Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is it possible to get worse?

JJ

Big test with the Kinights they are the worst team I can recall, but could beat us

Warriorsoul

And if any players or Kearney happen across this post, no it's not a challenge. "I'm show this a$$hole, we can be heaps crapper than this!!!"

Blair

Well obviously the seasons we made the finals doesn't count, so let's look at seasons with no finals footy.

1995, if we could count, we're in the finals in our first season.
1996, second season blues.
1997, Superleague messing with our heads?
2006, we make the finals if we weren't docked four points pre-season.
2012, we collapsed under Bluey, finished with Iro coaching.
2013, last round, we lost 19-10 to the Dragons in the 'Gong, we win and we're in the finals.
2014, last round, if we beat Penrith away we're in the finals.
2015, we're in the top four, late July, drawing 6-6 with Manly, then Johnson goes down, we had no idea how to deal with that, we collapsed.
2016, win our last two home games v Tigers and Eels and we're in the finals.

Well obviously the seasons we made the finals doesn't count so let's look at season's with no finals footy.

2013, last round, we lost 19-10 to the Dragons in the 'Gong, we win and we're in the finals.
2014, last round, if we beat Penrith away and we're in the finals.
2015, we're in the top four, late July, drawing 6-6 with Manly, then Johnson goes down, we had no idea how to deal with that, we collapsed.

We can get worse.
I'd say we are up for the spoon next year.
Knights have recruited well, they show signs of accountability, dropping their "star"halfback, dropping a player that talked about contract via media.

Thats a very sad recent history.

Penrose Warrior

Big test with the Kinights they are the worst team I can recall, but could beat us

Over there they could, absolutely. They'll be targeting us as a real opportunity.

Is it possible to get worse? Yes. It's hard to pinpoint how we'll get better for 2018. Harris a good recruit but otherwise thin on the ground, our coach can't coach, we won't be kissed on the pecker draw wise like we were this year, Shaun will now have an unproven half next to him, Ben is gone/Jake may be as well. If (heaven forbid) Simon went down long-term we'd be spoon certainties.

Some people might read these threads and say we're negative. It's realism. Australian media are saying the same thing. Next year they won't talk us up at all, and that's the first time in 10 years they haven't done that.

Blair

Over there they could, absolutely. They'll be targeting us as a real opportunity.

Is it possible to get worse? Yes. It's hard to pinpoint how we'll get better for 2018. Harris a good recruit but otherwise thin on the ground, our coach can't coach, we won't be kissed on the pecker draw wise like we were this year, Shaun will now have an unproven half next to him, Ben is gone/Jake may be as well. If (heaven forbid) Simon went down long-term we'd be spoon certainties.

Some people might read these threads and say we're negative. It's realism. Australian media are saying the same thing. Next year they won't talk us up at all, and that's the first time in 10 years they haven't done that.

Things are bad, no doubt about that. It hit me the other day, one thing I always shared with my mum and dad was our love for the Warriors. There'd never be a phone call without them being discussed. Mum would sms me after great wins and vice versa.

This season we've hardly mentioned them. I'm actually embarassed to.

Not wanting to sound melodramatic or anything but, gee, I'd have loved dad to have seen us win a premiership. He's a leaguie from way back in Greymouth. He's 77, I'm not sure he cares that much anymore, and for his sake I'm pleased about that.

SpaceMonkey

Well obviously the seasons we made the finals doesn't count, so let's look at seasons with no finals footy.

2014, last round, if we beat Penrith away we're in the finals.

You didn't mention 1998-2000 I see.... my god there was some awful shit in those years. We can be worse, we were then.

Cloudsurfer

Maybe that's a good thing.
Maybe the warriors won't be the 'worriers' and can focus on what they need to do rather than having everyone's over-hyped expectations on them.
There'd be no fodder and no opportunity for aussie crowing - it might not be couched as crowing but believe me they are taking delight in sinking the boot in every time with condescending remarks masked as 'disappointment', 'concern', 'puzzlement'! The remarks off-screen aren't so guarded. The old Oz - kiwi rivalry is ALWAYS evident - and the barely concealed smugness.
If there's none of the hype the comments like the Warriors are the graveyard for careers will be seen for what it really is? Haven't seen any of the wooden spooners over the past decade described like that - just remarks about what they need etc. Oh yeah, that's right, they're aussie teams.

Anyway, said it before & will again, I believe 2018 will be different and it may be 2019 when the real fruits of that are seen. This club needs to close their ears to aussie media undermining - support the team and coach like only kiwis can. You all appear really knowledgeable about the game - its interesting to read your points of view & you've got more right than me to criticise. The fact you keep turning up to support is the foundation of a fortress!
And don't forget it took the Sharks how long between premierships??
Not burying my head in the sand as has been suggested before, and certainly not here to troll, just not my nature to buy into hype, good or bad.

Blair

You didn't mention 1998-2000 I see.... my god there was some awful shit in those years. We can be worse, we were then.

Loyal To The Bitter End. I always wondered what the 'bitter end' was gonna look like?

During 98-00 I had drifted away and became a Storm guy, peaking in '99 of course. I have no onfield recollection, whatsoever, of the Warriors during this period.

I only vaguely recall hearing about the Tainui troubles, Lowey meddling around, my disappointment that Mark Graham tanked as a big time coach, and a mate who once said he was 'driving out to Penrith to see the Warriors' and me being relieved he knew I was working.

Warriorsoul

I'd argue that this year is worse. Back in 1998-2000 we didn't have the team on paper that we have now. Next year, we will. And I don't think our recruitment was crap, but Kearney had decided on a game plan before he arrived and, by God, that was how the team was going to play, whether their abilities were suited to it or not. So the question is, does that meagre recruiting done for 2018 this far fit with his game plan? If not then if Kearney stays, then Iro HAS to go.

Benek

Many weeks ago I said we wouldn't win a game for the rest of the season and it looks like that's going to pan out. And of course it is! Same thing has happened every year for the last 3 or 4 years. We always go on a massive losing streak after giving up when things get tough and real after Origin 3.

Can we get worse? not really. But we've been this bad for a few years already. Actually scratch that. This year we didn't even go on the Origin winning streak, so I guess we are worse.

The problem is that there's no sign of any change. How is the club going to dig itself out of this perpetual downward spiral? The first step is pride is performance.

Remember when the Storm were found out for cheating the cap and had to play an entire season without the ability to earn any competition points, and they still came out and tried their asses off and won more than they lost? They had nothing at all to play for and they put in twice the effort out f**ktards put in even when everything is on the line.

Until we have players who give a shit and coaches who know how to coach that into them, we will keep playing like softies every single year.

I don't even care if they can't do the basics right and make schoolboy errors. I just want a bunch of players that want to work hard and win more than the other team do. I want to, for once, be the overachieving team that doesn't look damaging on paper but beats you with guts and heart, instead of the perennial disappointments.

Roach easily deserves a start over Luke. Foran deserves to be nowhere near the team - he's almost invisible out there - the problem is both Lino and Ata aren't looking up for first grade. CNK has shown more ability in a few games on the wing than Ken has shown in his entire career.

We need revolutionary change at this point. I don't see how a slow and gradual "process" is going to magically turn things around.

Can we start playing moneyball? Forgot the big name signings. They don't want to come to the career graveyard anyway. Let's please sign all the hard-grafters who are flying a bit under the radar and not quite getting a shot at first grade on good squads like Melbourne. Surely there must be some? Or we have no hope for many years to come.