Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hunt named in Queensland side for Origin I

getsmarty

Hunt named in Queensland side for Origin I
Author
QRL Media Release
Timestamp
Mon 27 May 2019, 08:57 AM

Kevin Walters has today named three debutants in his Queensland Maroons team for Game I of the Holden State of Origin series at Suncorp Stadium.

The fresh injection of rising Maroons talent will see Moses Mbye, Joe Ofahengaue and David Fifita line up for Queensland in the highly-anticipated series opener on June 5.

Noosa Pirates junior Mbye will fill the important utility role for the Maroons, while Emerging Origin squad members Ofahengaue and Fifita are set to add further punch from the bench.

Walters will formally announce the 2019 captain at tonight’s Maroons Series Launch dinner in Brisbane.

The new leader will become the 15th Queensland Origin captain.

Queensland Maroons
1. Kalyn Ponga
2. Corey Oates
3. Michael Morgan
4. Will Chambers
5. Dane Gagai
6. Cameron Munster
7. Daly Cherry-Evans
8. Jai Arrow
9. Ben Hunt
10. Josh Papalii
11. Felise Kaufusi
12. Matt Gillett
13. Josh McGuire
14. Moses Mbye
15. Joe Ofahengaue
16. Dylan Napa
17. David Fifita
18. Tim Glasby

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/05/27/hunt-named-in-queensland-side-for-origin-i/

getsmarty

Smith's tips to help Hunt star as The Apprentice
Author
Joel Gould NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 29 May 2019, 07:01 AM
gouldjoe-head.png

New Queensland hooker Ben Hunt is set to receive hot tips from Cameron Smith in camp this week as he insists he is fit and ready to play 80 minutes if required in the State of Origin series opener.

The Dragons halfback returns to the position he played at the Broncos mostly off the bench in 2012-13. It is Smith’s game that Hunt has studied closely and he expected the Maroons legend would join the camp this week to pass on his wisdom.

“Smithy has been the best nine in our game ever and the things I try and take out of his game are his calmness and the speed he plays the game,” Hunt said at the Maroons fans day in Charleville on Tuesday.

“He knows when to speed things up and when to slow things down. He is always relaxed in the middle and gets the ball to the men that need it. Hopefully, we can get him into camp later in the week and I can learn a bit off him.

Match: Maroons v Blues

Game 1 - Wednesday 5th June

8:10pm

Home Team

Maroons

Away Team

Blues

Venue: Suncorp Stadium

Buy Tickets
“I think I can get a full game in. Going back to my time at the Broncos, I was playing a full game at hooker and I feel I can handle a full 80 minutes in the middle in Origin.

"I know it's a different game, but you find ways out there to get your breath back. I'm not sure if Kevvie plans to play me for 80 minutes, we'll see how it goes.”

“I'd rather start at nine than come off the bench. It's something I did for many years at the Broncos and I found it harder coming off the bench and getting into the game. You run out and just get straight into it.”

Maroons banned from talking about 'the other team'

Hunt played the opening two games of last year’s Holden State of Origin series at halfback before slotting back to the bench for game three, where he came on and made an impact in Queensland’s 18-12 win.

He showed great character and skill to do that and is looking forward to partnering with halfback Daly Cherry-Evans again when he does come on.

“It was something I wanted to do going into game three, being dropped in a way out of my position. I wanted to prove I belong in that arena and just forget about everything that happened and enjoy myself and rip in. I believe that's what I did,” Hunt said.

“With Daly, we just played a freestyle game of footy. Yes we have structures, but we are willing to play what is in front of us and if something pops up that we weren't planning for, then we'll take these opportunities.

“I'm ready. It still feels just as special as the first call I got from Kevvie to play seven. He still has belief in me to be in the side and the starting side. I am going out to do a job in the No.9."

Hunt said he was confident Cherry-Evans would be fit to play on June 5 after recovering from ankle surgery and added that he would make an excellent captain.

“I had a chat to him yesterday on the plane and he said everything is going really well for him and if he had an NRL game this weekend, he would be right to play,” Hunt said.

“He is confident in the work he has done up until now and he is the ultimate professional, so I believe he will be good to go.

DCE's road to Maroons captaincy

“It was an obvious decision for me that he was the captain, he has been captain for his club and vice-captain for Australia. To me, he is an exceptional leader and the right man for the job.”

Hunt was one of the most popular members of the Maroons camp in Charleville and as a lad from the bush in central Queensland it was no surprise that the trip west was one he enjoyed.

“It means everything. It's always pretty special to get back out to the bush,” Hunt said. "I'm from out there and to see the smiles on the kids' faces, they don't get things like this very often. They usually do it pretty hard out here, so to get out and see them happy is great."

Be part of the action for Origin I at Suncorp Stadium Secure your seats here

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/05/29/smiths-tips-to-help-hunt-star-as-the-apprentice/

some11

Hunt's second 40 was really good, and he put on a match-defining shot to dislodge a ball near the end.

I reckon he takes a lot of confidence out of that game, good news for the Dragons.

Mickthedragon

He has been doing that for several weeks now.

It's easy to be swept up in the hysteria of shitting on players sometimes, but Hunt has been getting involved in as many tackles as he possibly can now for a while. He's a tough little bloke
No question of that whatsoever.
But for the money he's on, i havn't seen enough leadership and good game management lately. Maybe he's been down on confidence or just struggling with carrying the whole team. Having Norman back will hopefully help.

rednwhites

Hunt showed he has that filthiness about him ripping off Cordner's boot and throwing it over the sideline. How is that not a penalty? Queenslanders can get away with anything in origin.What a low act.

Now let's see him give the opposition multiple 7 tackle sets when wearing a Dragons jersey...or maybe he can drop the ball from a kickoff.

Brutalitops

Hunt showed he has that filthiness about him ripping off Cordner's boot and throwing it over the sideline. How is that not a penalty? Queenslanders can get away with anything in origin.What a low act.

Now let's see him give the opposition multiple 7 tackle sets when wearing a Dragons jersey...or maybe he can drop the ball from a kickoff.
Mate Maloney has done that like 4 times in origin and it's never been a penalty then either

Brutalitops

This reads like something a bogan broncos fan would post on Facebook. Aim higher and learn to read the game properly

No question of that whatsoever.
But for the money he's on, i havn't seen enough leadership and good game management lately. Maybe he's been down on confidence or just struggling with carrying the whole team. Having Norman back will hopefully help.
Hunt was playing in the 9 jumper last night which does involve defending in the middle. Look at McInnes's tackle stats to confirm this.

Hunt played very well as a hooker last night, maybe that is his position in our team with McInnes as lock, although I's say that Robson has a better passing game from dummy half than both of these players. Cook in the first half last night showed that with a dominant forward pack, it makes the life of the dummy half and first receiver so much easier.

At SGI we need to develop a game plan where our forwards can be dominant for as close to 80min as possible. This may mean better bench management and training/selecting more forwards who can play long minutes.

I'd say SGI need to be more creative when it comes to the use of our forwards in a game. We need to train for and encourage the use of precise off-loads and second phase in our game plan.

I was pleasantly surprise how well Hunt went at hooker during the SOO game. I understand we need to recruit a forward to replace De Belin however, I am not completely against persisting with Field at five-eighth playing on the right side for the rest of the season and playing Norman as the halfback placed on the left side. Moving Hunt to hooker and McInnes to lock.

The season is done so anything to better prepare for next season when Widdop will have left for the UK and a decision will need to be made on the most suitable players to be selected in the halves, hooker and lock positions will need to be made this season for next season.

Brutalitops

I was pleasantly surprise how well Hunt went at hooker during the SOO game. I understand we need to recruit a forward to replace De Belin however, I am not completely against persisting with Field at five-eighth playing on the right side for the rest of the season and playing Norman as the halfback placed on the left side. Moving Hunt to hooker and McInnes to lock.

The season is done so anything to better prepare for next season when Widdop will have left for the UK and a decision will need to be made on the most suitable players to be selected in the halves, hooker and lock positions will need to be made this season for next season.
First of all, it's not worth weakening our halves (one of the few elements of our team I think we have fully set) just to "strengthen" our hooker when our hooker is already probably second in line for NSW. So wasting half a season to solve "our halves and hooker" for the future is not needed because those positions are already set for the foreseeable future. Fullback? Yeah we need to experiment there. But our halves are very important to our team

And secondly, I really resent the idea that the "season is done". Is it likely we make the finals? Nah not likely based on current form. But it would be a disgraceful organisation who would reach barely the halfway point of a competition (where they are only 2 points out of the top 8 with 10 games remaining) and throw in the towel because the "year is done" and I have no doubt everybody here would resent a club who did this. Try telling the players that the year is done and see what they say.

I must commend you on resisting a reference to Millward in your post though, that must have taken some effort

Dragonslayer

First of all, it's not worth weakening our halves (one of the few elements of our team I think we have fully set) just to "strengthen" our hooker when our hooker is already probably second in line for NSW. So wasting half a season to solve "our halves and hooker" for the future is not needed because those positions are already set for the foreseeable future. Fullback? Yeah we need to experiment there. But our halves are very important to our team

And secondly, I really resent the idea that the "season is done". Is it likely we make the finals? Nah not likely based on current form. But it would be a disgraceful organisation who would reach barely the halfway point of a competition (where they are only 2 points out of the top 8 with 10 games remaining) and throw in the towel because the "year is done" and I have no doubt everybody here would resent a club who did this. Try telling the players that the year is done and see what they say.

I must commend you on resisting a reference to Millward in your post though, that must have taken some effort

We are actually we 4 points outside the 8. Teams ahead of us still have bye in hand including Manly, Eels and even Cowboys.
A lot are saying the season is gone, including myself, due to the way we have been playing, tge fact we stilk have 2 more SOO games ahead and the coaching staff with very limited ability. I mean seriously Lats "rushed" back into the team for mondays game, based on what? Dufty back to fullback after an absolute howler in CC last week. Periera dropped in favour of Rava just because he scored a try in CC. And lets move Lomax to yet another position.
No wonder the optimism is at such a low.