Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Here's an idea...

Its all good having passion but witt has no talent, not for half back anyway. Its just not in his game u can see it.

Jake the snake said:
Its all good having passion but witt has no talent, not for half back anyway. Its just not in his game u can see it.

And your credentials for spotting talent are?

COACH STERLING

There is a catch 22 situation with the club at the moment. Brian Smith knows he will most likely move on after 2006, and realisticly, Witt & T.Smith are not the key ingredients for premiership success in the short term, as they are still developing as Halfbacks, which is why I fear that brian smith might offload them in order to acquire someone more estabalished in a last ditch effort to gain respectibility with his coaching performances.

I honestly don't think smith is thinking any further than 2006, which is scary cause he might sacrifice 2 potentially great halves in order to try and win a premiership before he goes. Picture this scenario, Witt & T.Smith leave, Orford signs and gets injured or somehow goes quiet, as many previos signings have done in the past, and parra end up having the same sort of season as 2003 - 2004.

I know blood will be spilt if we let these 2 young stars slip! I hope Parra donot release Witt and T.Smith for the sake of gambling on one season for the coach's glory, Lets ensure we have a decent halves combo for not only one season but the next decade.

I've watched League for a long time and have watched Witt go around and at halfback the best he will be is like Lincoln withers good indefence but crap in attack.

Tim Smith on the other hand has got what it takes in oragnisational play etc, he may not be ready yet but he is future rep for sure.

Colonel

Jake the snake said:
Colonel

I wasn't having a go at you. I just asked basically to see what you are basing your facts on.

I base mine on -

8 - 9 years of playing plus 5 years of working in Administration and coaching.

My Level 2 Coaching Certificate

PARRA_FAN said:
Instead of signing all these high profiled players with big money, why dont we keep our players we've got and develop some of the youngsters coming through. Is that so hard to do?

Why are we going after Orford, when we've got Smith and Witt?

What Parramatta needs are good centres, and a couple of good props/second rowers, and then improve on the ones we've got.

For once, why cant this happen at Parramatta?

whos saying its not happening? dont forget that we can sign the high profile players and have them in our top 25 under the cap, and we can still keep many of the junior players.

so there is nothing wrong with paying the big money for these stars. as its already been mentioned imagine orford helping out Witt, Smith and Green, it will help there game immensely.

someone mentioned that it must of hurt for witt not to have the no.7 on his back at the start of the season. if his form is down (which it is/was) then he should not be guaranteed a starting position in FG. we all assumed that because witt was signed for 4 years that we were building the team around him. that may not have been the case.

Freak

You don't sign anyone for 4 years unless you are totally confident that they are capable of playing first grade. We may not build our team around him but I dare say at the time when we signed him that was the case!!!

Witt and Smith already have an exellent tutor at Parramatta - Jason Taylor....he might not be playing, but he's not far out of footy and he was probably a smarter player than Orford ever was/is/will be.

Having said that, I am not opposed to Orford coming to Parra, as long as it doesn't cost us a future star.

But at the end of the day, there's only so much tutoring that can be done - the person being tutored has to have the ability to put it all together.

Colonel

No worries mate.

I just hope we dont make mistakes like how we have in the past in regards to Juniors (TIM SMITH)

Strider thats spot on mate, I think your comments reflect what everyone here wants. Feleti Mateo signing is excellent, I just want To see TimS miths name as well. Tim and Feleti are good mates and have an excellent combo on the field.

Also, there is only so much Parra can do to keep Tim Smith - if he wants to do a Jamie and play only where Crusher Cleal is then there is no stopping him. :?

Parraren

Just out of interest, those of you that know alot about Tim Smith, any idea why he didn't make the young NSW Origin side this year? I believe Mateo & Ben Smith made the side but Tim didn't. Is there a better number 7 running around in Premier League?

The Engineers Room

Tim Smith is good but the way you all talk about him you'd think he was the messiah.

Still has a long apprenticeship ahead of the kid.

Parraren said:
Just out of interest, those of you that know alot about Tim Smith, any idea why he didn't make the young NSW Origin side this year? I believe Mateo & Ben Smith made the side but Tim didn't. Is there a better number 7 running around in Premier League?

The young Canberra fella who made the side - Todd Carney - has had some pretty big wraps.

COACH STERLING said:
I honestly don't think smith is thinking any further than 2006, which is scary cause he might sacrifice 2 potentially great halves in order to try and win a premiership before he goes. Picture this scenario, Witt & T.Smith leave, Orford signs and gets injured or somehow goes quiet, as many previos signings have done in the past, and parra end up having the same sort of season as 2003 - 2004.

I don't think that's the case. Chances are if Parramatta start performing again then Smith will be offered a new contract for 2007. Smith needs to do something to turn our fortunes around and please us fans, and to win himself a new contract if he wishes.