was such a massive TV event it easily beat the Olympics coverage at the same time.

another brisbane nrl team would mean more of these massive games each year ie maybe 6 more massive queensland derbies which not only will get great crowds, but also big TV ratings.

Lockyer4President!

The crowd averages for the Brisbane lions in 2008 has been 28,128. A crowd average that many NRL teams would be happy with. Last week Brisbane had 34,000 people at the game yet only winning one of there last seven games. They also have 23,072, which is low for an AFL team, but a number of members many NRL team could only dream about.

That membership figure is drastically inflated by Victorians, the actual number of QLD based members is around 10-15,000. Even then, most of the QLD based supporters are Victorians who've moved to Queensland... The Storm have almost that many members yet the Lions have an eleven year headstart, they are only competing against one NRL team (not like the Sotmr competeing against 9/10 AFL teams) and enjoy significantly better media coverage.

The Brisbane Lions will always survive because the AFL will keep giving it the money it needs.
lol Do you realise how bad that sounds?

It is not in that bad of a financial position because when they won the three premierships they invested the money into a number of different companies which have gone on to perform well.
Stop talking sh*t. Not long ago the Lions CEO was interviewed in the CM and said they had not taken advantage of the four GF's they were gifted by the AFL, and were regretting a lot of the decisions they had made.

i think 1 or 2 bad season finishing in the bottom 4 and their crowds will drop to 10,000 myself.

if they dont regularly win a GF to keep people interested the club will struggle.

at a time when they are having trouble selling sponsorships, the broncos are turning away sponsors.

dont forget the a league is looking at 2 new queenlsland sides as well. with another nrl team it will leave the lions doa.

I still think the odd crowd could get as low as 10k, but the season average would be around the 17-18k mark.

The Swans would really suffer with a few wooden spoon years. They had a couple of half-full SCGs this year and that's despite being in the top-four for much of it. Those big crowds at Homebush would also drop, relying heavily on ex-southern staters.

oh please!

the lions have no trouble selling sponsorship - they run a clean, tight ship up here - no 'Birds' allowed to ruin the image. the lions have the 'super coach' Matthews - perhaps the greatest to ever play the game. and possibly the best full forward running around today in Brown.

the lions will not struggle - 1 afl team in a city as large as ours? bah! watch out in about 5-10yrs for a 2nd afl team in Brisbane - unless the Gold Coast is so successful of course.

these comments are laughable at best.

whether you all think it should- or want, another nrl team to play at lang park, you have to remember that contracts exist to play there. the Broncos have majority use of the stadium as per their contract. all other sports fit around their nrl schedule.

the reds are contracted to play there also, as are the roar.
you can't create more days in the week, so your 'home' team would need to find an alternative location for SOME of the season - hardly the stuff that home ground advantages are built on.

plus, don't the cowboys play one or two of their 'home' games at lang park?

the Titans are the team for the disaffected Broncos supporters - not another Brisbane team. I think its a poor idea unless it becomes a Nthn Brisbane/Coast team.

compare us to Perth, if you will. 2 afl teams rule the roost, no NRL. SE Qld = 2 NRL teams that rule the roost, plus the cows for the far north, plus Brisbane has an AFL team. its way too soon for another NRL team in Brisbane

We know AFL supporters living in Brisbane would hate another NRL team from that area for obvious reasons. You are clutching at straws with your arguements. As Ben Ikin would say, "believe you me" SE QLD will get another team and it will be playing out of Suncorp.

Perth has 2 AFL teams playing out of Subiaco and a Super 14 team plus concerts.

If Subiaco and the MCG can do it then so can Suncorp. Suncorp (Lang Park trust) would love nothing more than another full-time NRL team, making it a guaranteed game a week during the footy season.

Bring it on.

Joker's Wild

My concerns on this would be:

1. Which area would be represented? Ipswich? Logan? Sunny Coast? Redcliffe?
2. Should an existing QRL side be advanced taking advantage of existing supporters or should a new franchise be created as to not alienate fans of all QRL clubs?

The only certainty here is that the new team must play out of Lang Park. There are no other grounds in the Brissy area that meet NRL standards as QEII is buried in sand.

Thomas

That membership figure is drastically inflated by Victorians, the actual number of QLD based members is around 10-15,000. Even then, most of the QLD based supporters are Victorians who've moved to Queensland...

And thats a problem how? Its still people coming to games, right? People who live in Qld are Qlders.

And do you have a source for those numbers you've just pulled out?

Also you'd be completely deluded if you think that the majority of Storm fans in Melbourne aren't ex-pat Islanders/NSWelshmen/Qlders. What do you reckon the % of Victorian Storm fans would be? I reckon about 20% going on my experiences playing RL in melbourne.

Again...this isn't an issue. The Storm could have 100% of their crowds being f**king Qlders and it wouldn't be an issue, would it!

Thomas

There are only two obvious candidates for another NRL team in Queensland - Logan or the Sunshine Coast.

The Sunshine Coast offers a better geographical split than Logan, as Logan is so close to the Gold Coast, but there's no major stadium at present. There's a lot of debate going on at the moment whether a planned stadium at Kawana will go ahead.

Maybe you could start with two home grounds - Sunshine Coast and somewhere like Bundaberg. With only six games a year at each ground you'd get full houses each time - surely.

I really don't think the Sunshine Coast is an option. The Sunshine coast has bugger all infrastructure for a new team. No stadium. No train lines near the coast etc.

I think either another Brisbane team or a team from CQ.

bluey

If a qld based team was to be looked at for me i would have a good look at redcliffe dolfins.It has the sunshine coast 30mins away and north brissy on tap.

Thomas

Yes...but it would be in Redcliffe which is, frankly, a f**king hole of a place. There's pretty much only one decent road in and out of the place and the town is filled with gap toothed bogans.

So is Logan and Ippy (Gap-toothed bogans)

And Sunnybank :D

Joker's Wild

Well, the team cant be called the "Brisbane XYZ" so it will have to take on at least 1 of the regions surrounding the CBD but not necessarily play a game in the region. SEQ could be a naming option though I guess.

Thomas

I took my family out to Redcliffe a month or so ago to have some fish and chips and to get out of the house on a lovely winters day.

You can see that they've done a good job at trying to hide the fact that Redcliffe is a slum by painting things and making it all touristy...but when you look closer you can see the dirty locals with teeth missing and torn Jim Beam and Holden Racing shirts.

Thomas

Well, the team cant be called the "Brisbane XYZ" so it will have to take on at least 1 of the regions surrounding the CBD but not necessarily play a game in the region. SEQ could be a naming option though I guess.

Yeah, true. They need to play out of Suncorp though.

I still think the odd crowd could get as low as 10k, but the season average would be around the 17-18k mark.

The Swans would really suffer with a few wooden spoon years. They had a couple of half-full SCGs this year and that's despite being in the top-four for much of it. Those big crowds at Homebush would also drop, relying heavily on ex-southern staters.

even 17,000 would be half their crowds at their peak.

its headed in the right direction though

south queensland crushers?

seriously another team could use the brisbane name