Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gould makes great point

Dogaholic

If you play for NSW at the junior level then you should be able to follow it up into the senior ranks

Bengal

nospam49 said:
I dont want a bunch of dirty bloody Kiwi's playing in and runing the Origin series.

Its bad enough that QLD has resorted to making up the rules as they go and brining a few Kiwi's into their side.

Gould is a dope. He should just **** off and leave the administration of the game to people that have a ****ing clue!

Well, I bet you were a happy chappy when Lowie coached Qld.

If you think Kiwis playing SOO is bad, wait to you see em lining up for Oz lol.

You are right about one thing though - it is a pain that Qld have made up a few rules as they've gone along. I mean I want NSW to win every game, year in year out - great for NSW - Origin will turn to shit, but who gives a rats - it's great for NSW!!!

We're all selfish f*cks around here aye mate so go Origin - f*ck International footie and go NSW - f*ck Origin.

Front-Rower

Its state of ORIGIN people. Its a representative game WHICH represents the state you played football in and more than likely grew up in.

No way should these internationals be ever allowed to play UNLESS the rules re-vert back to pre state of origin days and its based on the team you play for and the state that team is in.

panthersballboy

Origin will be a joke if NZ players play, same with GB players. It's the love/hate relationship between NSW and QLD which makes it work and that only comes from the players coming from the same states as the supporters. I love watching the blues win but the win would be as good if Sonny Bill won it for us. We don't want no kiwis winning us the SOO shield.

ali

I think some of you aren't quite interpreting Gus correctly here, but first I'll ask you this.

Should West Australians, South Aussies or Victorians be allowed to play Origin? Cronulla had 3 West Aussies on their books this year, and one of them Jon Green, an absolute born and bread sand groper, is a gun. I expect he will quite a bit of first grade. What if he becomes good enough for Origin? Will we not let him play? You would think so reading this board, as apparently Origin is only for NSW Welshmen and QLDers.

This sport of ours will never be anything more than blip on the world stage if we continue to neglect International footy. The issue here, is that there will be players who could bring NZ up to a level that will regularly beat Australia, that are being drawn away from the NZ team, by the lure or origin football.

I would not let the likes of Benji or Sonny Bill play Origin, as they moved here for football purposes. But anyone who grew up in Australia should be eligable for Origin eg K Hunt or the Cayless's. However this should not mean they automatically have to choose Australia as their Test playing nation. We need the likes of Neville Costigan playing for countries like PNG. But I can't imagine he will ever turn down QLD. He should be allowed to do both. Dimitri Pelo should be allowed to play for QLD and France.

On reflection, maybe Gus has taken this a little too far. I don't know he secretly wants Morley for Origin, I'd like to think he doesn't. But with NZ being Australia's largest supplier of modern day imigrants, this is a massive issue that needs solving. Nearly half the 2003 Aussie schoolboy side was eligable to play for NZ. This is a massive issue.

Hopefully the Tri Nations can become so successful that less and less Kiwi eligable players are drawn towards Origin. We can only hope.

ali

Its a Dogs World said:
If you play for NSW at the junior level then you should be able to follow it up into the senior ranks

And this comment is just stupid. The junior Origin games are full of QLDers playing for NSW, and occasionally vice versa. As well as born and bread Kiwis such as Sonny Bill, playing for NSW. Genuine Kiwis signed by Aussie clubs are also picked for the Australian schoolboys side.

On reflection, maybe we should stop picking the likes of Benji Marshall in teams such as the junior state teams and the Aussie schoolboys, and then maybe they would be less likely to turn their backs on NZ.

The ARL, is doing a pretty good job of hindering International RL.

drake

Multiculturalism includes Kiwis. If it were Italians, for example, would we be having this debate? Soccer fans certainly wouldn't.
If a Kiwi had his grade origin in NSW or QLD, so be it. If it was in NZ, sorry not welcome. This isn't about where you were born, it's about representing the state RL that you first played under, QRL or NSWRL.

Kris_man

kiwis playing in origin - you're f**king kidding me aren't you?!?! like someone else said, if we're gonna do that, we might as well just revert back to the old NSW vs QLD days. and i still reckon that NZ in the State of Origin as a third team would make the series much more interesting. doing that wouldn't hurt the international game, it'd strengthen it. the series would be somewhat similar to the Super 12 in that there's representatie teams, from different countries, playing against one another. the only possible obstacle is the Kiwi's pride - would it be dented if they had to play against an Australian state? if so, then maybe there could be North and South NZ teams?

RifRaf

Rugby League needs to get over the Super League hang over for qualifying for SSO and Country and make it far more clearer.. If NZ could keep all the young crop of players coming through (Hunt, Marshall, SBW, Harrison etc) then international rugby league would have a chance of finally reaching it's full potential and possibly surpass Origin.. League has no credibility with issue like this and needs to find it order to cease being the laughing stock of international sports..

ali

Kris_man said:
i still reckon that NZ in the State of Origin as a third team would make the series much more interesting. doing that wouldn't hurt the international game, it'd strengthen it. the series would be somewhat similar to the Super 12 in that there's representatie teams, from different countries, playing against one another. the only possible obstacle is the Kiwi's pride - would it be dented if they had to play against an Australian state? if so, then maybe there could be North and South NZ teams?

This has some merit. It would be a massive revenue raiser for the Kiwis, and it may be a way for them to become far more passionate about their national team. In some ways it would be seperate from their Test team, as many of their players are based in the UK, and wouldn't make the mid season trip down under. If we went this route, then there would be little need for the one off mid season tests, which haven't yet taken off.

Something must be done to get all the best Kiwis playing for NZ.

RifRaf

South Islander Players
Dene Halatau
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
Please fill in the blanks..... I think I heard someone mention a City Country option before for NZ that might have more merit than North V South but probably wouldn't get as much exposure or tribalism about it..

Grantwhy

ali said:
Kris_man said:
i still reckon that NZ in the State of Origin as a third team would make the series much more interesting. doing that wouldn't hurt the international game, it'd strengthen it. the series would be somewhat similar to the Super 12 in that there's representatie teams, from different countries, playing against one another. the only possible obstacle is the Kiwi's pride - would it be dented if they had to play against an Australian state? if so, then maybe there could be North and South NZ teams?

This has some merit. It would be a massive revenue raiser for the Kiwis, and it may be a way for them to become far more passionate about their national team. In some ways it would be seperate from their Test team, as many of their players are based in the UK, and wouldn't make the mid season trip down under. If we went this route, then there would be little need for the one off mid season tests, which haven't yet taken off.

Something must be done to get all the best Kiwis playing for NZ.

It has been done once (a NSW/NZ/QLD tri-series) ..... it's not a bad idea but tends to been seen by some as a bad thing because of where it originated from :p.

gregstar

if international football is to resume the top mantle it needs passion & patriotism! how is that possible playing for one country & then for part of another?