Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gratitude Thread

Dragon David

I’m grateful that I was able to travel by car when I was a youngster, and not a horse and cart like you David.
Just jokes mate, you saw the very best years of the mighty dragons!
Yes, i sure did Crush. Those days way back then were simple and no stress times I can assure you. Things have certainly changed since then and the Dragons nowhere near as dominant now unfortunately to what they were in the 50's and 60's as we oldies know. The 60's was a great era with the bands from the UK coming through (Beatles, Stones, Animals, even Sonny and Cher, Procol Harum etc) and the Beach Boys from the US, Elvis and so on. But the best of course is the long standing 11 premierships in a row by our beloved Dragons.

Starting full-time work in the mid 60's.

Forever grateful for those beautiful times.

justadragon

I'm grateful that we have a forum that we can all share our disappointment, sadness, elated wins (minimal), views, concerns, heated debate etc knowing full well that whatever we say will have absolutely no impact on the Dragons , players, coaches or club .Actually no one outside this forum gives a F%$K what we say. But I like it !!!

Drakon

I’m grateful:
1. I was born in Kogarah in 1957;
2. Latrell doesnt play for StGI;
3. Hook has gone; and
4. My wife doesn’t like watching the game.
1. I'm a 1957 Kogarah Hospital guy too. Lived at Rockdale in the day and went to Kogarah High School.
2. I'm also very pleased Mitchell doesn't play for Saints.
3. Hook free zone.
4. Always wished in the past that my wife would watch the footy with me but you're right. Better that she doesn't!
Well said Mojo.

Nanadragon

I'm grateful for my son who was born in Kogarah Hospital in 1973. He, of course, is a Dragon supporter, and his older sister.
While I was in there Apisai Toga was brought into the hospital with tetanus and, sadly, died. He was a gentle giant who played for Saints at the time.

I'm grateful for being at the 64, 65, 66, 77 & 79 G F victories.

I'm grateful when I was a little kid that mum & dad took me to KGO & SCG for so many games and dad carrying the esky with the devon and tomato sauce sandwiches and GI lime drinks in it because we were there for all 3 grades.

I'm grateful that my junior club Peakhurst Hawks were in the St George comp and not Canterbury as we were very close to the border. A big thank you to Michael Kidd for making sure of that.

I'm grateful that in my youth I got to play many games at KGO and hang my gear where the greats hung theirs on game day.

I'm grateful that I was allowed onto all the grounds at full time to chase corner posts and of course signatures for my autograph book.

I'm grateful that Frank Facer was with us and not another club.

Dragon David

I'm grateful for being at the 64, 65, 66, 77 & 79 G F victories.

I'm grateful when I was a little kid that mum & dad took me to KGO & SCG for so many games and dad carrying the esky with the devon and tomato sauce sandwiches and GI lime drinks in it because we were there for all 3 grades.

I'm grateful that my junior club Peakhurst Hawks were in the St George comp and not Canterbury as we were very close to the border. A big thank you to Michael Kidd for making sure of that.

I'm grateful that in my youth I got to play many games at KGO and hang my gear where the greats hung theirs on game day.

I'm grateful that I was allowed onto all the grounds at full time to chase corner posts and of course signatures for my autograph book.

I'm grateful that Frank Facer was with us and not another club.
Very nice with all those gratitudes Old Timer. Having your mum and dad taking you to those games would be so special in your memory bank.

BTW, I'm still having devon and tomato sauce sandwiches - you can't beat them. Those lime drinks (I can recall the Lime Coola cordial) are special as well.

Frank Facer was the best.