Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I

A lot gets written and read on this forum and no doubt there are very diversified views.

Some of us St George some of us are Illawarra and some of us are StGI.

Some of us are pragmatists, some of us are optimists, some of us are pessimists and often the pragmatists are thrown into the pessimists camp by the optimists.

Some of us get under others skins, some use humour to disguise our sadness, some of us are old enough to have been through this before and others are young enough to have stars in their eyes about the mighty Red V and that it will all be better when they wake in the morning.

We all have players we love and hate and some of us love the cut and thrust of trying to convince others how right we are.

Some people are active on the forum some are passive but despite all of the above we are all passionate about our club save a few trolls of course.

It is bleedingly obvious the club is in crisis with an ordinary roster, bad coaching staff, bad administration, bad finances and exceedingly frustrated and pissed off fans and to top it all off a whole lot of promising juniors about to slip through our hands.

The reality is 1 good moment or 1 good game from a player or the team will not turn this around and the fans have to stop being tricked into believing it will.

In our desire to see the team win many of us are willing to sweep everything else under the carpet and ignore the real facts.

This season was always going to turn out this way and whilst the betting agents had us well down the ladder many chose to berate them. Now many wish they had taken their advice and got on board.

To coin a great winning phrase from the 70's "It's Time" for everyone on this forum to forget their differences and unite for the common cause of seeing our club recover from the debilitating illness it is suffering.

We need to construct a proper action plan, including petition or the like and get everyone of us, writer or reader to sign onto it and play hard ball with the main club.

If it means not watching, not turning up, not buying merchandise or the like then maybe it just has to be that way.

I would love to see some of the brains on this forum use their intellect to get something together that we will give us all hope and point us in the one direction.

For mine I would love to see everyone turn up for the U/20's, cheer the house down and leave the ground straight after the game.

This is not to suggest that we don't like the 1st grade players moreover saying I have faith in the future but have none in the present.

I am sure we have a future but if we leave it in other people's hands it will disappear like sand running through our fingers.

For those that say nothing can be done that's fine but please get another thread and all those too shy to say what they want please come out from behind the shadows and lend your support.

A lot gets written and read on this forum and no doubt there are very diversified views.

Some of us are pragmatists, some of us are optimists, some of us are pessimists and often the pragmatists are thrown into the pessimists camp by the optimists.

Some of us get under others skins, some use humour to disguise our sadness, some of us are old enough to have been through this before and others are young enough to have stars in their eyes about the mighty Red V and that it will all be better when they wake in the morning.

We all have players we love and hate and some of us love the cut and thrust of trying to convince others how right we are.

Some people are active on the forum some are passive but despite all of the above we are all passionate about our club save a few trolls of course.

It is bleedingly obvious the club is in crisis with an ordinary roster, bad coaching staff, bad administration, bad finances and exceedingly frustrated and pissed off fans and to top it all off a whole lot of promising juniors about to slip through our hands.

The reality is 1 good moment or 1 good game from a player or the team will not turn this around and the fans have to stop being tricked into believing it will.

In our desire to see the team win many of us are willing to sweep everything else under the carpet and ignore the real facts.

This season was always going to turn out this way and whilst the betting agents had us well down the ladder many chose to berate them. Now many wish they had taken their advice and got on board.

To coin a great winning phrase from the 70's "It's Time" for everyone on this forum to forget their differences and unite for the common cause of seeing our club recover from the debilitating illness it is suffering.

We need to construct a proper action plan, including petition or the like and get everyone of us, writer or reader to sign onto it and play hard ball with the main club.

If it means not watching, not turning up, not buying merchandise or the like then maybe it just has to be that way.

I would love to see some of the brains on this forum use their intellect to get something together that we will give us all hope and point us in the one direction.

For mine I would love to see everyone turn up for the U/20's, cheer the house down and leave the ground straight after the game.

This is not to suggest that we don't like the 1st grade players moreover saying I have faith in the future but have none in the present.

I am sure we have a future but if we leave it in other people's hands it will disappear like sand running through our fingers.

For those that say nothing can be done that's fine but please get another thread and all those too shy to say what they want please come out from behind the shadows and lend your support.

denis preston

Dont know what to say to that OT but It is blatantly obvious that the club , at the very least, is going through a crisis on the field and therefore must be off the field as well.
Now , how is Doust & the board going to protect their asses ? This is not a club where you can hide from some of the most passionate supporters in the league , so I predict that Mary has been warned that top 8 is a must.So what will he do to protect his job ? The same old Conservative shit , as that all he knows. He will be the one on the chopping block and only to protect jobs.

Gee I'd like to see another Doust/Stanley interview but I think Stanley is somewhat a lackey for the club so it wouldn't be very insightful. The answer is there ( new coach with total control on play & recruitment ) but with the protective confines of the commitee it won't happen.

matPORTS

Well said.

As I've mentioned in other threads during the fall out from last night:

It's clear at present time that no players from outside the club are interested in coming here (Luke Keary & Jackson Hastings the most immediate that come to mind). Whether its due to money or due to the fact that our set up, culture etc does not fit in with their future ambitions will always be subject to speculation.

Unfortunately, the harsh reality of this is that we are presently left with no choice. If we can't attract playing talent from outside the club, we will need to nurture the talent we have coming through our junior systems and supplement this with the likes of Aitken, Frizell, de Belin and a few select others. Holden Cup is doing very well. Some of the up and comers in the Cutters are also making great strides. How do we start to do this? Well...

For christ sake Doust, get on the phone to the managers of Michael McGuire, Ivan Cleary and Tony Smith immediately. Surely we can entice at least one of these blokes and that one of them would be up for this challenge? Surely one of these options is better than what we currently have? Surely one of these guys will bring the right people into the fold as well? Surely we can afford to move Mary on from the last year of his contract (we stand to lose much more than his potential pay out if he stays on another year)?

If you can't entice one of the above mentioned, for christ sake give Jason Demetriou a go. Sure, it might be another rookie option, but at least he is outside the boys club that is the current mob. He has big raps on him from his time at the Cowboys. Given the right opportunity he could perhaps become another Brad Arthur type coach?

While we all have different opinions about the current players that should be kept, dropped, moved on etc, I'd rather not make any wholesale changes between grades for the rest of this year in the hope it will somehow spark us (bandages on a very exposed wound). Why drop players from the top grade to the high-flying Cutters who are only going to bring low confidence into that squad? Why promote the high performing players from either the 20's or Cutters into the first grade system which is clearly broken? Let the Holden Cup and Intrust Super Premiership teams continue as they are in the hope that they may be able to make a tilt at their respective premierships. Put everyone in the top grade (coaching staff and players) on notice. Perform or you are well and truly out the door!

Sure, what I'm suggesting will probably mean another three years (or maybe even up to five years) of pain and maybe even a wooden spoon or two along with it (a cringe worthy thought I know). But if we are fair dinkum about becoming a successful club again, then we need to get back to basics. If we have to go through the pain, lets manufacturer things properly and not just put it together with gaffer tape in the hope that we'll get lucky.

Once all of the above is in place and hopefully flourishing, maybe then established talent from outside the club will look at us and want to be part of it. But good luck trying to wrestle spots away from our home grown talent who have undisputed pride in giving their guts and wearing the big Red V every week.

hazzbeen

So sad that we have wasted 6 years of playing Dragons Footy , and have built nothing , just wasted 6 years . What makes me sick is it will take at least another 6 years to try and rebuild to get to the top again . In saying that this great club might not have another 6 years before it crumbles ....... :x

Get2dachopper!

You guys need to realise how people in a position of power think; They will never admit to their mistakes, and will rarely leave their position of power voluntarily. Its a big part of the reason why they get into those positions in the first place.
They need to be dragged out kicking and screaming. No other way.

hazzbeen

You guys need to realise how people in a position of power think; They will never admit to their mistakes, and will rarely leave their position of power voluntarily. Its a big part of the reason why they get into those positions in the first place.

Lets do it.......:)

Not sure who is more angry at the moment. Saints supporters or the Liberal Party.

itsme

I am one that never posts, but i do enjoy reading everyones opinions. I agree with everything in this post. I have been a member for a decade and a half and have gone to every game physically possible.

Last week i decided i will not attend another game this year and my membership would not be renewed for 2017.

I will always support the dragons, but this is my own way of showing i do not support the state that the club is currently in. So when i get the call from the Red V Membership team for renewal....that is what i will tell them. It saddens me that it has come to this, but people need to be held accountable. Me doing what im doing may not get the desired result, however i can only do what i have control of.

Dragster

I am one that never posts, but i do enjoy reading everyones opinions. I agree with everything in this post. I have been a member for a decade and a half and have gone to every game physically possible.

Last week i decided i will not attend another game this year and my membership would not be renewed for 2017.

I will always support the dragons, but this is my own way of showing i do not support the state that the club is currently in. So when i get the call from the Red V Membership team for renewal....that is what i will tell them. It saddens me that it has come to this, but people need to be held accountable. Me doing what im doing may not get the desired result, however i can only do what i have control of.

Well Said!

RedVDragon

There is one problem here Mary is a dictator. He is a predictable coach. He doesn't listen to his coaching staff and that is a fact. They are even sick and tired of Mary's coaching and direction.

Collateral

Exactly right.

All these ideas of sending emails and putting up signs at the ground have been done to death and the clubs response has been one of absolute indifference to its loyal supporters.

Under Doust, our great club has become one that treats its fans with absolute contempt. Doust and his boys club don't care what we think and they are not going to leave their position voluntarily.

2 years ago I was trying To get people to boycott their memberships and games, but there are just too many that are too happy to pay Doust and watch dragons footy.

I emailed the NRL about the crisis at the dragons and the effect the poor management was having on such an institution to rugby league that the dragons are, and they acknowledged that they were concerned about what was going on with Dragons management but stated there was not a whole lot they could do about it.

I fear there will be no real changes until Doust has bled the club dry and we are looking down the barrel of folding and closing up shop and the NRL is forced to take over to keep us afloat.

Collateral

There is one problem here Mary is a dictator. He is a predictable coach. He doesn't listen to his coaching staff and that is a fact. They are even sick and tired of Mary's coaching and direction.

It's besides the point. He should NEVER of been given the job in the first place. What were his qualifications? Led the Cutters to mixed results and is a mate of Doust. Don't forget he was one of the first people Bennett axed from the coaching team when he came here.

I'm sure McGregor will be replaced by Millward which would be potentially even worse.

The problem is Doust and the board. The same mob that refused to give Bennett the long contract that he wanted which led to him leaving the club.

Formerly I, now StGI until I die. Didn't renew my RedV membership this year (though overseas for half the season) because I can no longer tolerate the governance of the club.

Guess I fall into the McGreggor apologist camp because I really see potential in the guy as a man manager. Held high hopes that Demetriou might have been able to help our structures but by now, my patience has well and truly worn thin seeing him burried with the cutters.

I guess the rot became most obvious to me when Mulholland left. I have no doubt that the board never gave him the autonomy he needed to help build our roster. I'm a firm believer that our squad is a fringe top 8 team on paper at best. McGreggor achieving that however has been done in such an uninspiring way that it actually makes the team hard to watch.

The rot starts at the top and it's hard not to feel that ousting doust and the other dinosaurs on the board would signal a change in fortunes almost immediately. Any decisions on coaching or personnel that this current board oversees is likely to end badly, that's why I'm hesitant to think that a change in football ops staff will bear any fruit. If anything, any ad hoc changes will just serve to offer the board a scapegoat and buy them more time.

Fix the governance tomorrow and if the new powers that be want to shake things up the following day, I'll totally support that. Until then, I struggle to see the point.

BringTheNoise

When a bunch of guys on an internet forum unite nothing can stop us. Let's do this.