Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Heighington

Magpies Forever

Good on him- dont blame him one bit as there was little to no chance of his cracking into the SOO / ARL ranks despite his best efforts. What may concern WT though is he may have to go to ESL to press his claims. I'd suspect he has a release clause in existing contract.

I don't think he would have to play ESL.

case in point being Gareth Widdop this year.

macnaz

I love Heighno but i still think its a piss weak way to gain an international jersey. Is he really gunna stand there listening to god save the queen and feel like a loyal pom and not an aussie ? The loop hole should be shut IMO.

Magpies Forever

I love Heighno but i still think its a piss weak way to gain an international jersey. Is he really gunna stand there listening to god save the queen and feel like a loyal pom and not an aussie ? The loop hole should be shut IMO.

No doubt, but he is 28 yrs old, he does not have too much time left to fiddle about here waitng for an Aussie call up. Back row is a hotly contested area with plenty of choice- the same for England. MU- thats why I suggested he may go to England to play under the noses of the English selectors.

Benji Magic

Your 100% right. It is absolutly piss weak and makes a joke out of international footy.

Also a poor effort by the poms if they pick him.

Surely there are dozens of pasty skinned little twats called Liam who grew up in grubby northern industrial towns who are more deserving. i.e true poms

macnaz

Imagine if A tigers player was on the verge of Australian selection and some pomy from Cornwell UK that no one here had heard of had family living at Bondi got picked ahead of him, we would be pissed of just like they will in England if a native born and breed englishman loses his life long dream of representing his country. Its not right! We hear on these forums about ppl playing another code and calling that disloyal yet they can condone someone playing for another COUNTRY .

simmo1

I don't know how someone could play for a country that isn't there own. Surely it just wouldn't feel right...

N.C.

Get over it, ladies. It's just a game of football... Good on him if he can get a run in an international tournament.

macnaz

Get over it, ladies. It's just a game of football... Good on him if he can get a run in an international tournament.

Well whats the f**king point of tests, state of origin, city country ? Just play for your favourite colour then now shall they. Its only a game ! Maybe names starting with "J" verse names starting" H" and you can live anywhere then,,, hmmm maybe players might try play under their nick name to get a gig...
Anyway if it wasnt a tiger player ppl here would have a differant outlok on it i bet.

I agree, if he can get a run for another country according to the International rules, then it's only going to strengthen international league which is only going to be a good thing for the game everywhere.

macnaz

I agree, if he can get a run for another country according to the International rules, then it's only going to strengthen international league which is only going to be a good thing for the game everywhere.

How is it ? Maybe it starts with Heighno and they lose and what next maybe throw in all the retired NRL has beens playing English Super League guys and bingo! They are competetive, hardly a TEST between to countries, thats what it is A TEST, you are either good enough or u aint.

macnaz

Each to their own i suppose, but to me the greatest inspiration to beat the best is to be the best, not try and win with loop holes. Anyway i dont even think Chris will have a crack at trying to play for them, and if he did i dont think they will take up the offer for reasons i have given.... BUT if he does play i hope he plays friggin awesome to at least show the ppl here he was worthy of being picked to play for US in rep footy.

N.C.

Well whats the f**king point of tests, state of origin, city country ? Just play for your favourite colour then now shall they. Its only a game ! Maybe names starting with "J" verse names starting" H" and you can live anywhere then,,, hmmm maybe players might try play under their nick name to get a gig...
Anyway if it wasnt a tiger player ppl here would have a differant outlok on it i bet.

You been living under a rock, mate?

Club football is all about "franchises". State of Origin is about "the brand".

International rugby league operates in a competitive marketplace - it's more about how you run your business than where you were born.

Do you reckon the coach should also be picked from the local pedigree, or do you think Bennett sold out when he helped the Kiwis to their world cup victory? How do you think he sees it?

You're right though - it's not just a game of football. It's a living. The more you play, the more money you'll have in the bank.

westie

I'm still struggling with this. He can't make the NSW pack... so he wants to play for the English pack... which dominates the Aussie pack with monotonous regularity.