Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

HM / SG Ball Players to watch

IcemanCleary

Arama looks very good at that age. Hes very hard to handle and he has a little ball playing in him. Fitzgerald the centre in matts looks very good as well as does the fullback Viga. Not been able to watch Xuerub yet as he hasnt played much.

Birve looks like the best player in the SG ball comp at the moment. He has had winning plays the last two times out. Brown the prop in SG ball looks good, I also like Leo Latu, hes a big backrower but he moves like an outside back.
I'd say we need to lock birve up. He's from PNG and I'd say chammas and the chiefs are going to come knocking

Kilkenny

Arama looks very good at that age. Hes very hard to handle and he has a little ball playing in him. Fitzgerald the centre in matts looks very good as well as does the fullback Viga. Not been able to watch Xuerub yet as he hasnt played much.

Birve looks like the best player in the SG ball comp at the moment. He has had winning plays the last two times out. Brown the prop in SG ball looks good, I also like Leo Latu, hes a big backrower but he moves like an outside back.
Xuereb has sustained head knocks in both outings early on and appeared to have failed his HIA. He is not a big body. Not sure what to make of him given his head injury issues.

BxTom

Pronunciation rhymes with "teeth" to be clear.
I know a few death families and many of the spellings come from the french "de'ath" pronunciation. Many of the fanmilies choose the 'deeth' style more as a preference. I know that some families just use the normal Death pronunciation. Not quite bucket/bouquet style, more avoidance with the connotations of Death.

Pomoz

I know a few death families and many of the spellings come from the french "de'ath" pronunciation. Many of the fanmilies choose the 'deeth' style more as a preference. I know that some families just use the normal Death pronunciation. Not quite bucket/bouquet style, more avoidance with the connotations of Death.
Just stop with these etymological discussions. You must have forgot Penrith fans are bogan, fibro dwelling thickies from the ghettos of western Sydney. Gotta go, my Ute needs servicing.

BxTom

Just stop with these etymological discussions. You must have forgot Penrith fans are bogan, fibro dwelling thickies from the ghettos of western Sydney. Gotta go, my Ute needs servicing.
Eye is sorry to all my felllow westies, bogans crims and hoons that make 'riff such a colourful place. Eye am not gunna talk abuff my paye scail again :)

Kilkenny

With only two rounds remaining both ball and Matt’s are well placed to make the top five in both. Both remaining games are tough against the Eels and dragons. At least one win from there remaining games should see the finish in the playoffs, hopefully.

SamuelHenshaw

Top 25 HM & SG Ball players this year, 1st 2 are HM, Last one is SGB

2. CORDELL ARAMA

Rank change: ↑1

Club: Panthers

Position: Prop

School: Patrician Brothers Blacktown

Skills: Tackle Buster | Power | Offload

The barnstorming prop has been near unstoppable for defences since the first round.

Often dragging in four or five opponents, he blends power with late footwork, twists and turns all in the name of finding the tryline, which he has four times already.

Don’t underestimate his ball-playing capabilities also.

The cheeky prop can manage a pass out the back or even cross field kick if it really comes down to it, like he did in Round 3 against Canberra.

He’s also the man you want to get you out of your own half and up the pitch.

Cordell Arama. Picture: Greg Collis/CBR Sports Photography.

5. JAYLIN MORAN

Rank change: NEW

Club: Panthers

Position: Five-Eighth / Halfback

School: St Dominic’s College

Skills: Speed | Step / Footwork | Passing | Running game | Vision

Last year’s under-16s City rep burst onto the scene in a big way this year at just 16 years of age.

The young half, son of former Eels player Dennis Moran, has been the conductor to Penrith’s orchestra thus far with his ability to dictate play set by set and control the tempo of matches.

Between 40/20s, intercepts and short ball prowess, Moran has the highlight reel, but it’s the little moments that reveal how advanced his footy IQ already is at such a young age.

An undefeated Penrith so far could go all the way this year with him in charge of the side.

Jaylin Moran. Picture: Warren Gannon.

4. Ellyjah Birve

Rising rugby league talent Ellyjah Birve.

Rising rugby odds league talent Ellyjah Birve.
Rank change: NEW

Club: Penrith Panthers

Position: Halfback

School: Caloundra State High School (previous)

Skills: Running game | Tackle buster | Leadership | Power | Passing | Vision

Picture it.

The scores are locked up, it’s the final play of the game and you’re right in front of the sticks. It’s a no-brainer–field goal attempt.

Not in Ellyjah Birve’s eyes. Such is the electrifying ability of the youngster, he instead chooses to feign a shot on goal sending two defenders whizzing past, then grubbers through to himself to score under the sticks.

It’s not been the only moment of magic from the youngster who’s come down from the Sunshine Coast this off-season to join Penrith’s illustrious nursery.

Between that and all the other tricks up his sleeve, Birve has burst onto the scene in a big way and is as natural and raw a talent as they come.

Oh, and did we already mention he’s of PNG descent?

Hey Chiefs, take a look here.
Good to see a few Panthers boys in there. Arama’s been getting a lot of wraps and Moran sounds like a serious talent for his age.