Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

GROWING UP in Australia

chileman

:shock: Bullens Animal World and El Caballo Blanco, they sure are blasts from the past. There was some place out near Liverpool we use to go to as well with rides and waterslides and paddle boats ect, can't remember the place now but do remember Heart Icecreams back then were only 20 cents as I only had 16 cents and couldn't buy one :sarcasm: :?

Choppies

Hey Dad being on prime time. When Reebok and Simpsons printed t-shirts were the height of fashion.
Ninja turtles, Blockbusters the gameshow.

newtownbluebags

what about when Channel 9 was the only TV station to go all night!.....the others used to close till 6am or thereabouts....

chileman

newtownbluebags said:
:D There was also Magic Kingdom at Lansvale......these places are all gone now :(
Was a Magic Castle up at Miami beach on the Gold Coast to that has since been made into a resort :(

newtownbluebags

yeah....the old (traditional style) amusement parks are getting thin on the ground now :(

Remember the fair dinkum easter show when it was out at the showground?....real show bags and dodgem cars etc....the crap they pass off these days as an easter show is a farce!!! :( :( :(

chileman

Yeah I went to the Easter Show once at Homebush and it had nothing like it use to at the old show grounds, it was still considered expensive back then to enter (something like $30 per family...lol, that hardly buys you a showbag now) but once you were in their was heaps and heaps of freebies...didn't break the bank!

Choppies

Homebush easter show is a waste. I remember when a pack of footy cards from my local shop were $1 a pack, The old Regina and Dynamic ones.

chileman

Choppies said:
Homebush easter show is a waste. I remember when a pack of footy cards from my local shop were $1 a pack, The old Regina and Dynamic ones.
Gum always tasted better in them :p use to love sniffing the cards afterwards too, gum smell.....mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

newtownbluebags

chileman said:
Gum always tasted better in them :p use to love sniffing the cards afterwards too, gum smell.....mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!
Thats a smell you never forget! :lol: Scanlens were the best cards :crazy:

Choppies

Now I just buy my footy cards on boxes. I'll still pick up a pack if I see them at newsagents or wherever. The magic is gone though.

newtownbluebags

what about when you had to drink bottled milk at school each morning!!! and it was warm from the sun and the birds had pecked at the lids!!!!

crusader-eel

I remember the bottled milk! I hated flavoured milk and I'd gag through most of it :lol: Learned to sit near a drain or grate and sneakily pour it down there.