Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How Channel Nine should work Sunday.

sunny

that was a joke that, sunday football was from 6:30-7:30 and ya didn't even get to see the full game

Darth Bobo

I Bleed Green said:
YES!!

Me too. I hated it. Took the excitement right out of it for me.

Check my previous post mate, they have the extra time/golden point situation sorted.

Just think, if they had done anything out of the ordinary or you looked at the clock and saw only 2 mins of game time left but 15 mins for coverage time left you would know it was going to golden point and it would have been ruined for you that way.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

colonel_123 said:
I like that the current format allows you to watch the morning league shows then have time to get to your teams game in the afternoon.

Exactly. I think there still needs to be a focus on getting people to grounds.

Tidus_Raider

coolumsharkie said:
I hate the delayed telecast for this reason..

Yesterday I knew Sharks had won with five minutes to go..becuase it was 5 mins to six.. they don't delay the news for extra time..

Exactly how I knew too mate.

In a perfect world there would be no AFL but you take the good with the bad.

imasharkie

I still don't understand why Queensland doesn't get the friday or sunday games live if the game is played in another state. Theres no way I would jump on a plane and fly to sydney to watch Easts play Manly.

gottabegood

Agent Mulder said:
Channel 9's so called coverage of League is a deadset disgrace, NO League at all on Saturday, You even have the Club Rugby live at 3pm on the ABC, Two AFL Games, NO LEAGUE, I can't afford Foxtel, So how is about a game on at 7:30pm? is it so hard?

I really hope the rights go to Channel Seven, I know Bruce Mac would do a good job over there.

Matey,

Bruce Mac hates league, and put crap on the game whenever he could on sportsworld. If you love league then you should dislike this little man.

Phil

griff

Having AFL on leading in to the Sunday night news would be a ratings disaster. That's why they have the NRL on at this time. They get a good lead in, viewers stick around for the news, then stick around for Backyard Blitz or whatever they have on after the news these days.

The whole thing about Live TV coverage reducing crowds is a myth. In fact in the new Cricket broadcast deal games will now be on live against the gate. It won't make any significant difference to crowds, and will make a big difference to increased TV ratings.

We do need a Sat arvo game, mainly because AFL gets a free hit at that time. Sat night news and Sports Tonight gives much more time to AFL because they have a game to report on. But without a game having been played, NRL misses out.

iggy plop

Prince Charles said:
I say forget AFL and shove it on at midnight.

Here is my suggestion.....

1.00 - Boots 'n' All
1.30 - The Sunday Roast
2.00 - Sunday Footy Show (now an hour and a half with a full preview and review of all games plus profiles of players. It would be hosted from out at whichever ground the Sunday game is at.)
3.30 - Sunday Football - LIVE
5.30ish - The Sunday Review (A new show wrapping up the round, again hosted from the same ground as the Sunday game).

----------------------------------------

That is perfect and is simialr to the amount of tiem given to AFL in Melbourne.

The AFL ratings are that poor the crap should be shoved to the graveyard shift after 12am where it belongs. The AFL have had over 25 years of live weekend coverage in Sydney and the rubbish still doesn't rate.

Well I'm so f*ckin angry and f*cked off about it all!!!

Why do we have to dictate to this sh*t any longer?? I'm sick to death of being held to ransom by a CH 9 / Fox sports "arrangement"... Poor FTA covereage(making us suffer through once upon a time "Berks Backyard"... and now the worst show on Earth ""AFL"") whilst taking the majority of the Eastern seaboard community that loves the GREAT sport of Rugby League... for arse feeding monkeys!!!

Ratings must be at an all time high?? (who's got the figures?)

Get some balls Gallop!!!.........

and give us "arse feeding monkeys" what we want!!!

dontmakemeangry

i think like all we all want to see more amd more free to air footy, and with less ads would be nice.
Out of all ch9's league shows what is your favourite? Personally i like the Sunday Footy Show.
And what about this idea.
I recently saw on ch10 in the middle of a show that the up coming AD break was a QuICK one, no more than a minute, why don't nine do the same whilst footy is on.
I know personally that i sit there if it's only going to be one minute so wouldn't that be a perfectly good place to advertise your product?
Sure they would cost heaps more, and they'd have to, something has to compensate for there not being 3minutes of ads.
Surely companies would be lining up for a 30 sec commercial thats only going to be one of two?
I know i'd watch em.