Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If not Madge, then who?

macnaz

Too much Balmain being based at Concord and the West side is too Lidcombe to Ashfield centric having moved the NSW and Ron Massey cup sides and games to Lidcombe Oval.

Basically ignore Macathur/Group 6 which is why Souths/Manly/Bulldogs are investing in the area.

Sheens should be able to see that is the case but does he have the backing of the board to make the changes.

The bloke in the hat doesn't seem to be the right fit as your chair though
Wrong as always

BrotherJim05

Has to be Ciraldo, Woolfe or Flanagan. Anyone else would just be a downgrade on Madge. No guarantees these guys are upgrades anyway.

Ciraldo - already has a relationship with Api, who will be instrumental in any improvement we have next year. He knows what success in the modern game looks like and will be first port of call for Penrith players sniffing for a new club if they get squeezed by salary cap. By all accounts he is widely loved and respected by this generation of players.

Woolfe - alot of coaches come from SL and fail but some have huge success in NRL. Woolfe has won three premierships over there. He clearly knows what he's doing. Of these three coaches he is the only one with Head Coach experience in the last three years.

Flanagan - only available coach that has won an NRL premiership and not been sacked due to poor on-field performance. Got the Sharks from bottom dwellers to premiership winners with a combination of development and wise cap management. Is also mates with Fox Sports so hopefully they will calm down on constantly bagging us.

Awarded only after the agreement to merge(club was also told they wouldn’t make the 14).

Most clubs are called by their nickname, been that way for forever.
The name of the club is Wests, can call them either and I wouldn’t care.
As for the tiny magpie? Don’t see any mention of the name of Balmain written anywhere sooo another tick the Pies.

Maybe they will lose Campbelltown junior base, maybe not, but it’s the inner west putting in the coin. Wasn’t alluding, said it outright.
Besides, Roosters have zero junior competitions and seem to do ok. Think we will be fine. If we can get a board knowing what they are doing.
Really they play in predominantly black and gold are called the Tigers and are based at Concord in Balmain's area.- Not sure how much more Balmain they could be unless they played all home games at Leichhardt

Balmain would have been awarded a standalone licence as one of the 14 teams but went into merge mode before the rankings were revealed as only 14 licences were to be available for 2000 season (originally 12) - they were in front of Wests , Norths and I think even Penrith and St George and Illawarra had already merged

Parramatta even though safe courted merges with Balmain/Norths and even Penrith - as basically they didn't like the eel emblem - not marketable - no other reason

Incorrect as the Roosters have the fast growing Central Coast under a long term agreement with the Central Coast Rugby League - Central Coast Roosters

Males - Andrew Johns / Laurie Daley Cup /Harold Matthews Cup Central Coast Roosters then pathways to SG Ball/ Jersey Flegg/ NSW Cup- Norths/NRL

Females - Tarsha Gale Cup / NSW Cup- Central Coast Roosters/ NRLW

Plus under 13 and under 15 development and Under 17 Academy squads

Plus an arrangement with North Sydney - NSW Cup also pathways for Norths Juniors to NRL.- Norths still run their junior/pathways teams at this stage under North Sydney.

General Stripes

Really they play in predominantly black and gold are called the Tigers and are based at Concord in Balmain's areas.

Balmain would have been awarded a standalone licence as one of the 14 teams but went into merge mode before the rankings were revealed as only 14 licences were to be available for 2000 season (originally 12) - they were in front of Wests , Norths and I think even Penrith and St George and Illawarra had already merged

Incorrect as the Roosters have the fast growing Central Coast under a long term agreement with the Central Coast Rugby League - Central Coast Roosters

Males - Andrew Johns / Laurie Daley Cup /Harold Matthews Cup Central Coast Roosters then pathways to SG Ball/ Jersey Flegg/ NSW Cup/NRL

Females - Tarsha Gale Cup / NSW Cup/ NRLW

Plus under 13 and under 15 development and Under 17 Academy squads

Plus an arrangement with North Sydney - NSW Cup also pathways for Norths Juniors to NRL.- Norths still run their junior/pathways teams at this stage under North Sydney.
Yes really.
Black is the predominant colour which is the colour of Wests and a minor colour of Balmain.
We are called the Tigers but also called Wests. Both are our name.
They went into merge mode because they were told by the NRL that they would not be in the 14.
Don’t tell me what happened in 1999 I lived the bloody thing day in day out.
Meanwhile clubs such as yours with zero fans or juniors got a leg up because city ford money was involved.

Central coast? Lol I’m talking actual local junior base. Roosters had to pay another region to get their juniors.

You are really bad at this.

Trollhammaren

How many coaches

How many coaches are they gonna try? Coaching isn’t the problem, I’m tipping it’s the shit culture, too many white ants running around chewing at the foundations, there’s a couple of old guard that need to be run out of town, like f’d right off before this club will go forward.

Yeah, and most, if not all, of those board members you call 'white ants' have Magpies affiliation. De-merging is an absolutely ridiculous idea.

Pezz70

Yeah, and most, if not all, of those board members you call 'white ants' have Magpies affiliation. De-merging is an absolutely ridiculous idea.
Who called any board member a white ant? The issues with the ‘political’ dramas at the club have been widely reported over many years.
The fact that a journalist was able to report the coaches impending sacking before it was announced illustrates the point.

Within any organisation there’s always some factional business, take the Bulldogs. We just double that too and fro-ing cause we’re a merged club it’s been a feature of 22 years, one thing that must happen is that people must stop talking to the media about in house business. Don’t even give the circling vultures a taste. Whip up a club media policy, that outlines who gets to speak to the media ie; CEO, Chairperson, Coach, have a condition/s in board and employment agreements that tenure will be terminated if any media statement is made outside policy without appropriate approval. If you suspect somebody is breaching feed the individual some rubbish and see what floats.

The tigers haven’t been able to take a breath from the media fracas since 2011 and it tells on morale and the ability to attract The marquee players.

MugaB

Fancy that a chook supporter coming to a tigers thread, telling you who you are...
I'd report him for just breathing....

My bet on the coaching gig, is noddy gets a go, then they end up with john morris, stable coach, got sharks into plenty of finals football, always attentive to the playing group, only knock on him was he wasn't able to draw in marquee signings, but madge couldn't either, so no diff... not going to get any better coaches than morris, not right now... flanogan is tipped for the dogs, Woolf tipped for Warriors, Burgess for dolphins under little ol'wayne, ciraldo wouldn't leave this current panthers team, not when they are dominating the comp, if anything Ivan might want to return to NZ to finish what he started there before 2011, leaving ciraldo right where he is... but that won't happen for another few years...

But in terms of a Tigers coach Morris is probably the best option, other than Todd Payten if he was available... i liked madge, but he had a bravado that was great for the team, but was really just covering up issues and deficiencies... a guy like todd payten, adresses them publically and is 100% in truth about everything, even if he is ridiculed by it, look at the talmalolo caper last year... less minutes! Who the f**k does that... a good coach does, coz big T does all the work, and when he aint there the cows folded like an ironing board, he made them play without him, he called him out publically, he made t hem all accountable, and recruited has-beens as leaders, but did it smart, a halfback like townsend, nearly the buy of their season..
Kinda wish he was the tigers coach

Tiger Ted

If the cows weren’t going so well then Payten would’ve been the favourite & fact is when Potter was coach he undermined him as he was desperate to get the head coaching gig at Concord.
I’m wondering whether Brett Hodgson will throw his hat in the ring as imo he ticks a few boxes.

Yes really.
Black is the predominant colour which is the colour of Wests and a minor colour of Balmain.
We are called the Tigers but also called Wests. Both are our name.
They went into merge mode because they were told by the NRL that they would not be in the 14.
Don’t tell me what happened in 1999 I lived the bloody thing day in day out.
Meanwhile clubs such as yours with zero fans or juniors got a leg up because city ford money was involved.

Central coast? Lol I’m talking actual local junior base. Roosters had to pay another region to get their juniors.

You are really bad at this.
Nope I am good at this

The original number was 12 teams then the compromise was 14 teams in 2000 so if you see below Balmain and Manly didn't need to merge at at all in the 14 team comp in 2000.

Plenty of Roosters fans and the only time Nick has put money into the Roosters is when he owned City Ford - he hasn't owned City Ford for a long long time.

If you knew the Roosters junior area or what is left of it after the vermin stole a lot of it in the 1930's and 1950's you would know why it is not a big junior area - how many footballers would come out of Double Bay/ Vaucluse/Point Piper/ Rose Bay/ Ruschcutter Bay/Watsons Bay/ Dover Heights/Elizabeth Bay/Bellevue Hill/Tamarama/Little Bay/Woolloomooloo/Edgecliffe for an example - I dare say none let alone any kids in that area playing league or much sport at all .

Of course you have had your problems with those vermin - GF in 1909 when Balmain and Souths agreed not to play as it was to be played as curtain raiser to a Australia vs NZ test match - Souths turn up though kick off and score and win on forfeit

Smart thinking by the Roosters to have the Central Coast Juniors both male and female as it is a win win for both sides - gives junior players pathways to both NRL and NRLW via the Juniors and Pathways.

Something your club had failed with by basically ignoring the Macarthur Group 6 area.

Should change your name to Macarthur Wests Tigers and get people on the board who know the game- not long time supporters or employees of sponsors or mates of mates.

Anyone coaching the Tigers now will need to have eyes in the back of their heads.

Can't see the Penrith assistant putting his hand up for the job for a 1st time NRL head coach role as if it doesn't work out it would be the end of his coaching career. Your First NRL head coach role defines your ongoing career prospects as a long term coach.

Pretty slim picking for candidates one has to say - Flannagan / Barrett/ Morris

Fancy that a chook supporter coming to a tigers thread, telling you who you are...

My bet on the coaching gig, is noddy gets a go, then they end up with john morris, stable coach, got sharks into plenty of finals football, always attentive to the playing group, only knock on him was he wasn't able to draw in marquee signings, but madge couldn't either, so no diff... not going to get any better coaches than morris, not right now... flanogan is tipped for the dogs, Woolf tipped for Warriors, Burgess for dolphins under little ol'wayne, ciraldo wouldn't leave this current panthers team, not when they are dominating the comp, if anything Ivan might want to return to NZ to finish what he started there before 2011, leaving ciraldo right where he is... but that won't happen for another few years...

But in terms of a Tigers coach Morris is probably the best option, other than Todd Payten if he was available... i liked madge, but he had a bravado that was great for the team, but was really just covering up issues and deficiencies... a guy like todd payten, adresses them publically and is 100% in truth about everything, even if he is ridiculed by it, look at the talmalolo caper last year... less minutes! Who the f**k does that... a good coach does, coz big T does all the work, and when he aint there the cows folded like an ironing board, he made them play without him, he called him out publically, he made t hem all accountable, and recruited has-beens as leaders, but did it smart, a halfback like townsend, nearly the buy of their season..
Centrelink not open today?

General Stripes

Nope I am good at this

The original number was 12 teams then the compromise was 14 teams in 2000 so if you see below Balmain and Manly didn't need to merge at at all in the 14 team comp in 2000.
can’t tell if you are stupid or trolling. Maybe a bit of both.

I didn’t argue that the original talk was 12 nor that it became 14 and yes Balmain did make the 14 team cut at the end of the year.
By that time though Balmain had already merged. They had been told earlier in the year they wouldn’t make the 14.
Now I’m giving the NRL some credit in that at the time Balmain were told they were probably expecting Norths/CC to make the cut and not go bankrupt. But unlikely.
I’m ignoring your “we exist” rubbish as every man and his dog knows they count the fingers of Chooks fans as attendance not just the person themselves.
And it was 100% City Ford money that got you into the 14 and nothing more.

Now be a good chook and go get plucked.

MugaB

I’m ignoring your “we exist” rubbish as every man and his dog knows they count the fingers of Chooks fans as attendance not just the person themselves.

THIS!!!!

Gee what are 360 going to do now that Madge has been sacked ? Whenever its quiet on the NRL front, its always lets 'kick the sh#t out of the WT' to fill in air time.
These so called league experts base most of their stories on rumour and hearsay, rather than the facts or truth, yet think everyone has to be answerable to them.Tim Sheens showed in his interview yesterday how little these flogs actually know about the WT, which was ironic, considering as they had no comeback on what Tim said to them.

Trollhammaren

Madge did bring John Morris to the club as player back in the day, our own Cooper Cronk as he declared, so it wouldn't be surprising if he does get some consideration for the coaching gig.

As for Ciraldo, don't know what his intentions are, but most coaches have aspirations to be a head coach. And I don't see Ivan vacating the role for a long ass time. Especially as Nathy boy is there long term. Most coaches don't knock back head coaching roles so if he's offered the WT job I'd hope he'd seriously consider it. The other head coaching jobs available aren't exactly any better! I'd say Tigers are in a better spot than the Dogs and Warriors, plus whatever gig (Gold Coast maybe) comes along next.

I didn’t argue that the original talk was 12 nor that it became 14 and yes Balmain did make the 14 team cut at the end of the year.
By that time though Balmain had already merged. They had been told earlier in the year they wouldn’t make the 14.
Now I’m giving the NRL some credit in that at the time Balmain were told they were probably expecting Norths/CC to make the cut and not go bankrupt. But unlikely.

grow up