Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hunt agrees to monster 6 year deal.

Is hunt a good signing or not?

• Yeah mate

Votes: 97 84.3%
  • Nah mate

Votes: 4 3.5%
  • Yeah Nah mate

Votes: 14 12.2%

Carlton

I think Hunts a good player, nervous about a six year contract however.

The thing I can't get my head around is that we have signed a high profile half to start in 2018 (not this year) to an extremely long term contract without a long term head coach. This seems very much like someone has said this is what they need to build the team around. Is there a coach in waiting, sitting in the wings giving directions?

dragonssamy61

The thing I can't get my head around is that we have signed a high profile half to start in 2018 (not this year) to an extremely long term contract without a long term head coach. This seems very much like someone has said this is what they need to build the team around. Is there a coach in waiting, sitting in the wings giving directions?

Hi Carlton
Let hope that the new coach is having some imput.

Red V for life

I wouldn't know but it certainly has that feel about it doesn't it?
It certainly makes sense to me.

Hunt still has more than a few years in him, and while he has a Test jersey, I don't think he has an Origin jumper and he doesn't have a premiership ring. It'd be good knowing financially your set for life, but surely he'd be chasing these things...and hard...especially Origin given JT's announcement.

What I'm saying is the money was obviously a big, big factor, but with so much left to possibly achieve, I don't think he would've "sold out" and just be rocking up for the pay cheque. The guy is a competitor.

Coaching wise, Cleary and Walters who have no club connections ATM are available or Hasler. Toovey signed with Bradford. I trust the Club has their target in sight. Any one of those 3 would be fine by me.

Dragon Blood

JD would be my preferred option, followed by Cleary, Walters and Hasler in that order.
Just a thought popped into my head a long run this afternoon, WOTIF Saint Benny and JT make a return to the red V in 2018 with Ben hunt and emerging young talent. It was just a spur of the moment thought in the shower after the run. I'm not sure of the contract obligations of WB & JT to the Donkeys, but contracts are rice paper thin these days?

MattoDragon

Neither do he Dragons.

$6 million for 5 years with an option for a sixth in Hunt's favour. (According to news outlets this morning)

So $1.2 million a season.

Every man and his dog slagged off Manly fpr spending that sort of money on DCE to a long term deal. Watch the backtracking now....
Its not $6m for five years. Its just under a million a year for 5 years with an option of a 6th year in Hunt's favour. No mention of $6m anywhere

MattoDragon

Signed sealed and delivered. About time we landed a playmaker. Now for a new coach.
Imo, a player of Hunt's stature would not have signed a deal like this unless he's been assured we've got a new coach for 2018. Whether it's Hasler or Cleary or whoever, I think we've already got someone locked in, starting 2018.

Reactions: Qdf

MattoDragon

Genuine question - can anyone tell me a time a 5 year contract worked out well? I can't recall any.

I think this move is a bigger gamble for Hunt than it is for the Dragons. By leaving one of the best coaches and clubs in the game and signing with the Dragons he has potentially kissed goodbye any opportunity he had to play rep footy. This type of contract puts a lot of pressure on him to perform, especially at club with a fan base that ruthlessly demands success. All the money in the world means nothing if you're not enjoying your football.

I do believe Hunt is player you can build a team around, however it has been many years since this club has shown any sort of strategic thinking when it comes to recruitment and retention. Everything has been reactive and basically throwing money at players purely because they are available and we have the cash, and retaining players purely because they've shown some promise. This has lead to us playing with one of the most unbalanced spines in the competition pretty much since Bennett left.

Basically for me the jury is still out on this signing. I hope it works out for club and player, but I have been disappointed so many times since 2011 that I've learned to become skeptical about everything.
I agree. However, I do think that the success or failure of Hunt's signing will depend very much on who is coaching us next year. I'm sure Hunt would not put his Origin chance in jeopardy. As I said in a reply to another comment, I think Hunt has been advised who will be coaching us next year. I seriously believe we already have a coach tied up for 2018 and it will be announced once our current super coach fails come up with the desired results in the first 8 rounds this year.

SaintPauli

Hunt is a better value player than Daley C Evans who got 10 years at 1 mill / year. I also believe it will be Hunt who will largely contribute in attracking high end coaches, have a great influence in teaching, mentoring and retaining our young stars and raising players attention from other clubs with appeal to come over if we need them! Cleary would be my preference new coach.

MattoDragon

Guaranteed for sure. I hope its Cleary and I hope they announce it soon.

BennyV

I would like to see Walters take the job, he has plenty to prove and I am sure would coach an entertaining style of play.
No more rookie coaches please. We have the making of a VERY good team leading into 2018, we need someone with experience putting the pieces together. Cleary or Hasler would be fine!

In saying that, I'm not convinced Mary wont get the extension. The club seems to have put the cart before the horse here (and I'm glad they did, if that's what it took to secure Hunt) in the hope that a promising squad will attract the best coach available, however there is always a chance that Mary will convince his mates there that he's worth another shot with Hunt in his team in 2018, especially if he manages to ass his way above 12th place in 2017.