Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

harry is back with the tigers

tigger

No acquisations of me being a bandwagoner.... they could win the premiership 10 years in a row and i would give a toss.

The only way i would support them is if they embraced their Balmain roots as well as their Western Suburbs roots. Had effective professional management team that ran the football club as a business not a charity (something Balmain need to do aswell), did not do stupid things like not accepting Blocker's offer to help them, got the magpie off their sleeves or at least one of them and replaced it with a Balmain Tiger, played at least 50% of their games a Leichhardt, Got rid of Skando and about 50 other things that i cannot be bothered typing..... in other words, i will continue to not support them for the rest of my life.

I think the bandwagoners were legitimate Balmain fans that walked away when they realised that their former club had nothing to do with the new entity and Western Suburbs fan that could not afford a ticket to the game, but now under the new tax rules they can afford to as long as they take packed sandwiches and some cordial :D

magpiemax

Your right Tugger! no one can ever accuse you of being a bandwagoner,maybe a bland wanker but not a bandwagoner! Now with all due respect to blocker as he has been a great player.Do you honestly think that Blockers defensive coaching ability would be of any value judging by how well Manly are defending at present.
And im not having a go at blocker,as I think Tommy Raudonikis is pretty f*cked as well when it comes to coaching. :clap:

tracietiga

Harry's return. Does it suprise me? Not at all. Everyone loves a winner, and the professional approach and outlook the Joint-Venture club now has is one of the reasons why he has returned. The club was in shambles after Season 2000, when management blew the $8 million dollar funding.

I've noticed that people have said they could sympathise and understand why Harry withdrew his sponsorship and "support" for Wests Tigers after the events of the 2001 season. Well i'm sorry, but i can't. Loyal supporters stuck solid when the club was on its knee's. Why couldn't he do the same? I don't care if it was from a business perspective or not, what he did was a cop out as far as i'm concerned.

One of your best Gobbs .
Its like a marriage , in sickness and in health .
And gee we have been on deaths bed , but did we jump ship .

magpiemax

tracietiga said:
Harry's return. Does it suprise me? Not at all. Everyone loves a winner, and the professional approach and outlook the Joint-Venture club now has is one of the reasons why he has returned. The club was in shambles after Season 2000, when management blew the $8 million dollar funding.

I've noticed that people have said they could sympathise and understand why Harry withdrew his sponsorship and "support" for Wests Tigers after the events of the 2001 season. Well i'm sorry, but i can't. Loyal supporters stuck solid when the club was on its knee's. Why couldn't he do the same? I don't care if it was from a business perspective or not, what he did was a cop out as far as i'm concerned.

One of your best Gobbs .
Well as you can see by the first post I put up on page 1 of this thread,I think most people know how I feel about Harry!

tigger

tracietiga said:

One of your best Gobbs .

It is fairly simple can you not understand the difference between a fans decision and a business decision?

You also aren't pumping in more money than most people earn in a few years into an investment that had a very negative return.

Hopefully this clears up your crazy view.

simon says

I know what Harry can do for us.Build us a couple of heritage style stands after the knock down the two at the Mary St end.Id like to see a couple like they have at NSO.....thatd look bootiful and keep the flavour of Leichhardt alive.

Nice....... ;-)

tigger

If they are the same quality as their apartment buildings, Leichhardt Oval would be better off with the old ones :lol: :lol: I can just see a public liability claim from the whole stand collapsing due to it being bound together with glue and paddlepop sticks!

magpiemax

tigger said:
tracietiga said:

One of your best Gobbs .

It is fairly simple can you not understand the difference between a fans decision and a business decision?

You also aren't pumping in more money than most people earn in a few years into an investment that had a very negative return.

Hopefully this clears up your crazy view.
Tugger, I cant believe that you are posting some things lately that actually have some form of credibility and make sense.Is this really you posting??? Or some family member with a dictionary???? :lol:

yappy

I'm sure Harry would love to redevelop Leichhardt Oval.

Pity there wouldn't be room enough to play handball let alone a game of footy between the shiny new blocks of Meritonia.

Jeffles

tigger said:
If they are the same quality as their apartment buildings, Leichhardt Oval would be better off with the old ones :lol: :lol: I can just see a public liability claim from the whole stand collapsing due to it being bound together with glue and paddlepop sticks!

From what I've heard you're not wrong. And I know people that have built and sold for Meriton.

Anyway, this is a cash injection and it is good news. It should be treated that way.

magpiemax

yappy said:
I'm sure Harry would love to redevelop Leichhardt Oval.

Pity there wouldn't be room enough to play handball let alone a game of footy between the shiny new blocks of Meritonia.
O.K So it's not Tim this week, but Harry instead hey Yap! ;-)

yappy

:lol: :lol: :lol:

It's always Tim mate, but with three wins under his belt and some of the more blatant errors corrected he can have some respite.

Harry does nothing without considering if the profit is not only there but big enough to bother with. He is out to make money, not friends. He is also extremely good at this. I make no particular judgement on this. You certainly know what you're getting with the man. What you most certainly aren't getting is a proven history of philanthorpy.

If he has anything to do with the Tigers (or anything else for that matter) it's because he sees a benefit to his business. It's why he dumped you like a hot spud in 01. I'd be surprised if he wasn't after more than just a little bit of publicity now. He might have a soft spot for the Tigers, but it's a small and not very soft spot, and it most definitely doesn't have a say if it contradicts the large hard nosed businessman spot.

magpiemax

So let me put it this way! Let's say for example you are an architect and you had a respectable business.
Would you still want your Co. name emblazed over a jersey that has seen the likes of Field,Hoppa and McGuinness(sorry Gobsie).
If anything I initially posted that Im not exactly wild about Harry.Because I claimed he is a Bandwagoner.But you have got to be honest with yourself.
Now you say that Harry only considers profit,meaning he is selfish!
Well I hope his selfishness rubs off on me.What do you expect he is a business man.

yappy

Read it again chief, I'm not bagging the man. He is what he is. I'm just pointing out to any dreamers out there who think Harry is going to be some sort of sugar daddy that is going to fund the Tigers up the yinyang out of the goodness of his pure little heart that they are kidding. He won't spend a cent of his dough on Leichhardt Oval unless he's going to get back two on the sale of units in return.

When I'm an architect with a reputable business and my company name is emblazoned all over the front of the Maggies jersey it will stay there even if tools like Hoppa and Field and Kevvy disgrace it. But that's only because I wouldn't be doing it for anything like the same reasons as Harry. That though goes an awful long way to explaining why I'll never be a Billionaire. I don't lose any sleep over it, and neither does Harry I would assume so it's all good.

simon says

A bloke wants to give us money,has a record of giving thousands to the players when they go well,will give us publicity,all of it good,and people want to shoot holes in it.

Bloody hysterical :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Personally,I couldnt give a hoot if Bealzebub himself appeared and offered us some loot.If the bloke wants to get on the Tigers Bus thats heading for glory,and wants to part with his hard earned I couldnt give a fig what he has/will do.Who are we to start judging?????

Thank you Harry,please enjoy the ride.....and build us a new stadia or two......PS...I couldnt think of a better way for Mr Meriton to get some good exposure than to build us some new stands.If they looked great they could call them the Junior/Meriton stands for all I care.

Cheers.