Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Harold Matthews and SG Ball Discussion Thread

half_back

Confirmed that Tai Tuivasa is not even picked in Penrith 17 development squad!!!!!!!!!!!!must be crazy or just plain stupid.

Tai is picked in the 17s Development. He is picked in the back row.

Back Row
Aaron Taavale
Tai Tuivasa
Tony Palemia
Ben Swift
Pat Hollis
John Tusa
Peter Bent
Jason Antonelli
Steven Blackburn
Robert Bartle
Mathew Barwick

Front Row
Suniula Fatialota
David Vave
Jake Riggs
Jason Doran
Junior Missi
Chris Miller
Ki Williams
Wesley Taaga
Nathan Sturgess

Art Vandalay

Back Row
Aaron Taavale
Tai Tuivasa
Tony Palemia
Ben Swift
Pat Hollis
John Tusa
Peter Bent
Jason Antonelli
Steven Blackburn
Robert Bartle
Mathew Barwick

Front Row
Suniula Fatialota
David Vave
Jake Riggs
Jason Doran
Junior Missi
Chris Miller
Ki Williams
Wesley Taaga
Nathan Sturgess

ah thats interesting

did anyone from teair b make the team half back

as well as anymore news on sg ball

footyboy7

Back Row
Aaron Taavale
Tai Tuivasa
Tony Palemia
Ben Swift
Pat Hollis
John Tusa
Peter Bent
Jason Antonelli
Steven Blackburn
Robert Bartle
Mathew Barwick

Front Row
Suniula Fatialota
David Vave
Jake Riggs
Jason Doran
Junior Missi
Chris Miller
Ki Williams
Wesley Taaga
Nathan Sturgess

Do you have the full squad Half back?
If possible could you please post it.

footy1

In terms of SG Ball, I am expecting the team to make the top 4. They have great players in their side eg Tia Kilifi, Seijka, Price. I'd go with something like this:

1. Edan Price
2. John Faiumu
3. Jonathon Pepa
4. Tevita Feilokitau
5. Ryan Wilson
6. Sean Pickup
7. Harry Seijka (c)
8. Solo Alone
9. Blake South
10. Jonathon Taefu
11. Kyle Burkhardt
12. Vaipuna Tia Kilifi
13. Thomas Eisenhuth

14. Robbie Mate
15. Darcy Horgan
16. Corey Carl
17. Kaiser Matavao

A good forward pack with plenty of size. South is a smart player out of hooker and the halves pairing is probably the strength of the team. Pickup is a good signing and can play fullback and has played rep footy there. Darcy Horgan on the bench is a good player and will serve you guys well. Having Tia Kilifi on the edges in the main reason I want him in the second row. This allows Eisenhuth to slot in at lock and he would do a great job there. A bit of speed in the pack is not a bad thing and can very well help the pack out when the going gets tough by getting quick play-the-balls.

Thoughts?

stretcher

In terms of SG Ball, I am expecting the team to make the top 4. They have great players in their side eg Tia Kilifi, Seijka, Price. I'd go with something like this:

1. Edan Price
2. John Faiumu
3. Jonathon Pepa
4. Tevita Feilokitau
5. Ryan Wilson
6. Sean Pickup
7. Harry Seijka (c)
8. Solo Alone
9. Blake South
10. Jonathon Taefu
11. Kyle Burkhardt
12. Vaipuna Tia Kilifi
13. Thomas Eisenhuth

14. Robbie Mate
15. Darcy Horgan
16. Corey Carl
17. Kaiser Matavao

A good forward pack with plenty of size. South is a smart player out of hooker and the halves pairing is probably the strength of the team. Pickup is a good signing and can play fullback and has played rep footy there. Darcy Horgan on the bench is a good player and will serve you guys well. Having Tia Kilifi on the edges in the main reason I want him in the second row. This allows Eisenhuth to slot in at lock and he would do a great job there. A bit of speed in the pack is not a bad thing and can very well help the pack out when the going gets tough by getting quick play-the-balls.

Thoughts?
yeah pretty good side but penrith wont buy new players and not use them ie;regan verney from nz will have a bench spot and tevita is to small for centre will have sum big suckers running at him a wing spot would suit better as he has good speed then i would slot eisunhuth back in the centres and bring in sam hollis in the back row push kilifi back to lock and give him a roving role........

stretcher

yeah pretty good side but penrith wont buy new players and not use them ie;regan verney from nz will have a bench spot and tevita is to small for centre will have sum big suckers running at him a wing spot would suit better as he has good speed then i would slot eisunhuth back in the centres and bring in sam hollis in the back row push kilifi back to lock and give him a roving role........
also tyrone viga would give the side a bit of aggression and sting and by all reports faimu wont be playing ball and the way wilson is playing he willget a centre spot and pepa on a wing.

footyboy7

Just to confirm Edan Price knows he is on this website, but he has no clue why he is in the Penrith team.
Ie Edan Price = not Penrith.
But thats what i heard so who knows?

Im sorry but there is know way in the world that Jon Pepa will be wing. I dont care how good Wilso or Tony play. And Tevita Feiloakitau id say will be the other centre. I Like Eisunhuth at Lock to. VTK is good at second row and he needs to run not pass. He is better with the ball in his hand, not being a playmaker.

Siejka will definately be #7, so its pretty much a 3 way fight for #6? Pickup, Varney and Mate.
So if Edan isnt playing and John Faiumu isnt id have:
Mataia
Nanai
Pepa
Feiloakitau
Tony/Wilso/Jake Butler.F
Verney
Seijka
Alone
South
Viiga
Burkhardt
VTK
Eisunhuth

Pickup
Carl
Matavoa
Taefu
Horgan

:):)

footy1

Just to confirm Edan Price knows he is on this website, but he has no clue why he is in the Penrith team.

Im sorry but there is know way in the world that Jon Pepa will be wing. I dont care how good Wilso or Tony play. And Tevita Feiloakitau id say will be the other centre. I Like Eisunhuth at Lock to. VTK is good at second row and he needs to run not pass. He is better with the ball in his hand, not being a playmaker.

Siejka will definately be #7, so its pretty much a 3 way fight for #6? Pickup, Varney and Mate.
Mataia
Nanai
Pepa
Feiloakitau
Tony/Wilso/Jake Butler.F
Verney
Seijka
Alone
South
Viiga
Burkhardt
VTK
Eisunhuth

Pickup
Carl
Matavoa
Taefu
Horgan

Very similar to the team I would have, obviously with a few changes though. Eisenhuth at lock is a really appealing one as it gives the pack a bit of speed about it. Since Faiumu is not playing, I reckon there will be two options for fullback. One is Nicholas Mataia and the other is Sean Pickup. I was thinking Mataia would make a good 6, as he has a running game as well as being a ball-player.

ashton

Teen has NRL in sights
Thursday 3, Sep 2009

http://www.wintv.com.au/wide_bay/news/item/13621

A Hervey Bay teenager looks destined for a career in the NRL, after signing with New South Wales club Penrith.

Darcy Horgan will begin training with the Panthers at the end of this year, but first he's eyeing an under eighteens premiership with his beloved Seagulls.

Born in Rockhampton, Darcy Horgan moved to the Bay at the age of seven.

He's been here ever since, making a name for himself with the Seagulls.

Already he's played a number of senior games in the BRL, and has starred in the under eighteens.

Seagulls under eighteens coach Dwayne Broome said, “He's a leader, he leads by example and he goes hard you know and that's all I want him to do, just give the boys a bit more hope and lead by example, that's all I want him to do.”

A year twelve student at Xavier Catholic College, Darcy's now got a bright future ahead of him.

The seventeen year old's already had attention from the Brisbane Broncos, but now he's signed on for Penrith.

Darcy said, “Well I go up for pre-season, which will definitely be tough, and then I come back for two weeks for christmas and then I head back down to play S-U Ball for a year and then hopefully twenties for two years and then see from there.”

But this week, the youngsters attention is firmly fixed on winning the BRL under eighteens grand final.

Despite going winless until round thirteen, the Seagulls have stormed home to qualify for the decider.

And they're considered an outside chance to knock off Brothers to claim the Premiership.

Seagulls under eighteens manager James Ross said, “We always go up there confident, but they are the benchmark and hopefully we'll reach that this Sunday.”

The match is scheduled get underway from quarter to one at Salter Oval.
http://www.wintv.com.au/wide_bay/news/item/13621

stretcher

Mataia
Nanai
Pepa
Feiloakitau
Tony/Wilso/Jake Butler.F
Verney
Seijka
Alone
South
Viiga
Burkhardt
VTK
Eisunhuth

Pickup
Carl
Matavoa
Taefu
Horgan

well im sorry but by all reports the ball coaches like the way wilson outplayed pepa twice and butlerfleming ran rings around him as well and as i said they are looking for size in the backline thats why they signed pickup......

micro

development squad vs qld academy, watched both games, hell if some of those players are the best we have got we have a major problem in the age. There were players who just could not or would not tackle, in both games. It appeared Penrith split their teams into a and b. The qld academy won 50-8 in the main game. Tevita Vavae, aaron Tavalle, boltsie(after being knocked out) all played strong, but the rest looked completely outclassed and some looked overawed. what happened with hatrik, played 11mins as captain in the "B" team, scored two tries set up another, kicked like a demon, thay could not tackle him and gets hooked, is told to warm up with A team and gets 4mins before half time, sits on the bench rest of the game. What games are officials playing, i asked a penrith official after the game and he said they were told to drag him off because he was too good for the 1st game and if left out there would dominate too much and to use him in the second game???they did not, he got about 16 mins in two games, he played too well in his 1st 10mins. They missed Tai, johnny,stevie,jason,hetrik etc in the main game, penrith have a crisis of their own making in this age.

BOMAR

development squad vs qld academy, watched both games, hell if some of those players are the best we have got we have a major problem in the age. There were players who just could not or would not tackle, in both games. It appeared Penrith split their teams into a and b. The qld academy won 50-8 in the main game. Tevita Vavae, aaron Tavalle, boltsie(after being knocked out) all played strong, but the rest looked completely outclassed and some looked overawed. what happened with hatrik, played 11mins as captain in the "B" team, scored two tries set up another, kicked like a demon, thay could not tackle him and gets hooked, is told to warm up with A team and gets 4mins before half time, sits on the bench rest of the game. What games are officials playing, i asked a penrith official after the game and he said they were told to drag him off because he was too good for the 1st game and if left out there would dominate too much and to use him in the second game???they did not, he got about 16 mins in two games, he played too well in his 1st 10mins. They missed Tai, johnny,stevie,jason,hetrik etc in the main game, penrith have a crisis of their own making in this age.
This trial in previous years has been used to finalise the sqads. You will find the ones that didnt play are already in, and the ones that did play, it could be cause there still testing positions, and lastly their may have been a player just on the cusp that their giving a chance to show something. So i sugget the kid that came off was because he had done enough and they wanted to give someone else more game time.

footy1

QLD Academy? If this is the actual QLD Academy that I'm thinking of that gets coach by Wayne Bennett, it would have been expected that they gave your boys a hiding. This is some of the best talent coming through in QLD and a lot of them will go on to play NRL. Also remember the best players in this age group were not playing eg Regan, Santini, Wilson, Tuivasa.

ashton

Doms have final down pat

24 Sep 09 @ 06:00am

9d5d69566d3eb5c908e1eef1935a4b0c_resized.jpg

The victorious St Dom's team, flanked by coaches Mark Levy (left) and Barry Walsh.

IN what has been a mixed-up first-grade Metropolitan Catholic Schools rugby league competition at times, St Dominic’s College took out the top spot over Patrician Brothers Blacktown.
With tier A comprising only the three dominant schools - the other being St Gregory’s Campbelltown - players were often confused as to when, or if, games were scheduled, a St Dominic’s spokesman said.
“Along with the pressure of assessments, injuries, representative football and daily school requirements, players have endured a prolonged season, well into term three, to conclude their MCS competition,” he said.
St Dominic’s beat minor premiers Patrician Brothers Blacktown in the grand final.
“The college has been in first grade since 2000, when it moved from year 10 into year 12 for the first time,” the spokesman said.
“Since then, St Doms have participated in many first-grade grand finals, won and drawn second grade several times and won third grade, but this was the first time for first grade which was a tremendous achievement.”
The grand final was a quick, free-flowing game, with Pats scoring the opening try.
From there, the Doms players were able to build pressure and eventually put on points.
“The decision to simply go through their defence was well executed and more points followed with terrific runs from dummy half,” the spokesman said.
“The experienced players in support took advantage of the holes which appeared.
“Scoring again late in the first half, Doms went in at the break with a handy lead of 22-10.”
St Dominic’s scored early in the second half, before Pats scored several tries out wide.
Continuing to turn over possession, Doms allowed Pats to close the gap even more before scoring with six minutes to go.
Pats continued to attack and score late tries wide out but were unable to convert them.
St Dominic’s won 34-30.
http://penrith-press.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/doms-have-final-down-pat/

sweet-as

Doms have final down pat

24 Sep 09 @ 06:00am

9d5d69566d3eb5c908e1eef1935a4b0c_resized.jpg

The victorious St Dom's team, flanked by coaches Mark Levy (left) and Barry Walsh.

IN what has been a mixed-up first-grade Metropolitan Catholic Schools rugby league competition at times, St Dominic’s College took out the top spot over Patrician Brothers Blacktown.
With tier A comprising only the three dominant schools - the other being St Gregory’s Campbelltown - players were often confused as to when, or if, games were scheduled, a St Dominic’s spokesman said.
“Along with the pressure of assessments, injuries, representative football and daily school requirements, players have endured a prolonged season, well into term three, to conclude their MCS competition,” he said.
St Dominic’s beat minor premiers Patrician Brothers Blacktown in the grand final.
“The college has been in first grade since 2000, when it moved from year 10 into year 12 for the first time,” the spokesman said.
“Since then, St Doms have participated in many first-grade grand finals, won and drawn second grade several times and won third grade, but this was the first time for first grade which was a tremendous achievement.”
The grand final was a quick, free-flowing game, with Pats scoring the opening try.
From there, the Doms players were able to build pressure and eventually put on points.
“The decision to simply go through their defence was well executed and more points followed with terrific runs from dummy half,” the spokesman said.
“The experienced players in support took advantage of the holes which appeared.
“Scoring again late in the first half, Doms went in at the break with a handy lead of 22-10.”
St Dominic’s scored early in the second half, before Pats scored several tries out wide.
Continuing to turn over possession, Doms allowed Pats to close the gap even more before scoring with six minutes to go.
Pats continued to attack and score late tries wide out but were unable to convert them.
St Dominic’s won 34-30.
http://penrith-press.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/doms-have-final-down-pat/

I was at this game Blake Austin was unbelievable scoring a hatrick.

marlow

are any of these kids of caucasian background
a 50/50 of salt and pepper would be good
u need half and half to be sucessful

stretcher

are any of these kids of caucasian background
a 50/50 of salt and pepper would be good
u need half and half to be sucessful
the very unsuccessful sgball team of the year just passed had 13 polynesians and 13 caucasian so the bottom line is you dont need the perfect balance of players you need good players and coaching staff i believe the ball had a good side but they hated the coach and its evident how well those players perfomed under a better coach when they went up and played 20s......

Art Vandalay

the very unsuccessful sgball team of the year just passed had 13 polynesians and 13 caucasian so the bottom line is you dont need the perfect balance of players you need good players and coaching staff i believe the ball had a good side but they hated the coach and its evident how well those players perfomed under a better coach when they went up and played 20s......

mm yer i believe that is true

bob would be feeling it now after that terrible season

would anyone happen to no the under 20s squad for 2010