Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Haere Mai E Hoa Matiu Elliott

MKEB...

Not overly happy with the Elliott signing, but I am willing too give him a chance (obviously not my decision).

With Scurrah announcing this signing he needs to stay AWAY now and let Elliott absolutley flog them in the off season. Elliott is smart and he will bring in good people to get this right. I reckon Price and Wiki wil be in the mix shortley

spear tackle

Not my first choice but now he's here lets support him and then if they do lose the first 5 games put the boot in.
Players that are already complaining should get themselves a release to bartercard cup because if I was a talent scout for the NRL I wouldn't take them with a crap attitude like that.
Anyway hope this guy flogs them into a coheisive unit in the preseason, no time off for being tired this year lads.

Meth

I'd even go as far as to say that unless we snag Bellamy or somebody of his ilk (Hasler or Bennett), we need to keep Elliot until the end of his contract regardless. Axing 2 coaches before their contract ends would only make it more undesirable for coaches and players to come to us.

mate of rugby league fan first and foremost...not a warriors fan
I was here before them...like many fans.

That said I wish nothing but the best for the club and team

However like I said Scurrah will be on thin ice ...this has been a circus

More importantly I am worried about the other areas of thE club that need addressing

Also interested in who they bring in? especially if iro walks

Fair enough call. I admire your passion. We all wanted that star coach. It didnt happen so its crucial for us as fans to get behind Elliot 120%. We shall see how it pans out be interesting to see who we sign.

natheel

good coach but needs to be tough on his players to get the best out of them. Bluey was a bit soft. Cleary wasn't.

Will be interesting

mean_maori_mean

Fair enough call. I admire your passion. We all wanted that star coach. It didnt happen so its crucial for us as fans to get behind Elliot 120%. We shall see how it pans out be interesting to see who we sign.

Agreed - we can have our bitch and moan - I dont need to get behind him 120% though.
More importantly than this is the reforms they make (not talk about).
And I am still holding out for releases about this side of the changes.

I do like the statement that he is also in control of the vulcans (I think they will rebrand them) and the 20s.

If they truely get the best 20-24 year old local players - sign them up and pay them accordingly the NSW cup team will be awesome. We would have

Just dont fill the team up with any blokes over the age of 25 - just a waste of time. If this is done - they wont be a bunch of no-hopers.
They will be genuine, well trained, enthusiastic bunch of young player pushing to put on the warriors nrl jersey.

Remember if money is not an issue - start signing the likes of 20s players graduating and the best players from Fox/NZRL competition now.
Give them 5K contacts, some warriors gear and start them training from end of october.

This would stop the need to promote the likes of OMar - who was rubbish when playing nrl.

The 20s needs to be controlled by Elliot and Bell - not ackland. No more bullshite selections which stuffed up development opportunities.

i.e playing dumb football
playing toka on the wing
playing omar at no. 6

We need players in those positions, who actually might have a future in the positions they are playing.

To they can replace the likes of tupou and provide pressure on johnson etc.

Elliot needs to sort this rubbish out right from get go.

Warmess

Will be interesting to see who Elliot appoints as his other assistant. Has Robbie Paul actually done much coaching in league?

Elliot was talking about how we're the most resourced team he's ever coached for, and that he'll get everything he needs. I hope he's up to the play on sports sciences and actually pushes for us to get new facilities. To be honest I'm probably more interested in that than who we end up recruiting.

He seems like a nice guy, but he needs the results quickly next season or else he's gonna be in for a world of hurt from Warriors supporters.

hitro

He obviously talks a great game, but the one bit of talk I like amongst all the hot air, is talk of signing up some more backs pronto. I vote for M Jennings and Israel Folau, Sandor Earl would have been a good buy when he was available last week. What about Piri Weepu? His days with All Blacks must be very numbered and he might prefer to stay near his family rather than be put out to pasture in Europe, just an idea. Perhaps we've already got a few spare halves if you count Mateo and Tuimavave

Iafeta

He obviously talks a great game, but the one bit of talk I like amongst all the hot air, is talk of signing up some more backs pronto. I vote for M Jennings and Israel Folau, Sandor Earl would have been a good buy when he was available last week. What about Piri Weepu? His days with All Blacks must be very numbered and he might prefer to stay near his family rather than be put out to pasture in Europe, just an idea. Perhaps we've already got a few spare halves if you count Mateo and Tuimavave

The two blokes who have always appealed to me as being leaguies playing union are Robbie Fruean and Rene` Ranger. Its absolutely staggering that Robbie hasn't played for the All Blacks, a sign of the time of how far ahead of the rest they are they guess as I reckon he'd be an automatic pick for every other test nation. I would be talking to their managers, I don't know what the status of their NZRU contracts are but they both have that size and speed and ball skill that would make them potentially dangerous outside backs.

Illiterate

I hope the first thing Elliot does is fire dean bell. If we have all this room in the cap why didn't we sign our Toyota cup players that left at the end of the season. We really only need to sign a winger we have got enough depth in every other position.

ozbash

The two blokes who have always appealed to me as being leaguies playing union are Robbie Fruean and Rene` Ranger. Its absolutely staggering that Robbie hasn't played for the All Blacks, a sign of the time of how far ahead of the rest they are they guess as I reckon he'd be an automatic pick for every other test nation. I would be talking to their managers, I don't know what the status of their NZRU contracts are but they both have that size and speed and ball skill that would make them potentially dangerous outside backs.

Fruen might get a shot now the Nonu is undecided, ie, going to Japan.

Ranger would be a good buy, so would Kerr-Barlow..

jaseg

Exactly - and I think, if we're considering Union as a recruiting option for first grade, that it should be limited to centre/wingers - we don't need anything else (well, a half with Leuluai to move to hooker at some point, but I'd rather recruit that from league) from them. Fruean/Ranger would be perfect.

nzwarriorskuz

Great signing and he will take us to the Grand Final.

He is the only coach to have NRL coaching experiance prior to coming here except for John Monie.

He knows about off seaons, sports science, etc

Knows about how the interchange works, players strengths and weaknesses

32796000% better than dunce mclennon

he will get the best outta mateo locke etc

only thing that worries me is that he lets the players have to much power
would have liked to see iro appointed as coach, most of the players seemed to be behind him too, however time will tell whether elliott was the right choice.