Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Impressed and Congratulations

Well at least today I was able to decide who to barrack for in the semis if/when the Sharks aren't there.

What an exciting bunch of kids the Tigers are. I hope they can keep their temperaments for the rest of the year because I see a lot of Penrith 2003 in this team. Free flowing, happy go lucky, skillful, FUN footy!

You lot should be way proud of this side. It's goin' places.

Congratulations on the footballing lesson handed out to day.

ALSO!

Without a doubt, the Tigers fans at the game, and on Beer Hill would have to be the most humble, appreciative and downright nice people I have seen at a game in years. No sh*t went down at all and I had plenty of drinkies with Tiges fans after.

Well there were few Sharks fans left I suppose.......

:)

tiburon

The tigers fans were damn loud & vocal too, has to make a big diff. to the team when they're playing away.

raider_ktj

Yeh Tigers are good to watch, was a fantastic win. Ur gonna give the Raiders a run for their money nxt Sunday, cannot wait. Should be an awesome game.

amen and amen

a terrific team to watch. all the best to the tigers fans who've waited planty of years for finals action. i hope your lot continue to surprise teams and do some real damage

smeghead

Many thanks for your comments guys. I was really impressed with how gracious the Sharks fans were in defeat

Tigerpete

Yeah, thanks guys. I think its fair to say we all had a great day out there yesterday, plenty of our fans travelled across town which was the tip, almost seemed like a home game in the second half.

Yowie

Captain Jack Sparrow said:
Well at least today I was able to decide who to barrack for in the semis if/when the Sharks aren't there.

ALSO!

Without a doubt, the Tigers fans at the game, and on Beer Hill would have to be the most humble, appreciative and downright nice people I have seen at a game in years. No sh*t went down at all and I had plenty of drinkies with Tiges fans after.

Captain you and your fellows Sharks Fans are truly great sports. Shark Park is an awesome place to watch a game of footy. Everywhere you sit is close to the action and it was a terrific atmosphere even in the last 20 minutes when it was one sided because of the brand of football played. From what you hear on other forums about Shark Fans (especially Newcastle) I was pleasantly surprised yesterday.

As for your Finals chances - it aint over yet, but your team needs to build its confidence back up and the "alleged" infighting with the coach won't help your finals campaign. I thought your form slump revolved around Kimmorley's low confidence since SOO1 but he was trying his guts out there yesterday but just couldn't dominate. Its not as if the Tigers have an over dominating forward pack, just heaps of raw enthusiasm.

j_tig

cheers. just a question but, which hill is 'beer hill'? im assuming its the southern hill next to the scoreboard?

j_tig said:
cheers. just a question but, which hill is 'beer hill'? im assuming its the southern hill next to the scoreboard?

Beer hill is apparently, as you look to the Leagues club side, to the left of the stand/club, just behind bay 4-5-6...we were warned by the locals we'd be in for a torrid afternoon sitting there, dont know why though....the hot bright sun and the annoying shark mascots blocking the view would be my major gripe if I had one.:D

Top day all round, the exorbitant price of tickets well worth the display the boys put on late in the game, Thnx boys!:clap:

Booyah

I'm still gobsmacked after Benji's razzle dazzle sidestep yesterday. Geezus, I don't think I've seen anything like it.

It was spectacular.

Congrats on a very well deserved win.

Snoop Shark

Well done guys and im the same as Captain, i know who im going for come semi final time!!!!

Benji, Benny, Robbie and co!!!! What a team!!!

Captain Jack Sparrow said:

What an exciting bunch of kids the Tigers are. I hope they can keep their temperaments for the rest of the year because I see a lot of Penrith 2003 in this team. Free flowing, happy go lucky, skillful, FUN footy!

You lot should be way proud of this side. It's goin' places.

ALSO!

I watched the Tigers beat the Roosters at Telstra a few weeks back went through the draw and told everyone I thought the Tiges would finish 5th. With Canterbury dropping to Souths 4th is now there for them. They are an awesome attacking unit and Benji Marshall is a joy to watch. But it is really Scotty Prince that holds it all together for Wests. Benji might be getting the wraps but at seasons end I think Prince might have a Dally M medal around his neck.

He will go close

20 -Kennedy
19 -Thurston
15 -Prince
15 -Watmough

...as they stood when voting went hush hush.

Anyone know those below?

Big Mick

I know who I will be going for in the finals.

Its great to see this brand of football being played.

Reminds me of my team in 2003...before this horrible horrible season of ours.

Good luck in the finals guys.

Slappy

Big Mick © said:
I know who I will be going for in the finals.

Its great to see this brand of football being played.

Reminds me of my team in 2003...before this horrible horrible season of ours.

Good luck in the finals guys.

Gotta feel sorry for those Penrith fans! The Panthers management has really dropped the ball with respect to recruitment and player retention. I'm sure a lot of tigers fans were gunning hard for the panthers in 2003 ( I know I was) so it is good to hear that the the Penrith fans are getting behind our boys.

Panthers are my 2nd fav team so it would give me great pleasure to see the teams representing Sydney's west perform well in the NRL.

Best of luck in 2006!

Big Mick

Cheers mate.

Appreciate that.

A lot of our problems have stemmed from our previous management, and now we are trying to rectify the situation which I believe we've done.

We are not being held to ransom by players who are not irreplaceable so to speak and we will be better for that next season.

I don't think we'll get the spoon next year like some people have said. We have bought smart in my opinion in that they are all young guys who are craving for a shot at the NRL and will work their asses off to get there. Its those types of guys that define whether your a wooden spoon team or a contender for the 8. Hopefully Tony Puletua wont get injured as his influence on this team has been sorely missed this season.

I see the Tigers of 2005 the exact same as Penrith 2003.

We used our juniors to build a premiership team...and now your doing the same.

Next year will be an even better year for the Tigers.

It's hard for me with regards to my 2nd team. But given the fact that Fatz and Elf and a few others are at the Tig's I find it hard not to have a soft spot for ya's. So good luck in 2005.

I see a Parra v Tigers grand final in 2006 as well.

Yowie

Big Mick © said:
Cheers mate.

Appreciate that.

A lot of our problems have stemmed from our previous management, and now we are trying to rectify the situation which I believe we've done.

We are not being held to ransom by players who are not irreplaceable so to speak and we will be better for that next season.

I see the Tigers of 2005 the exact same as Penrith 2003.

We used our juniors to build a premiership team...and now your doing the same.

Next year will be an even better year for the Tigers.

I see a Parra v Tigers grand final in 2006 as well.

I dont think you can blame the clubs previous managment with our lack of success any more than you can congratulate the clubs current managment for our position on the table now.

Its the players - in particular how Marshall, Prince and Farrah along with Hodgson have really been in great touch. Confidence is contagious and guided by Sheens clever recruitment and development of our juniors as well as his wealth of coaching experience. Thats why we are a force again for the first time in over 15 years. 2005/06 YEAR OF THE TIGER