Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hynes

glenmoresharkie

He seemed to have the shits most of the game.

Turning point was when the ball was raked from him I think. I stopped watching at the 65 min mark, anything I missed in the last 15?
You missed him doing absolutely nothing as usual. Has the ball 5 meters out from the line on last tackle and throws a telegraphed cutout ball to Stoney who can do f**k all from his position

Hynes is absolutely shite and should be embarrassed taking home that wage every week.

Cheese sandwich

Turning point was when the ball was raked from him I think. I stopped watching at the 65 min mark, anything I missed in the last 15?
Nothing you haven't seen fairly regularly over the last 4 or so seasons

Weaponhead

Get a haircut merkin
homer simpson episode 13 GIF

jc155776

Other than letting everyone else do it rather than taking charge like a halfback paying a million a year should?

Other than touching the ball
About once per set in the last ten minutes when attacking and chasing the game?

Oh he did just give it to Nikora about 10metres out from the defensive line on a ‘go do something’ play, didn’t even follow him into contact to look for an offload etc.

Million dollar halfback… f**k me we settled on that new contract way too f**king fast.

DJDL

I posted something in the game day thread about "let's see which halves pairing know how to bring this home" just after the Rooters hit the lead.

I'd actually held off posting that since around 15 minutes into the second half as I thought it was way too early to post it.
But the writing was on the wall at that point and had been for some time.

As easy as it is to line up and join in on the Nicho bashing, it is hard to hide from the fact that, once again, when playing a top 8 contender, with the game in the balance, our halves just have no idea how to get it done.

There are plenty of other reasons as to why but, at the end of the day, it's halves' job to close the match out.
Time and again we fall short.

We may compete and get to the finals, but we ain't winning shit with this pair.

I posted something in the game day thread about "let's see which halves pairing know how to bring this home" just after the Rooters hit the lead.

I'd actually held off posting that since around 15 minutes into the second half as I thought it was way too early to post it.
But the writing was on the wall at that point and had been for some time.

As easy as it is to line up and join in on the Nicho bashing, it is hard to hide from the fact that, once again, when playing a top 8 contender, with the game in the balance, our halves just have no idea how to get it done.

There are plenty of other reasons as to why but, at the end of the day, it's halves' job to close the match out.
Time and again we fall short.

We may compete and get to the finals, but we ain't winning shit with this pair.
No half is doing anything with the possession we had after scoring our last try. Clearly ain't winning anything with 30% possession

Since 73

He has lovely hair.
He is the face of the shire.
He wears the prestigious no.7.
He earns a million dollars a year.
He is the best player in the world.

The only thing left is to have his own thread.
And here it is.
Finally, Nicho has arrived on the biggest stage.

Let's have some fun with this.

After a memorable Round 6 where we took Fitzball to Perth, let's turn the clock back 7 days to an equally memorable Round 5 where we enjoyed such wonderful highlights as:

# 1.
The jizz for the our no. 7 flying thick and fast.
The love.
The adoration.
The plaudits.
He had more 3 points in the MOM thread than Wally Lewis on Origin night.

The Hynes Kool-Aid was on tap and flowing freely. We lost count of how many posters in here were drunk on it.

# 2.
The memorable pile-on to label Mitch Moses a cat.

This, from Sharks supporters - toward a halfback who has stood up in the cauldron of SOO and done what no other modern day 7 has done - had me in stitches.
Especially in contrast to what we see offered up each weekend.

It was embarrassing.

# 3.
And this...
Please put your hand up whoever it was last week who called out the 'Nicho-haters'...lol.

Gold.

If you're not a card-carrying member of the 'but he won the Dally M crew' you're a hater.
As Old mate Frenzy would say, "bahahahahaha!"
He got it.
I get it.

My plea, last week, that Hynes just do it against a team that turns up, was howled down.
Just do it against a good team.
A top 4 team.
A top 8 team.
Rather than the defenceless Titans - or a Warriors side that had beaten all before them for 5 weeks and were so buggered they forgot how to tackle.

Look, with all due respect - for those on here who know farkall about footy and have a relationship with lover boy that they toss off over him when we win and turn on him when we lose, cover your ears now - because I do not want to spoil your weekly belief in all things Nicho - but...

He is not a halfback.

He never has been.

He never ever will be.

Not at this level anyways.

So.

What is he?

He is just a number 14 we poached from Bellamy, who can do a job from 1 - 5 when someone gets injured.

He kicks goals.

He defends well.

And, if his playmakers get him space, he can run the ball.
...although he does NOT run it anywhere near hard enough for this comp any more. He did once.

In summary:
I expect us to be all over the bye in the next 7 days and people to be talking Hynes up leading into our next game.

I have no problem with that.

Each to their own - you pay your money you get your shot.

But..the problem we have as a club is the guy in charge - Fitz - the guy who is actually paid to identify any deficiencies in our team is blind to Hynes.
And his two cronies.
This 3 pronged gang of Ground-hoggers continue to watch this problem play out game after game, season after season.
To our detriment.

I have given up expecting coach to intervene.
I now know it is beyond him, so am numb to games like last night.

I actually though we would threaten for the title this year because I truly believe coach would bite the bullet and fix this issue over the summer.

The fact he hasn't allows me to watch this season play out without stress.

I actually find it entertaining watching games like last night for all the wrong reasons.

Footnote:
I was watching in a pub, so cant claim to have had eyes on every play, but with 20 to go every man and his poodle knew they were coming to get us - AFB's runs were a dead giveaway that we had given up - but am I right in saying Trindall completely took over and was doing everything, and he who was formerly known as 'Pap's replacement' just handed the keys over?

compared to moses who has had 12 try assists in the last 3 seasons? and a win percentage under 50. a worse tackling efficency and a worse gaol kicking percentage. and moses is on 1.3m makes nichos 1m look like a bargain

DJDL

No half is doing anything with the possession we had after scoring our last try. Clearly ain't winning anything with 30% possession

Well possession ended up at 45-55.
We scored our last try at the 35th minute, which would mean we had close to 70% possession for the period up to that point.

By your argument, the game should have been put to bed by then.
At the very least, by some time early in the second half.

I get what you're saying, but the fact of the matter is neither of our halves showed any kind of ingenuity to try to wrest the momentum back our way, or come up with something to try to break up what was happening.
They just went about their normal business.
Work through the set, get to the kick and chase.

Cheese sandwich

We scored our last try at the 35th minute, which would mean we had close to 70% possession for the period up to that point.

I get what you're saying, but the fact of the matter is neither of our halves showed any kind of ingenuity to try to wrest the momentum back our way, or come up with something to try to break up what was happening.
It's not even so much about yesterday either, its just knowing what will happen before it happens. I think we're well beyond excuses by now, you'd have to have your head buried in the sand to think he's going to lead us to the promised land.

the roosters had the ball for 5 mins longer than us
we had 40 missed tackles and half of them were by wilton and burns
because that is how you get momentum back, not by doing hail mary rubbish that puts you deeper in the hole.
dogs v panthers was 54/46 very similar, did cleary get them out of that one?
storm v warriors was 46/54 did hughes get them out of that?
eels v tiatians was 48/52, how did moses go?
only one team on the weekend lost while having more ball.
so what would you have had them do to get momentum back?

DJDL

It's not even so much about yesterday either, it’s just knowing what will happen before it happens. I think we're well beyond excuses by now, you'd have to have your head buried in the sand to think he's going to lead us to the promised land.

This is what I was trying to say.
Yeah we had f**k all ball yesterday, but the fact remains when it counts against the big sides our halves fail to deliver.

Bookie

Would love someone to AI the stat of

“Halfback kicks to opposition back 3 on the full”

reckon if there was a medal for that Nichos neck would’ve cracked by now.