Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Kimmorely a chance?

Aries

King of the Hill said:
Well my mate just said it was just on the TV

But I guess I'll wait to see it in writing

Sorry if I've jumped the gun

Just had a news update here in Newy. Typical though, if it doesn't concurn Newcastle they usually don't mention it. All they said was that Joey has rejected a call-up and Buderous remains in doubt!

lockyno1

Macca said:
I love the blues but fair dinkum, how do you support a side with these two halves. Has to be the two least deserving NSW halves ever. Cheapens the jumper.

Tend to agree and for NSW I would have gone for Ben Hornby. I know I may get slammed for it but at least he has played good footy in the no7 jersey. Kimmorley has been.....um ordinary and FINCH is finch, just plain crap! Hornby would have been my preference!

So now we have finch & Anasta the halves, its sickening, both these guys have been struggling with the Roosters now find themselves in origin, they didnt play great at City v country, its a joke even with Gould & Stuart not involved somehow Roosters players get a run.

I would have prefered they picked Orford & Hill combo, at least they offer something.

Dykes must be kicking himself he got injured as was form halfback in NRL

In saying that though it will be f**kin funny if we beat them with that pairing. Can Qld possibly sink that low?

Living up here in Brisbane when news broke that Gower was injured, and call had gone out to Johns the guys doing the sports on 4bc, were virtually, giving up, a hlf fit Johns would have been good enough, they were ready to turn it up, had he played, considering they had alfie langer on 30 mins before and he said best player he had played was Johns.

Joey sonly had to turn up for us to win.

This crap of Anasta & Finch, if we win with this, QLD have reached there lowest ebb

RockyShark

Crap - I'm going over to a mate's place to watch the game... Every time I go out to watch a SOO match we (NSW) lose! Guess what's I'm in for tomorrow night! :(

If Qld don't win tomorrow night they never will...

Inferno

Lol seriously this can only be good for NSW. If we lose well, its because we had finch, if we win what the hell excuse can QLD come up with? :lol:

chili pepper

Agrre with macca & KOTH.

Worst halves ever - disgraceful.

I'm gonna cop it big time up here.

Hopefully Budsy recovers - at least we'd have some chance then.

If we get the ball to Gasnier all night he should carve up Tate (although he will probably move to the wing) as he offers at centre the same our halves offer - nothing! Crap! Imposters!

cronullashark

Lack of fitness cost Noddy
By Daniel Pace
May 24, 2006

BRETT Kimmorley missed a New South Wales call-up due to lack of match fitness, not his below-par performance in last year's Origin opener in Brisbane, his club coach, Stuart Raper, said today.

Blues selectors sounded out Andrew Johns (retired from representative football) and Matt Orford (injured) before calling Brett Finch in as halfback when Craig Gower broke down with a knee injury last night on the eve of the opening State of Origin series match.

Some thought Kimmorley's considerable experience, including 14 Tests for Australia and six Origins, would give him the edge over NSW Country halfback Finch, who made his lone Origin appearance in a losing Blues side in 2004.

But the Sharks skipper has played just one game in the past six weeks, because of an ankle injury, and Raper believed Finch's superior match fitness won him the coveted NSW playmaker role.

Selectors were also mindful that Finch plays club football alongside Blues five-eighth Braith Anasta at Sydney Roosters.

"I think they probably looked at Noddy's match fitness," Raper said today, adding that Kimmorley "didn't have an issue" with the selectors' decision.

"He had his first game back on Sunday and ... he hadn't played for six weeks.

"I'd like to think that was the major consideration why they didn't go for him.

"The physical aspects probably outweigh the experience that Noddy has.

Advertisement:
"Noddy would've been ideal for them because he would've been able to handle the pressure (coming in) so late."
Kimmorley was dropped from the Blues side after last year's opening game, in which his kicking game was not at its best and he threw the infamous pass intercepted by Matt Bowen for the try that gave Queensland a golden-point victory.

Former NSW halfback Des Hasler also doubts that one game is still counted against a player of such experience.

"Brett Kimmorley's only had one game back and Finch has been playing pretty solid football all year," Hasler said.

"Finch probably deserves his shot after performing well in the City-Country game."

Hasler said he sympathised with his Manly halfback, Orford, who could not take up an Origin debut call because of injury for a second time.

Orford also missed out due to injury in 2004.

"While it was a tough decision, it was probably made for him," Hasler said.

"It's just bad timing. I really feel for him but there's two more games. He's right in the picture and he'll get his chance when it comes up."

AAP

imasharkie

How smart were the NSW selectors. I wish Kimmorley had played.

Finch is considerred a better half than Kimmorley and I agree with the NSW selectors.

The only other half left for NSW was Joey Williams and he would've got the gig before Kimmorley.

Kimmorley = crap