Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Happy Birthday Wests Tigers

gr8_1

Today is the day the JV was formed in 1999. (as reported on 2KY)

Happy Birthday/Happy Anniversary/Get Well/Best Wishes etc etc to the Wests Tigers.

Wests Tigers managements presents to its fans :
- taking away home games and re-allocating them to Telstra
- announcing it will wear old style Magpies and Balmain jerseys this year
Great way of getting your own identity Wests Tigers Management. :clap: ](*,)

zaibatsu

i reckon we should wear the old jerseys from balmain and western suburbs 1ce each per year.. i like the merger and have supported it all the way but we still cant forget the 2 great teams we once were and they deserve comemerating (however u spell that?)
:evil: #-o @ the telstra games though..

Happy Birthday Wests Tigers!

Mighty Tiger

Look I support the JV but I would take offence to the Wests Tigers running around in Wests Jerseys as I am sure Wests fans would feel the same way about them running in Balmain Jerseys

It is a joke they need to establish their own identity and they also need to try and stop the amount of crap that goes on from both sides of the JV and of course the smart move to do this is to play them in the JV traditional partners jerseys :roll:

Its a joke!!!!!!

Next they will be wearing a half and half jersey and well who knows they might even be able to see a game down at birchgrove or some place like that :roll:

HOT028

i like the half and half jersey and a game at birchgrove or lidcombe oval would be great, they would get my $15.00

zaibatsu

well they wouldnt get angry at it if they really did support the joint venture because they would accept the history of both parts of it

FFs!!....its a one off event for all the teams this year....retro round 25.....

All the other clubs are wearing their old jumpers from the 80's

But we are in a unique position...what do we do? Wear the 2000 strip and get laughed at????

Wear the TOC jumper that no-one bar wests Tigers fans has ever seen before???

All the other clubs get one opportunity.

We get two.

Its no biggie :roll:

Offence??? :lol: :lol: Its just a friggin footy jumper....you take offence at clubs merging....a one off jersey is not worth getting worked up over.

Mighty Tiger

innsaneink said:

But we are in a unique position...what do we do? Wear the 2000 strip and get laughed at????

We get two.

Offence??? :lol: :lol: Its just a friggin footy jumper....you take offence at clubs merging....a one off jersey is not worth getting worked up over.

Whats does Melbourne, Cowboys and Warriors do for this grand event :roll:

Mighty Tiger said:
innsaneink said:

We get two.

Whats does Melbourne, Cowboys and Warriors do for this grand event :roll:
Since when you so f**kin concerned about them......we DO have a history despite what all these a merkins from the raiders etc keep telling us....heres a chance to show everybody our REAL history....not with a poxy cornflakes packet TOC jumper....but with the real things!!!!!

Mighty Tiger

innsaneink said:
Since when you so f***in concerned about them......we DO have a history despite what all these a merkins from the raiders etc keep telling us....heres a chance to show everybody our REAL history....not with a poxy cornflakes packet TOC jumper....but with the real things!!!!!

Yes both Wests and Balmain have a history going back to the 80's however the Wests Tigers don't!

Look I would be for the club to show they value tradition however when they turn around mid week to say that they will be taking even more games from Leichhardt oval to me it shows that they don't value it at all and think they can through around the so called history flag when ever they want and the fans will accept it!

Mighty Tiger said:
innsaneink said:
Since when you so f***in concerned about them......we DO have a history despite what all these a merkins from the raiders etc keep telling us....heres a chance to show everybody our REAL history....not with a poxy cornflakes packet TOC jumper....but with the real things!!!!!

Yes both Wests and Balmain have a history going back to the 80's however the Wests Tigers don't!

Look I would be for the club to show they value tradition however when they turn around mid week to say that they will be taking even more games from Leichhardt oval to me it shows that they don't value it at all and think they can through around the so called history flag when ever they want and the fans will accept it!

Yeah the Mapies and Balmain have their own seperate histories.....and Wests Tigers have there own history too, which just happens to be the Maggies and Balmain.

Telstra Leichardt Campbo is a diff issue. Related yet diff.

Mighty Tiger

innsaneink said:
Yeah the Mapies and Balmain have their own seperate histories.....and Wests Tigers have there own history too, which just happens to be the Maggies and Balmain.

How different is it really ???

I mean they want to wear 2 jerseys from the Wests Tigers so called history is from 20yrs ago is that correct ???

Going from your logic then Leichhardt oval is our most historical ground and hence they are trying to remove games from there - but hey its all ok for them to turn around and say we are for traidtion for 2 weeks of the year now isn't it :roll:

HOT028

if the next 5 years are worse it will e the last 5 years that the wests tigers survive as a JV

Mighty Tiger

HOT028 said:
if the next 5 years are worse it will e the last 5 years that the wests tigers survive as a JV

I doubt it will, we have learned alot over the years and well I think if you look at the quality and quantity of the talent we have coming through the ranks and not to mention full funding for the next few years at least things are looking up

I have no doubt the JV will be a success don't you worry about that and when we do become a comp threat well god only knows how packed Leichhardt and Campbeltown will get!

HOT028

you gotta love the bandwagoners, leichhardt and cambo would be packed if we were top 4/6 every year, then the games at homebush and nz would have to be transfered.

Mighty Tiger

HOT028 said:
you gotta love the bandwagoners, leichhardt and cambo would be packed if we were top 4/6 every year, then the games at homebush and nz would have to be transfered.

To be honest people love winners thats a simple fact - we have always had a big supporter base they just went missing when all the crap was happening and I could understand why - but hey things have turned around and look at us now ;-)

only better things ahead as well ;-)

Mighty Tiger said:
innsaneink said:

How different is it really ???

I mean they want to wear 2 jerseys from the Wests Tigers so called history is from 20yrs ago is that correct ???

Going from your logic then Leichhardt oval is our most historical ground and hence they are trying to remove games from there - but hey its all ok for them to turn around and say we are for traidtion for 2 weeks of the year now isn't it :roll:

Mate....I dont wanna seem like I'm pro the move to Telstra.

I dont wanna see Leichhardt and Campbo lose games.....but thats something we as a club have to work out ourselves.
I'm sure they will go back eventually if and when they can.

This retro round thing is something that involves the whole competition, and as you said before....what about Melb...Cowboys and warriors do?
Well....there aint much they can do but use their original strips too.....but we can either join in and be proud of our history and show everyone where weve come from.....or do nothing, not recognise the previous 190 years and just ignore it. Im proud of it....lets milk it.