Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hookey gives the game away

By Brad Walter
December 8, 2004

South Sydney centre Lee Hookey stunned his teammates yesterday by announcing he was quitting at the age of 25 to spend more time with his family.

Hookey, who has two young children, said he did not enjoy the week-to-week rigours of the NRL and was retiring from the game just a month after the resumption of pre-season training.

The Rabbitohs granted him a release from his one-year contract, signed in September, and are looking for a replacement.

"I've enjoyed my time playing football but I just don't have the desire to train and play on," he said. "I've been playing rugby league at the top level for seven years and it's just wearing me down. I want to be there for my kids and spend time with them."

Rabbitohs international Adam MacDougall said there had been talk at training that Hookey might be taking some time off but he was shocked to learn he was giving the game away.

"Lee was a really good fella and a good footballer, too, so it's going to be a big blow for the club," MacDougall said.

"Besides myself and Shannon Hegarty, he was really the only other experienced back we had, but if that's what he wants to do, I don't think you can hold it against him. It's a brave decision and I just hope it's not something he comes to regret later on."

Souths football manager Tony Henderson said he was also surprised by Hookey's sudden departure. "We tried to tell him that it wasn't a decision he should rush into but he said he had made up his mind," Henderson said.
http://www.smh.com.au/news/League/Hookey-gives-the-game-away/2004/12/07/1102182292004.html

God-King Dean

You can almost be certain that if Hookey stayed/went to another club he would still be playing next year

I think he should go to Union, you know he would kill it there, I don't see how any player going from League to Union would have there confidence shot

MattJ

melon.... said:
Another player's will smashed...simply by being a part of a club with a spoon culture.

All you ever do melon is bag souths and im sick of it, heres a newsflash, everyone knows souths are struggling, as souths fans we openly admit it, we dont need pretentious dickheads like you pointing it out on here every chance you get, so unless you have something constructive to say, try shutting your ignorant mouth you pesemistic wanker.

Maybe it is time for the Rugby League to have a look at the programs the AFL have put in place to help there Koori footballers as over thelast few years the NRL seem to have had a few of there koori players having a few personal issues.

Andrew Walker
Justin Hodges
Nathan Blacklock
Lee Hookey

Southern Rooster said:
Maybe it is time for the Rugby League to have a look at the programs the AFL have put in place to help there Koori footballers as over thelast few years the NRL seem to have had a few of there koori players having a few personal issues.

Andrew Walker
Justin Hodges
Nathan Blacklock
Lee Hookey

Jamie Lyon
Chris Walker
Lance Thompson

Oh wait, they're not Kooris. Maybe whitefellas get personal problems too?

Southern Rooster said:

Andrew Walker
Justin Hodges
Nathan Blacklock
Lee Hookey

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,11339480%5E19742,00.html

AFL has its own problems regarding Aboriginal players. Whether their programs work or not is debatable, but a lot of what they do seems to be pandering as against actually helping.

I don't see it as a huge issue. The demands are huge on FG players these days and seeing the odd player walk away from it isn't something I'd call unusual.

If you can't stand the heat.....

Possibly, just possibly....he realises hes reached as far as he will in footy, hes happy with that and wants something a bit easier.

Best of luck Lee Hookey!

innsaneink said:
Possibly, just possibly....he realises hes reached as far as he will in footy, hes happy with that and wants something a bit easier.

Best of luck Lee Hookey!

I agree!

he obviously believes that spending more time with his family is more important and who could argue with him?

Paul Hewson

melon.... said:
Another player's will smashed...simply by being a part of a club with a spoon culture.

And that is why he re-signed with the club for alot less in September. :roll:

Dean Moriarty said:
Southern Rooster said:

Andrew Walker
Justin Hodges
Nathan Blacklock
Lee Hookey

Jamie Lyon
Chris Walker
Lance Thompson

Oh wait, they're not Kooris. Maybe whitefellas get personal problems too?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
good call.
as homer says - "its funny cause its true"

aids

he was a good player too.

a lot of retired players get itchy feet come march anyway, and he is still young so see what happens.

best of luck though

Big Bunny

I don't think that a lot of people understand just how tight family bonds are in aboriginal society. In the majority of cases the extended family is as important to how an immediate family functions as any other factor. It has it's positives, with support being there in an abundance when a family member needs it, but when that system fails it also brings negatives, especially when one person or more are a drain on physical and psychological resources as was the case with Andrew Walker.

At the end of the day you have to remember that rugby league as fantastic as it is, is just a job and a fantastic game to both watch and play. That players put clubs first, missing the births of their children, or they miss major points in their childs development or family life is something that many Koori's and probably a fair few Anglo people with strong family ties can't or don't want to relate to. Because let's face it, regardless of staying on or quitting now, his future is still depends on what decisions he makes after his playing days

The Whippet

I've heard that he quit because he was finding the training under new coach, Shaun McRae too hard and couldn't cope.

Also now the Rabbitohs are confident of signing Brian Carney with the bit of money freed up from the retirement of Lee Hookey.

Kris_man

Lee Hookey's a gun, i reckon the Raiders should make a move for him, at least on a one year contract, seeing as though we have all this money freed up after McLinden left. if not, see you at Waterloo Oval in '05, Lee ;-)