Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I have been an idiot: Carney

Freddo

from foxsports.com.au

I have been an idiot: Carney
By Josh Massoud in Kigali, Rwanda
October 10, 2008 THERE are so many things Todd Carney isn't sure about. For example his long-term future. Carney's work visa to play in England next season is yet to be approved.
The delay is causing much angst for the 22-year-old, who is barred from playing in Australia until 2010.

Should the British High Commission not grant him a visa, his future will descend into a black hole.

"I'm still waiting for the police to fax some stuff over," Carney says. "When I went for the interview last week I thought it would be sweet.

"I'm in limbo now. I said to mum if it doesn't get accepted I'm back to square one. What's the next step?"

The question lingers in the humid Central African air.

Carney is on a hotel bed at the Banana Guest House in Kigali, Rwanda, searching through the wreckage of his short life.

It all amounts to a rap sheet longer than the tattoo that covers his right arm. There have been drink-driving charges, nightclub dramas, a police pursuit, brawls, warnings and arrests.

Canberra finally sacked him three months ago. So he travelled to Africa this week to turn his life around.

Alcohol abuse and his mates are the common denominator in all of Carney's stuff-ups. But he is still drinking on this trip.

That he continues to drink after the latest incident just a week ago - arrested for allegedly smashing a window in Goulburn - invites the simple question: Todd Carney, are you an alcoholic?

"No," he replies with rare clarity and confidence.
"People who need to drink every day are alcoholics. That's not me. But I do have a problem with alcohol and when I get drunk."

Then why don't you stop drinking? The uncertainty returns as he scratches his neck and squints. Finally he answers: "I've got nothing, mate. I don't know what to say.

"To be honest, I wouldn't know how to start. It's something I've got to have a big think about, but I know I've said that so many times before. I'm pretty shy most of the time and I suppose you could say I need to drink to socialise. Honestly, if I went out sober I wouldn't have fun.

"I can stop at a few but once I go past that I get too comfortable. When I drink a fair bit, it seems to hit me all at once. I just sort of black out. There's been plenty of mornings I've woken up and not had a clue what happened the night before."

Last Friday night's incident in Goulburn was a telling example of Carney's problems.

A mate smashed the door, but Carney was handcuffed and arrested on suspicion of committing the crime.
One of the boys, he preferred to spend three hours in a holding cell than give up his friend.

Even while he lived in Canberra for five seasons, Carney returned home to Goulburn at every opportunity.

His relationship with Australia's first inland city is complex. Much stems back to his father, Daryl.

When Carney was young, Daryl spent time in jail. Carney won't reveal why but the two were very close during his adolescence and rise to prominence as an NRL star.

"Dad coached me for five years," Carney reveals. "But he was very intense. He would always be into me about football."

When Carney was graded with the Raiders, Daryl would travel to Canberra for every home game. He bombarded his son with advice after every match. There were also daily phone calls - sometimes twice a day - assessing his training.

"Then it just stopped, Dad didn't call me anymore," Carney explains.

"Suddenly, with Dad gone, I had no one to turn to."

Aged in his mid-50s, Daryl developed dementia two years ago.

It was a rapid decline and debilitating for the family, particularly Carney's mother Leann. Daryl now lives in a facility in Goulburn and can never return home.

"It's tough visiting Dad because there are times when he doesn't know who I am," Carney says.
"He has good days and bad days. It's a terrible disease because it sort of broke up our family.

"People with dementia, they make up lies and say different stuff. A lot of that hurt my mother."

His drivers licence taken away long ago, Carney is now stranded at his parents' house without any other outside influence.

"When I had my old number, people would call just about every night," he said.
"It wasn't something I worried too much about. I only complained once - this guy phoned and said he knew where my girlfriend was and what she was doing.

"That freaked me out a bit but I don't want to use it as an excuse. There's no excuse, including what's happened to Dad. I've just been stupid. I've been an idiot and I have got to change."

sydraider

This should be posted in the manly or Roosters sections, they will be the ones who will sign him no doubt.

thats 32 incidents now Todd, we are over it.

God-King Dean

"People who need to drink every day are alcoholics. That's not me.
But I do have a problem with alcohol and when I get drunk."

Then why don't you stop drinking? The uncertainty returns as he scratches his neck and squints. Finally he answers: "I've got nothing, mate. I don't know what to say.

"To be honest, I wouldn't know how to start. It's something I've got to have a big think about, but I know I've said that so many times before. I'm pretty shy most of the time and I suppose you could say I need to drink to socialise. Honestly, if I went out sober I wouldn't have fun.

Nah, no alcoholic behaviour here!

Twigg

When Carney was young, Daryl spent time in jail. Carney won't reveal why but the two were very close during his adolescence and rise to prominence as an NRL star.

Here is possibly the main source as to why Todd Carney is a f*ckwit. If your parents are dickheads, what do you expect. As the saying goes: Like father.... like son.

"People who need to drink every day are alcoholics. That's not me.
But I do have a problem with alcohol and when I get drunk."

Nah, no alcoholic behaviour here!

Well, he sort of has a point. You won't find too many people his age who don't drink when they're out with their mates on a friday/saturday night. Personally, I don't *need* to drink, but I do anyway every time i'm out.

Chachi

Lets just hope he doesn't end up in gaol, like his cousin before him...who by all accounts was the best Raiders junior since Laurie Daley before he went off the rails.

At 23 years old you can't even call him a dumb kid. He's a dumb man who will probably never learn his lesson.

I just shake my head and wonder how many people in his situation manage to screw up a $400,000 a year dream job just because they "need to drink to socialise".

Hanscholo

I have been an idiot kind of implies that he is no longer an idiot.

I grew up with a bad drunk, there is nothing worse. Its like they are two entirely different people. The drunk and the normal person never meet, they dont acknowledge the existance of the other.

Everything done under alcohol they can't remember, I can't say if it's true or not but I can recall every stupid thing i have ever done when i've been drunk so it sounds like a cop out to me.

You don't have to be an addict to have an alcohol problem genuine enough to warrant total abstenance. The idiots that get a few beers into the them and go on rampages may not technically be alcoholics, in my mind they are somthing far worse. They are reckless cowards who blame their anti social behaivour on a non entity, something which takes the fall for their own selfishness.

I hope this bloke comes to his senses, not just to save a promising career but so he doesnt ruin the lives of everyone he is involved with for the next 50 years.

What idiot knows he has a problem but still continues to do the thing that creates the problem , you do have a problem when you drink Todd.
Also he may admit he's an idiot , Im yet to see the words sorry in any of his statements.
Your becoming a bigger tool everytime I read or hear something about you Todd.

I grew up with a bad drunk, there is nothing worse. Its like they are two entirely different people. The drunk and the normal person never meet, they dont acknowledge the existance of the other.

Everything done under alcohol they can't remember, I can't say if it's true or not but I can recall every stupid thing i have ever done when i've been drunk so it sounds like a cop out to me.

You don't have to be an addict to have an alcohol problem genuine enough to warrant total abstenance. The idiots that get a few beers into the them and go on rampages may not technically be alcoholics, in my mind they are somthing far worse. They are reckless cowards who blame their anti social behaivour on a non entity, something which takes the fall for their own selfishness.

I hope this bloke comes to his senses, not just to save a promising career but so he doesnt ruin the lives of everyone he is involved with for the next 50 years.

Nah memory loss is pretty common for some people. Happened to me a couple of times, usually when I start on beers and then hit the spirits hard.

Time for Todd to quit drinking alltogether, find a mrs, have some kids, stay home and shut the f*ck up.

It's the only thing that will save him.

Freddo

some of you guys are still abit harsh on him for this.

saying hes the only kid with the problem is a f**king joke.

i will swear on my life that there are people that you know there are people on this forum who have hes same problem with alcohol.

there not alcohos they need it to socialise, and go to the point of no return.

some wont admit they have the problem but will acknowledge that its there. they have too much pride to ask for the help,

like he screwed up get off his case we all have. it shouldnt be look what hes done in the past its what can be done to prevent it from happening again.

like there will be another play come along through the ranks that will take his place. would you like too see this happen again.

of course not.

so they need to get the support network up so it never happens again and who knows todd himself will realise bout it and get on board maybe. cus at the end of the day. he still a human who deserves all the rights and freedoms that we all do

reptar

i will swear on my life that there are people that you know there are people on this forum who have hes same problem with alcohol.

No doubt. Binge drinking is very common, which doesn't necessarily make it good or right.

there not alcohos they need it to socialise, and go to the point of no return.

Actually, that is the definition of alcoholism. Dependence, whether it be physical or mental.

Macko8

im nearly todd carneys age and I drink beer everyday after work, it doesnt make me a binge drinker and i certainly dont walk round abusing people,breaking sh*t or urinating on humans.

Chachi

Very true. Just because someone says they "need" it to socialise it doesn't mean they are dependant on it to function. Binge drinking is not alcoholism.

This is a massive judgement call, but I reckon it's often used an excuse for people acting like dickheads in public (usually on weekends).

reptar

Very true. Just because someone says they "need" it to socialise it doesn't mean they are dependant on it to function. Binge drinking is not alcoholism.

This is a massive judgement call, but I reckon it's often used an excuse for people acting like dickheads in public (usually on weekends).

Oh, I agree. What is more difficult to call is what is dependence. If someone feels like they are sociable when they are drunk, is that a dependence? Is being sociable a necessity?

I binge drink myself. I am a more sociable person once I've been drinking. I don't feel that being sociable is a necessity, even though it is desirable.

As far as Todd Carney is concerned, I'm not all that disappointed to see him "leave" the Raiders. If the incidents we do know about are anything to go by, I really don't want to know what didn't make the papers (and I have heard rumours - but they ARE only rumours). Good luck to him, but I don't think having a Daily Telegraph "journalist" following him around publishing sob stories while he helps in Rwanda is really going to help.

I recently spent time in Port Moresby. During my stay I had a tour which encompassed things ranging from Bomana War Cemetery to Port Moresby dump. People live around Port Moresby dump, scavenging for whatever they can to survive, despite the dump being on fire. It was an eye-opener, but I _still_ don't really have an idea of what it's like to live there. We didn't stop at the dump - we kept the 4WD moving as the people are quite aggressive and we really didn't feel all that safe slowing down in that area. I simply can't imagine what it must be like to have your lungs full of toxic smoke, eating scraps of gods know what just to subsist. I won't even attempt to - I knew at the end of the day that I most likely wouldn't get malaria from my visit, and even if I did I could be treated once I arrived back in Australia.

Todd is having people follow him around and report sob stories back to us and playing touch football against the Rwandan rugby team. I really hope what he sees opens his eyes, but he must surely have what I did in the back my head. He will leave Rwanda. Worst comes to worse, he will end up back in Australia living a quite comfortable life.

Macko8

It all comes down to can todd carney handle the drink??
Theres a fine line between having fun and getting too comfortable.

Once he gets too smashed and doesnt know what his doing than thats when things get out of hand.

You can go out and have your 6-8 scooners but dont be a big timer because your a footy player.likewise with greg bird and a sh*tload of other footy players.
too much money the bastards

legend

I don't know that Todd would be all that comfortable. His big contract didn't kick in until next year and it looks as though his police record is working against him playing in the U.K. and as he shows no signs of changing his ways, an NRL club would have to think long and hard about taking him on, given the baggage that comes with his ability.

One more indiscretion/arrest and I'd say his career is over and I seriously doubt his next contract will be worth 400k per year.