Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Honestly, are we up to beating the Drags this weekend?

Aries

Anyone that saw the game against the Chooks today would have to be worried about our chances of beating the Drags.

I know I am worried!! They have great defence, a low mistake rate and seem on a mission this year. Their players are also answering the challenges thrown at them.

The game against the Chooks was one of the best I've seen all year, even with Goose Gould's idiotic one-sided comments, and they seem to be a level above us atm. I just hope the guys can step up to their level next weekend. I'm confident that we can, but have trepitation about the end result also. The Sharkies need to go to the next level and put a GREAT game together. Thank god it's at Shark Park though!! :D

b_shark

Stuart Raper seemed to think some of the passion was back in the team. I think the game against the Dragqueens will show us if the passion is really back. I think the fact that we managed to hang in for the win on the weekend without panicking and doing anything stupid is a good sign. Also - home ground advantage should help if we get vocal - over the last 12 months Shark Park sometimes feels like a church service - far too quiet.

Genius Freak

Dragons were good in defence today, but they blew so many chances to win it in attack. Basically if we play like we can, attack like the Canberra game and defence like the Canterbury game, we're right up there. Anything's possible.

wittyfan

Dragons might have a let down after today's tough game and could lack intensity this week. I'm very confident we can knock them over. :)

Aries

sullyfan said:
Dragons might have a let down after today's tough game and could lack intensity this week. I'm very confident we can knock them over. :)

Good point sullyfan. I didn't think of that... they may very well be a bit flat next week. That effort must have taken something out of them, and to lose would realy hurt!!

Special K

I have no doubts they can knock them over. It all depends on what Peachey shows up I guess.

They are such a better side the sharks at home though. Big crowd, Raper getting stuck into them... Anything can happen

Jimbo

Don't you mean the effort of the last four weeks? The games against Newcastle, the Tigers and Penrith would have taken a lot out of them as well. And if they underestimate us as much as their fans do, they'll be vulnerable.

Us by 14

We have an extra 2 days recovery.
I'm not too concerned about the Dragons as we should account for them easy enough.
The Roosters will be tough after , Dragons then melbourne.
But the big danger will be staying up for Manly @ brookie.

eelsta

Aries said:
Anyone that saw the game against the Chooks today would have to be worried about our chances of beating the Drags.

I know I am worried!! They have great defence, a low mistake rate and seem on a mission this year. Their players are also answering the challenges thrown at them.

The game against the Chooks was one of the best I've seen all year, even with Goose Gould's idiotic one-sided comments, and they seem to be a level above us atm. I just hope the guys can step up to their level next weekend. I'm confident that we can, but have trepitation about the end result also. The Sharkies need to go to the next level and put a GREAT game together. Thank god it's at Shark Park though!! :D
DONT BOTHER TO TURN UP CAUSE THE MIGHTY DRAGONS WILL KILL U

RockyShark

Honestly eelsta - what the hell are you doing here? You guys lost on Saturday - build a bridge and get over it! :roll:

ali

As this is an honesty thread, i'll come out and say I am more than a little concerned. Even though we won last night, you could probably say Parra were the better team. Saints have put a couple of performances together that have been far better than anything we've shown this year. However we've been knocked around by injuries up until last round. So assuming we name the same 17 this week, you'd expect the likes of Lomu and Vagana will improve and be more used to playing with their new teammates.

Hopefully Saints will have a slight let down after playing the 2 grand finalists in consecutive weeks. But if they play as they did today or last week, then we are going to have to improve a fair bit to beat them.

ps, I still hate em, I just think they are playing well. 8)

What I'm liking about our chances over the next few weeks is the commitment to improving.
Publicy stated goals & goals acheived.

1. Develop combinations. Through all the knee jerk reactions Raper stood firm & kept the majority of the squad together. Nearly all changes have been forced. :clap:
2. Discipline. Public admission & massive turn around. However I do think most public statements were directed at refs committee. The improvement in technique was the critical issue & we sacrificed a game to help change perception. :clap:
3. Penetration. A lack of penetration was quickly acknowledged with a couple of key changes made. :clap:
4. Enthusiasm. Apparently lacking at training & according to Noddy a massive turn around. :clap:

If we keep on that path we're going to go sweet! ;-)

I think the Dragons will fall apart
They always have a good team but they are a rabble of a club
It's too early in the week to give my official tip but I'd say we should target their halfback and Gasnier in attack...they're rubbish.

Aries

blacktip-reefy said:
ooohhh leading with the chin there SS
I thought Head was very good today.
Mathew, St Georges No7 played footy well too.

I agree about their half reefy... "Firman who?" is what they'd be saying... and he can kick goals too!! I thought he went well and BK will have to watch him like a hawk this weekend!

No doubt this weeks game will be hard. It could go either way

There is the possibility the Dragons will be down having played the grand finalists the previous two weeks. They have been pretty impressive though and have turned up every game this year so we will have to do the same.

For us our confidence surely has to have risen as a result of the Parra win. This combined with the combinations starting to gel even more should hopefully get us to the level at which the Dragons are playing at the moment.

The key for us IMO will be our defence out wide. Both wingers have been critised and their weaknesses are there for all to see. Cooper, Gasiner, Blacklock and Co could run riot if given the opportunity.

Aries

Well, I must admit, the guys have worked themselves into a position where I think we are evens or odds on to beat the Drags...

3 weeks ago, I would have said we were 20-1 to beat the Drags, the way they had played...

No doubt the TAB will have us at a 4.5 points start or worse, and deservedly so... My tip, take what start they give you and slap a "Lobster" or "Pineapple" on the Sharkies!! 8)

gunnamatta bay

I thought the Sharks were generally ordinary on Saturday night and I am still shaking my head that they won. Brett Kimmorleys kicking game seems too predictable.

shadowboxer

Like the bulldogs - they won a game they should have lost, but to think the dragons wont be fired up for us and a bit flat. Please......it is the local derby, we humiliated them last year and it will be a big crowd. I reckon we could do it - its at home and both teams are on a high. Should be tops