Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greg Bird

BrotherJim05

Greg Bird is solid. I don't give a shit what he does with his personal life, that's his business.

I don't think he will be found guilty. Maybe he snorted a bit at some point but you can't charge someone in a court of law for that can you? Plus he can afford a good lawyer so I would be very surprised if he gets found guilty over anything.

Before the whole cocaine scandal it was reported he was unhappy at Titans and considering leaving. Now more than ever he would definitely want to jump ship.

Do you see what I'm getting at?

Yes, we should chase his signature. Yes, he is exactly what we need. No, if he is found innocent it will not harm our image or be a bad influence on the young guys.

Just want to hear everyone's opinions whether they think this is a good idea, would ever possibly happen or even your thoughts on Bird.

Grub of a player, merkin of a human being.

We're not talking about a serial dickhead like Willie Mason or a Todd Carney, this bloke is an out and out cancer.

No thanks.

Magpies Forever

He is 31'ish and in the older ranks, but for the right price I'd consider him. A useful backrower and 5/8, SOO standard.

He has made some bad decisions and/or been given bad advice but no hanging offence. Since I was prepared to consider Mason in his final years, I'm happy to give the same consideration to Bird. Maybe as with Mason he'd like to go out being known for his playing contribution rather than off field antics.

Tigers Tale

I'll tell you why I'd never consider him...good player or not.

He has proven he has a bad influence on those around him. Think back to when he was at the Sharks. Bird and Paul Gallen were the worst blokes in the comp for picking fights and just being idiots. He leaves the Sharks and Gallen goes on to be one of the best payers in the comp. I don't know he would have done that with Bird still in his ear.

Bird goes to the Titans and he is peeing on police cars and now this...it can't all be supposition.

Now my concern for the Tigers is we have so many young and impressionable players in the team. I accept they may learn a few things about the game from Bird, but it is the other side of him that I don't want exposed to these young guys.

This guy has too much history...and besides, I think he is guilty, if not of this, to just being a dic..head.

Radical Rat

I'd take him in a flash. He's exactly the sort of player we need.

Honestly who cares about his misdemeanours. If he gets his sh!t together with us, in 12 months no one will even care. I'm sick of not chasing any troubled players and then watching every other club pick them up on the cheap.

It doesn't bode badly on the club because they just put the old "Rehibilitation" line and "Footy is the best thing for him to be doing".

There was a huge media wankfest over Carney when he "heroically" bounced back from controversy with the Roosters to win the Dally M. Albeit that one didn't end well.

No one gives two sh!ts about Dugan's past anymore. The Dragons are profiting from the Raiders sacking him.

Ferguson will still no doubt be a gun for the Roosters.

Greg Bird is still one of the best backrowers in the game and exactly the sort of player we need. I'd love Siro to learn a thing or two off him (on the field of course).

Radical Rat

I'll tell you why I'd never consider him...good player or not.

He has proven he has a bad influence on those around him. Think back to when he was at the Sharks. Bird and Paul Gallen were the worst blokes in the comp for picking fights and just being idiots. He leaves the Sharks and Gallen goes on to be one of the best payers in the comp. I don't know he would have done that with Bird still in his ear.

Bird goes to the Titans and he is peeing on police cars and now this...it can't all be supposition.

Now my concern for the Tigers is we have so many young and impressionable players in the team. I accept they may learn a few things about the game from Bird, but it is the other side of him that I don't want exposed to these young guys.

This guy has too much history...and besides, I think he is guilty, if not of this, to just being a dic..head.

Yeah but he's been at the Titans for years without any major controversies.

I might be missing an incident, but what's his rap sheet?

- Kneeing Shane Marteene in the head about 10yrs ago. (young and stupid)
- Pissing on a police car (media beat-up).
- This coke thing which is still unresolved.

He's been playing first grade for a number of years now. I'd cop that behaviour for a SOO player that plays in the position we need filled most.

Yes he niggles and stuff but that's just his game. Unlike someone like Ennis he's actually got the game to back it up.

Ron's_Mate

Top bloke - sign him up. He can share a flat with Brooks & Teddy and be like a mentor to them. :sarcasm:

Yeah nah.

Sure he's great on the field, but we have just had a few seasons of being in the press for all the bad reasons and it decimated the club to its core.

We don't want to go through that bullshit again.

Furthermore, history aside, we are building a young squad. Buying old guys has to end. Its a shortsighted policy and rarely has proven to be worthwhile.

There are other back row options available that are much better than what we have (albeit not as good as Bird) that would also be cheaper.

I'd look at getting some Poms, like Larne Patrick, Oliver Holmes, Liam Farrell, Elliot Whitehead etc

They'd come cheaper than NRL players and would be an improvement on what we have already.

And British forwards tend to work quite well here.

BrotherJim05

I'd look at getting some Poms, like Larne Patrick, Oliver Holmes, Liam Farrell, Elliot Whitehead etc

They'd come cheaper than NRL players and would be an improvement on what we have already.

And British forwards tend to work quite well here.

Good point. Surely their has to be some poms keen to test themselves in the NRL. Richards is probably mates with a couple of them.

Obviously not for this year but 2016 would be a good goal

gronkathon

He is an abhorrent bloke.

In terms of culture would you really want a guy who tried to stitch up his best mate for glassing a woman?

Pass

Magpies Forever

Couldnt imagine him coming anyway if WT made a bid. WT are not the most attractive club for whatever reason players imagine / feel. Hope it changes.

From a sponsorship and membership perspective, and how we focus on our juniors highly....I doubt we'd even think of him

We can do better hopefully soon....dont need to scrape the bottom...

raider89

Yeah but he's been at the Titans for years without any major controversies.

I might be missing an incident, but what's his rap sheet?

- Kneeing Shane Marteene in the head about 10yrs ago. (young and stupid)
- Pissing on a police car (media beat-up).
- This coke thing which is still unresolved.

He's been playing first grade for a number of years now. I'd cop that behaviour for a SOO player that plays in the position we need filled most.

Yes he niggles and stuff but that's just his game. Unlike someone like Ennis he's actually got the game to back it up.

Might be missing an incident??? Do the words 'glassing' or 'girlfriend' ring any bells?
You don't want him at the tigers

He is 31'ish and in the older ranks, but for the right price I'd consider him. A useful backrower and 5/8, SOO standard.

He has made some bad decisions and/or been given bad advice but no hanging offence. Since I was prepared to consider Mason in his final years, I'm happy to give the same consideration to Bird. Maybe as with Mason he'd like to go out being known for his playing contribution rather than off field antics.

Big difference between Bird and Mason.

One bloke pissed on a wall in a laneway and drew a c**k on a tablecloth, the other is implicated in cocaine supply, pissed on a cop car and was found "not guilty" of glassing his ex-missus. He's a poor man's Craig Field.

magpie guy

Big difference between Bird and Mason.

One bloke pissed on a wall in a laneway and drew a c**k on a tablecloth, the other is implicated in cocaine supply, pissed on a cop car and was found "not guilty" of glassing his ex-missus. He's a poor man's Craig Field.

This is how I feel as well. Whilst winning is important and Bird would fill a much needed hole as a backrower come 5/8...I personally do not want to see our club employ grubs and criminals.