Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Guitar Amp Help

Frailty

Ok guys here's the issue...

I've recently bought a Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier from the US (because it is much cheaper than here). As such the power transformer in the amp would not handle the Australian Voltage.

So I have two options:
  1. Find a genuine mesa transformer for the Australian models and pay a repair tech to change them - although I've hear Mesa only sends out transformer in replacement of damaged ones. Also heard the different sizes may alter the sound of the amp.
  2. By a step down transformer. This would mean an extra big of gear.
I'm leaning towards the second option.

What do you all think?

GC_Gladiator

I'd go step number 1.

Do it properly so that if you sell it you wont have any problems. I did both with a bass amp that I bought, except the converter that i spent 150 bucks on wasn't big enough and kept blowing fuses . I eventually just paid the 150 to get it done properly and there were no worries about any of that for the future.

Do you know for sure you'd need a new power transformer? And would it have to be a Mesa power transformer?

Only reason i ask is i had an ampeg head that didn't need a power transformer change, just a bit of rewiring inside of the product.

beave

both have their pros and cons................i would go with step 1 as well.

i bought a GNX4 pedal from the states when i was on holiday, bought a step down transformer for it when i got back to oz, nothing but drama, kept blowing fuses on the step down transformer i got from Dick Smiths, went to the music shop in town up here and told the lad the dramas i had and was ready to just give up on the whole...............he goes "have you just tried using the aussie plug that comes with the aussie version"...................i slapped my head, bought the spare one he had behind the counter and walked out feeling like an absolute d!ckhead.

Let us know how you go with it mate, very keen to hear how you overcome this.

Frailty

both have their pros and cons................i would go with step 1 as well.

i bought a GNX4 pedal from the states when i was on holiday, bought a step down transformer for it when i got back to oz, nothing but drama, kept blowing fuses on the step down transformer i got from Dick Smiths, went to the music shop in town up here and told the lad the dramas i had and was ready to just give up on the whole...............he goes "have you just tried using the aussie plug that comes with the aussie version"...................i slapped my head, bought the spare one he had behind the counter and walked out feeling like an absolute d!ckhead.

Let us know how you go with it mate, very keen to hear how you overcome this.

I'm almost certain Iwill have to change it... I could put an ausse power chord, but it will feed 240V into a 120V power transformer (which wuld actually be about 300watts going in)... I will stop by some guitar techs and see what they suggest.

If you are going to go all out and pay for mesa boogie
1: I would have got it here so if anything does go wrong I can easily take it back to get it fixed.
or
2: go with option 1 ...get it done properly.

GC_Gladiator

No you can't just buy an 220v power chord, but you might fight that the power transformer within the mesa can be reconfigured by a tech. I wouldn't spend any money on step downs until i found out whether that could be done or not.

Just to carch, when i bought my ampeg from the states it was 1500 all up after conversion. The amp i bought still has a retail of about $4,000. That was about 3 years ago when the dollar was alot stronger, but it allowed my to get a great amp.

Frailty

No you can't just buy an 220v power chord, but you might fight that the power transformer within the mesa can be reconfigured by a tech. I wouldn't spend any money on step downs until i found out whether that could be done or not.

Just to carch, when i bought my ampeg from the states it was 1500 all up after conversion. The amp i bought still has a retail of about $4,000. That was about 3 years ago when the dollar was alot stronger, but it allowed my to get a great amp.

Exactly! This amp retails in Australia at $5,000. I paid just under $3000 including shipping.

I'm planning to speak to a few guitar techs in the next week or so. I guess they will give me a good indication of whether it is just a modification or a complete replacement.

mate, if your gonna pay that much one would think you would have forseen this problem and already sourced someone to fix it prior to you buying it.

Frailty

mate, if your gonna pay that much one would think you would have forseen this problem and already sourced someone to fix it prior to you buying it.

It not a massive issue, and I already knew of two ways to fix the problem, it is simply matter of deciding what is the better choice. So to answer your question, I did know of what I needed to do before buying it, and even considering that it is a hell of a lot cheaper than buying it out here.

I came to gain some suggestions about which method would be more beneficial.

Frailty

I asked a quote from the Mesa Distributor in Australia, a new power transformer will cost $750 to be put in, for parts and labour. They are based in Canberra though.

I am working on getting other quotes closer to home.

GC_Gladiator

Yeah, Mesa distributors would probably pillage you for it. That would probably have to be the most expensive power transformer in the business...

It not a massive issue, and I already knew of two ways to fix the problem, it is simply matter of deciding what is the better choice. So to answer your question, I did know of what I needed to do before buying it, and even considering that it is a hell of a lot cheaper than buying it out here.

I came to gain some suggestions about which method would be more beneficial.

so
you still don't have anyone to fix it and you still can't even use it?

I hope it doesn't have any problems after you do do anything to it.
I am only guessing but I'd reckon your warranty would be rooted should something happen to it.

Like I said , if I was you I would get it done properly ....and by Mesa Boogie.

Frailty

It is still getting shipped Carch, so it's not just sitting there being unused. I'm gettin quotes and advice early so I'm not doing that.

After getting a bit of feedback from Amp Techs and such, the verdict is - UNDECIDED. Whilst the ProAudio tech suggested the change - proaudio being the authorised distributor of Mesa gear, only Guitar Crazy at Coogee has suggested changing over. They suggested get the part from ProAudio and then take it to a tech.

In contrast, the amp tech at Venue suggested not swapping and using a step down transformer, and so does this guy: http://www.bmusic.com.au/links/techtips/archives/tubes/valveqanda.htm

I am still waiting for a few more replies to e-mails to some techs, but it might be worthwhile getting a good quality step down as opposed to swapping it over, but we will see.

Frailty

Just got back a reply back from a very reputable Amp Technician:

you have 3 options with your MESA:

• Get an Australian version transformer from Pro Audio, which will set you back somewhere between $500 & $700 for the transformer only ( this is Pro Audio discouragement price for items purchased outside Australia).
  • Purchase a step-down transformer to run the unit on 110V. This is a bit cheaper than above, but is very bulky & heavy.
  • You can get the original transformer out & take it to someone to rewind, ie turn it into a 240V version
From past experience the third option is the best one in sense that it will be more economic than option one
and the amp will function without any heavy appendages like an external step-down transformer.

Our labour cost to pull the old transformer out & refit the correct one for both first or third options is between $150 & $200.
If you go with option 3 I can refer you to transformer winding place in Kingsgrove, I know he has done at least one job for your model
for another customer and is reasonable with his price. We can either take the transformer out & courier it out for rewind or get you to pick
it up from us & deal direct with the guy yourself & when done bring it back & we will fit it into the amp.

fair enough .
I thought you already had it.

Only problem with the step down is it is just another thing that can and will fug up right at the crucial stage.
i.e halfway through a gig.
...and it is not exactly something you have few spares of , like fuses and strings etc.

good luck with it.

Frailty

fair enough .
I thought you already had it.

Only problem with the step down is it is just another thing that can and will fug up right at the crucial stage.
i.e halfway through a gig.
...and it is not exactly something you have few spares of , like fuses and strings etc.

good luck with it.

I like to be prepared, so whenever I gig I always have a spare guitar, amp, strings, etc. So if it did happen to breakdown, I'd be ready to with another amp.

option 3 is what I would be doing mate, sounds the cheapest.

Well the amp arrived today (looks f**king stellar) so I'm going to pop into a few places tomorrow, including the re-wiring place. I'm not sure option 3 would work because I've heard the Mesa Transformer won't wind back.