Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is it okay to be a dobber?

A bloke I know is going through a difficult family situation and told me all about it the other day. Now, the details aren't really relevant to the question, but I can't help but feel it makes the case for action stronger, on moral grounds if not legal. So this is the story:

His wife has two kids from a previous marriage, a daughter and a son. He owns a house in NSW where they previously lived, in which the two kids now live, along with the daughter's boyfriend, while he and his wife live interstate after moving for a job. The daughter is heavily pregnant and due any time. She recently told her mother that she wants her to have nothing to do with the child when it is born because she reckons she was a terrible mother to her. She wants the baby to go to a montessori school when it is older and refuses to get it immunised etc, not that this is relevant but anyway. They had been letting her and the boyfriend live in the house rent free until he found a job. They also paid the electricity and phone bills and pay TV. He has yet to get a job after several months even though he could easily get one in his line of work. They also treat the brother like crap and order him about and unfortunately he is of such a timid nature he doesn't seem to stand up for himself. So after this phone call to the mother the parents have told them they have to start paying rent, change the power and phone to their name etc. Despite saying they would do these things they have not done so. The parents have now cut the phone and pay TV off, but not the power. It also turns out that when the daughter took a trip overseas to be with the boyfriend a year or two ago the mother paid for it with a credit card. I don't know whether the daughter promised to pay her back or not but now she is having to pay it off. Her husband didn't now about this until now. Now all of that is a mess but not necessarily anyone else's business, except that it appears the daughter and boyfriend are claiming rent assistance, even though they have never paid rent, and she is claiming unemployment even though she has never looked for work and clearly has no intention of doing so. Firstly it seems ridiculous that this could happen. SUrely they must have to prove something to Centrelink, especially about the rent. Also the boyfriend isn't an Australian citizen. I don't know whether he receives any welfare or not. They'll be getting the baby bonus and God knows how much more from Centrelink in the near future as it is.

Apart from the obvious advice one could give to the bloke in question in lieu of the way he and his wife have been treated, the other issue is, should these people be dobbed in? It seems to me like there is a hell of a lot of people working the system and the amount of money being spent on them must be astronomical. Has anyone here ever dobbed someone in to Centrelink or whatever? Is it fair to do so even if someone from the outside looking in doesn't know absolutely every detail and can't be sure they are in the wrong, even if superficial evidence suggests they are?

firechild

I have no problem at all with people dobbing in centrelink cheats. It is something that impacts on every one of us and it makes things harder for those with legitimate claims for welfare.

ozbash

I have no problem at all with people dobbing in centrelink cheats. It is something that impacts on every one of us and it makes things harder for those with legitimate claims for welfare.

dead right, they are bludging and taxpayers are the victims here.

you might just be doing them a huge favour letting the welfare agency know whats going on..

Packy

It isn't as easy as just dobbing them im from what I am told. You have to leave a name and they are entitled to ask who lodged the complaint.

I think (as you indicated) quite clearly there are easier solutions to fix this problem than centrelink though. You have buckleys of getting a mother cut off, no matter what they have/are doing.

Best to mind your own business. Be there for your mate if he asks for advice but don't act on your own.

most centrelink cheats get undone by people close to them..

be it bragging about money they've recieved or a broken relationship that brings them unstuck, either way most cheats get what is coming to them.

at the end of the day, we all pay taxes, and we want that money to be used for (relative) good.. dole bludgers & centrelink cheats are essentially just common thieves, and deserved to be treated as such.

link below regarding calling in the crooks to centrlink, but you can call 13 15 24 and remain anonymous.

http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/about_us/fraud_how.htm

I really don't know what to think. On one hand I think it would be better to leave it alone, but then I think it is my business, indeed it's everyone's, when they are almost certainly ripping off the system. I bet there are thousands of people claiming all kinds of benefits when they shouldn't, but the way these people have behaved makes you want to do something. They deserve it. On the Centrelink website it sayd you can dob people in by phone and remain annonymous, but I don't know if that's BS or not. It also says "if you have information" to call but I don't know if I do have information. It's not exactly evidence that someone told me they are claiming when they shouldn't. It's rumours. But on the other hand all that might be needed is to tell Centrelink you believe there is an issue and then they investigate. That's how it should work, but I could imagine people taking advantage of that to maliciously cause trouble for people too and any efforts to chase those cases up would be a waste as well. I really don't know.

you can call and advise centrelink of the details of the crooks.. these details are then passed on to an investigator within centrelink (they have a massive team of these.. you'd be surprised how widespread welfare cheating is..)

all you need to provide is the details of the people involved, and any other information (eg claiming rent assistance but not paying rent) and the investigator starts checking..

Actually I don't think I would be surprised. But thanks for the info. That is what I would have expected the process to be. I'm a little concerned that I don't really have any basis for complaint though. These f**kers deserve some consequences for just generally being merkins. But while they are morally disgraceful, they might not be doing anything illegal. Unfortunately being a merkin isn't illegal as such. To claim rent assistance you'd have to provide some sort of lease or receipts or something wouldn't you? For someone to cheat it they would have to forge these things or collude with others. It seems hard to believe they could be doing this, but it's not impossible. And I don't think you could just complain about someone getting the dole when you know full well they aren't trying to get a job. They could just say they are. It's a bit tenuous.

1 Eyed TEZZA

You're gonna feel guilty if you dob them in or not mate.

I'd be more upset that they've been bludging off their parents rather then Centrelink.

The parents seem like the type to help them more if Centrelink stop giving them money and there's a baby on the way.

If you really want to give the daughter a kick up the arse, contact DOCS and voice your concerns. They probably won't do anything from what you have posted here, but if they do decide to make some inquiries, it may do the trick and help turn the girls life around.

joshie

as somebody who has needed to get centrelink just to eat i say you dob these people in. It is disgraceful and the more who claim, the lower the rate will get and legitimate people might miss out.

Mate - I'd suggest you mind your own business.

This^^^^^^

Sounds like you love a good gossip also, so make sure you let your next door neighbor know that you are going to dob them in so your houso mates find out down the track.

Worry about your own life and stop being a busy body. :)

Jubileeboy

This^^^^^^

Sounds like you love a good gossip also, so make sure you let your next door neighbor know that you are going to dob them in so your houso mates find out down the track.

Worry about your own life and stop being a busy body. :)
Number 1 -I wouldn't listen to anything a dumb shark supporter tells ya
Number 2 - refer number 1
Number 3 - would probably refer to a lol@50uffs fan before listening to a sharks / scum
Number 4 - if these puckers are genuinely ripping off the government (you, me and everyone else), I would suggest you alert the authorities and help reduce the number of no hope parents/kids we allow into our society.
Am sick to the back teeth of people that adopt a welfare society and think it is ok to just breed and think the govt will look after them while they are planning their next tattoo or 21st !
Make a stand dude....someone has to.

Cupid Stunt

Make the call, tell the story. If there's not enough fact given, or if it is indeed untrue, it'll be sorted quick enough, ie if they ARE NOT claiming rent assist & you say they are, it'll be shown to the investigator in about 3 button clicks so no harm done.

Bottomline is it is now your problem. If your mate didn't want it to be your problem he'd have kept quiet. As it's your problem, both affecting & effecting your life, you have every right to find a solution that suits you.

bazza

Make the call, tell the story. If there's not enough fact given, or if it is indeed untrue, it'll be sorted quick enough, ie if they ARE NOT claiming rent assist & you say they are, it'll be shown to the investigator in about 3 button clicks so no harm done.

Bottomline is it is now your problem. If your mate didn't want it to be your problem he'd have kept quiet. As it's your problem, both affecting & effecting your life, you have every right to find a solution that suits you.

Yep - if they have done nothing wrong the investigation will show this.
If they have - taxpayers money can go to someone else

sensesmaybenumbed

A bloke I know is going through a difficult family situation and told me all about it the other day. Now, the details aren't really relevant to the question, but I can't help but feel it makes the case for action stronger, on moral grounds if not legal. So this is the story:

His wife has two kids from a previous marriage, a daughter and a son. He owns a house in NSW where they previously lived, in which the two kids now live, along with the daughter's boyfriend, while he and his wife live interstate after moving for a job. The daughter is heavily pregnant and due any time. She recently told her mother that she wants her to have nothing to do with the child when it is born because she reckons she was a terrible mother to her. She wants the baby to go to a montessori school when it is older and refuses to get it immunised etc, not that this is relevant but anyway.

A moron. The chance of a severe, negative reaction to immunisation is much less than the chance of contracting the disease itself and suffering the equally severe consequences.
It's a form of passive child abuse, and the ones who really get to me are those who believe it's everyone else's responsibility to get their kids immunised so they don't have to do likewise - all because they cling to a completely discredited and ridiculous study they found on the internet FFS.