Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Interest in a new FF league for 2010 - with IDPs

froginablnder

I don't want to cause any trouble, so it's better if i just leave and you can then get a less knowledgeable owner then myself to take over my spot.

Banter is the main reason i play and I'm certain some people will hate me after a while anyway.

I have been playing these games for 5 years, so I know what i'm talking about.

Better of I just leave and go to greener pastures.

Monk

Sorry abpanther, but if someone is going to call me a wanker then why should i be in a league which i probably won't enjoy and waste my time. The draft is going to take a long time, AND I DON'T WANT TO WASTE MY TIME WITH LEAGUES WHERE THE FINAL IS IN WEEK 17.

I will just find some leagues with live drafts and the final in week 16 and where i don't get called a wanker.

Sorry for wasting your time abpanther

Thanks

good riddance to a bad smell.

kurt faulk

who didn't see this coming?

you need to have a thicker skin frogboy. a live draft was never going to happen. i tried to organise one for another league and it was impossible.

and having it in the forum is not wasting your time. you only have to log in once a day to see how it's going. that's 30 seconds a day. you don't even have to log in, you get pmed when it is your pick (this may not apply to you if you don't frequent these forums).

my personal view is that you would be an asset to this league as you seem to be a hardcore player and every league needs a few of those. and you already have a good rivalry going with monk.

and i love calling other managers names, it builds up interest in the league. when i see dodgy trades going on i love ripping the manager that is getting screwed. exchanging insults is much more fun than saying nothing, which alot of public leagues tend to suffer from. when i start a sh*tfight the other managers love it and start to get involved in the banter.

anyway, they're my thoughts.

Monk

Tommo really doesn't want me to leave, but why should i have to put up with the crap, for just making suggestions?

Making suggestions? you were practically bullying the rest of the league into conforming to what your view of a Fantasy football league was, in our leagues everyone gets the same vote, and the majority wins out, it is the way it has been for years.

And if you flutter away at being called a wanker its obvious you weren't to keen on this league anyway.

Monk

For most there was a pretty clear decision which is good, this will be the setup on the league.

The only one that required further discussion IMO is the trade deadline as there was a large disparity of votes. Please note that the FF regular season goes for 14 weeks, with that in mind the majority would like a trade deadline before the end of the regular season, can everyone please nominate which date they would prefer:

Week 11
Week 12
Week 13
Week 14 (End of Regular Season)

I vote for Week 11.

Sorry, i missed this one Ab, i vote for week 11.

froginablnder

who didn't see this coming?

you need to have a thicker skin frogboy. a live draft was never going to happen. i tried to organise one for another league and it was impossible.

and having it in the forum is not wasting your time. you only have to log in once a day to see how it's going. that's 30 seconds a day. you don't even have to log in, you get pmed when it is your pick (this may not apply to you if you don't frequent these forums).

my personal view is that you would be an asset to this league as you seem to be a hardcore player and every league needs a few of those. and you already have a good rivalry going with monk.

and i love calling other managers names, it builds up interest in the league. when i see dodgy trades going on i love ripping the manager that is getting screwed. exchanging insults is much more fun than saying nothing, which alot of public leagues tend to suffer from. when i start a sh*tfight the other managers love it and start to get involved in the banter.

anyway, they're my thoughts.

I run 3 NFL ESPN leagues and 2 have 16 teams and we managed to get 14 at the draft last season, that's outstanding FOR FREE LEAGUES.

Theres no doubt i would have added some competitiveness to the league as i make the playoffs in around 95% of NBA, NFL and MLB leagues i play in and i also go pretty well in AFL Dreamteam and Supercoach, so i know how to play fantasy sports. But when i found out the final was held in week 17 i thought i might just leave as i don't want to lose in the finals because 2 or 3 of my best players are on the bench due to them being rested, then Monk's comment just confirmed it for me.

Honestly though i would have played dozens of NFL leagues and the final has been held in week 16 in 90% of them, it's fairly common practice.

I wouldn't care about the wanker comment, if it's just a comment, but Monk meant it which was unwarranted. Monk's attitude to me since my 1st post has been less then tasteful to say the least.

kurt faulk

yeah, i usually only join leagues that have finals in week 16 but these guys prefer to have it in week 17 (due to the fact 6 teams make the playoffs) so you gotta go with the flow.

if you're going to pick players from teams like the colts you just have to make sure you have good backups. anyway, week 16 is no guarantee teams like the colts will play their starters. last season is testimony to that.

i can't force you to stay but you should just give it a go and you will find out drafts in a forum are actually pretty good.

plus you can rib monk endlessly for his less than stellar trading ability (so the story goes).

abpanther

Geez, WTF happened here.

I'll be honest, Froginablnder you do come across as a bit arrogant and pompous, you don't need to repeatedly stated your FF experience, particularly as many of the posters here have similar experience. I was initially taken aback by your heavy input early in the process, particularly as we already have a couple of similar leagues running here which everyone enjoys and the idea was that this league would mirror those setups, just with IDPs.

However after my initial reaction I thought you would be able to add to good input to the league, and some healthy competition.

I actually think your point about the week 17 final is a good one, I agree that the top teams will be majorly disadvantaged if they have elite FF players on playoff teams, I know my mentality in the past has been to just make the playoffs somehow, then anything can happen from there.

Whats the solution though? Either we change it to 4 playoff teams and make the final in week 16, or owners just have to deal with it and understand that those elite players on playoff teams may come back to bite them later in the playoffs. What does everyone else think?

Oh and Froginablnder, I'm not gonna beg you to stay mate, you gotta have thick skin in these comps and you have to understand that you may have rubbed some people the wrong way by being the new guy and trying to change lots of things about our setup. It's up to you what you wanna do, please let us know soon though.

froginablnder

I suppose i will hang around and just draft players from poor teams so when i make the final i don't have the problem of the best players having a rest.

In regards to the being arrogant and pompous comment, THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I WANT, i don't play fantasy sports to make friends, i play to ruffle the feathers and BUILD RIVALRIES.

I absolutely hate week 17 final, but i guess i will learn to deal with it, AND I CAN KICK MONK'S ASS OUT OF PHILLY LMAO.

froginablnder

I don't see what's wrong with just reducing the regular season to 13 weeks and still have the 3 playoff weeks.

I have been burned from Week 17s in the past.

froginablnder

yeah, i usually only join leagues that have finals in week 16 but these guys prefer to have it in week 17 (due to the fact 6 teams make the playoffs) so you gotta go with the flow.

if you're going to pick players from teams like the colts you just have to make sure you have good backups. anyway, week 16 is no guarantee teams like the colts will play their starters. last season is testimony to that.

i can't force you to stay but you should just give it a go and you will find out drafts in a forum are actually pretty good.

plus you can rib monk endlessly for his less than stellar trading ability (so the story goes).

What are the famous trades?

Monk

I made a number of f**king stupid trades last season, the main on being trading Aaron Rodgers (my 5th round pick) for picks in round 6 + 7. That was probably the stupidest trade i made, and i have gotten paid out for it ever since.

:lol: hilarity ensues... i missed some silliness didnt i?

:lol: your all a pack of f**king clowns anyways and tbh, living in a fantasy land yourselves if you think this comp is anything but the Oilers to lose

dude, you have drank waaaay too much red cordial or something. Just calm down. I'd prefer a week 16 final as well, but godamn you've made like 20 different posts about it.

Also, you're new to these leagues, you are more than welcome to have a voice on whats done, but you can't just come in and expect to change everything to suit you. You may think you are the prize signing of the league or whatever, but noone cares dude.

Also, what's with posting 4 times in a row, all within 10 minutes of each other. Can't you just edit your original post. It's super annoying. But I guess you're gonna beat me down with your incredible trash talking abilities and unbelievable fantasy sports pedigree.

I made a number of f**king stupid trades last season, the main on being trading Aaron Rodgers (my 5th round pick) for picks in round 6 + 7. That was probably the stupidest trade i made, and i have gotten paid out for it ever since.

easily the worst trade in FF history! :lol:

Monk

I wouldn't care about the wanker comment, if it's just a comment, but Monk meant it which was unwarranted. Monk's attitude to me since my 1st post has been less then tasteful to say the least.

Mate, i havnt been a dick to you since you first started posting, everyone has their opinions on what makes a good fantasy football league. But when you said you didnt even want to be a part of this league. I snapped and called you a wanker because that is the way you were acting.

froginablender said:
PLEASE DON'T TELL ME YOU HAVE THE FINAL IN WEEK 17 WHEN KEY PLAYERS ARE RESTED AS THE BEST TEAMS ALREADY HAVE THEIR PLAYOFF SPOTS LOCKED UP IN REAL LIFE.

froginablender said:
Sorry abpanther, but if someone is going to call me a wanker then why should i be in a league which i probably won't enjoy and waste my time. The draft is going to take a long time, AND I DON'T WANT TO WASTE MY TIME WITH LEAGUES WHERE THE FINAL IS IN WEEK 17.

You were acting like a sook, and frankly i dont care how you performed in previous leagues, this is a tough league and i hope you stay and have a good time because i know you will if you do indeed choose that.

I really do hope you stay in the league, i guarantee you will enjoy it, and hey, i look forward to when we vs eachother.

Monk

:lol: hilarity ensues... i missed some silliness didnt i?

:lol: your all a pack of f**king clowns anyways and tbh, living in a fantasy land yourselves if you think this comp is anything but the Oilers to lose

Its on like donkey kong buddy, your in for a surprise if you think that you can underrate my ability two years in a row.