Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is O Meley a big man?

But, it happens. Coaches coach who coaches want.

But they live by that sword too.

Good post gregos

However Australian coaches rarely live by the sword
We've got such dominance that it really doesnt matter who gets picked
That's why rep footy is a farce - it's rarely a reward for outstanding form, instead its a merry go round of favourites

Bring it home Knights

glen grief wasn't a big prob. I think around 178cm and about 98kg. But he had the best mobility by any prop going around and that's what made him such a good player in his later days.

aqua_duck

O'Meley isn't as dominant a forward as everyone says. Not that I'm critisising him but I mean Steve Price has done for 3 seasons what O'Meley is doing now and no one wopuld've said he 'dominated'. O'Meley's size is an advantage for him, he is fitter than most forwards because he doesn't have to lug around extra kilos. When you look at it, Shriek doesn't make as many metres per hit up as alot of other forwards but the special qyality he possess is that he keeps coming back, he's relentless. I mean you could tackle him and 2 tackles later he'll have another go.
I've seen O'Meley at the leagues club a few times and I mean he's not that big, he's lean though and his body looks like its spent many hours in the gym.

General Knight

I guess its his hard work that gets him the metres. I reckon there are two types of forwards in terms of 'metre eaters'. You've got ones that get their metres off big busting run but get tired easily and ones that work their metres bit by bit but are really fit and stay in the game longer. If i was a coach i would prefer to have both types of forwards in the team.

The selection of Ryles is legit IMO. I rate O'Meley, but as a Kiwi fan I would rather see him playing than Ryles. O'Meley got smashed time after time in the grand-final. Sure, he kept coming back for more, but he was never particularly effective. I would be very confident of the Kiwi forward pack containing him, not so Ryles.

Dog-E

A man who's played 2 games in 8 weeks...vs a man who played, and was near to best on park for the past 2 months....Hmmmm, yes - I can see why yu'd rather have the former over the latter!!!! :shock:

Um....Well, ok....no I can't!! :lol:

O'Meley has destroyed the Penrith, Canerra & NZ packs - 3 clubs from which your pack is essentially made up of - almost on his OWN every meeting this season!...The Kiwi Test tem would hold absolutley NO FEARS for Shrek!

But it doesn't really matter - You're gonna get PANTSED on Saturday either way mate!!! :D :clap:

Porkypine Head

Mark O'Meley is great for the bulldogs but he is just as s*** as lebanon when playing footy!

Once Morely puts the shoulder into him... O'Meley will be on the ground DEAD just like palestineans and the iraqis! :lol:

35-0 :lol:

Broncodroid

Porkypine Head said:
Mark O'Meley is great for the bulldogs but he is just as s*** as lebanon when playing footy!

Once Morely puts the shoulder into him... O'Meley will be on the ground DEAD just like palestineans and the iraqis! :lol:

Is the above really necessary, in particular the last sentence when we are discussing Rugby League ? :roll:

It gets better though when trying to put something together League related...

Mark O'Meley is great for the bulldogs but he is just as s*** as lebanon when playing footy!? :? What the ?

You take time to mention the 35-0 drubbing handed to the NRL premiers in Round 3, before Canterbury fans savage you, care to remind us about the R13 result and the winner of the GF ?....

wogdog

Porkypine Head said:

suicide asshole
u have absolutely no clue

40-12 :lol: :p
16-13 :lol: :p Bulldogs 2004 premiers and to do it again next year 8)

JJ

Broncodroid said:
Porkypine Head said:

Is the above really necessary, in particular the last sentence when we are discussing Rugby League ? :roll:

It gets better though when trying to put something together League related...

Mark O'Meley is great for the bulldogs but he is just as s*** as lebanon when playing footy!? :? What the ?

You take time to mention the 35-0 drubbing handed to the NRL premiers in Round 3, before Canterbury fans savage you, care to remind us about the R13 result and the winner of the GF ?....

The Roosters were 1/3 against Penrith in 2003, and Canterbury in 2004 - in both cases Roosters fans seem to think that the one win means they were the better team, and that the premiers didn't deserve their wins... go figure.

As for O'Meley - I am surprised - but then you have 4 great props (plus the likes of CLinton and Price not in the team). The stats suggest there isn't much between them... Hopefully he'll get a run against someone. I expect he'll be more effective againt the Poms - the Kiwi pack is their strength, and it's very big - O'Meley has struggled on occasions against very big packs - I'm not agreeing with the selection, but that might be Bennett's thinking

Dogaholic

He has been the best prop all year round against all opposition. He deserves to slug it out with the best!

JJ

Its a Dogs World said:
He has been the best prop all year round against all opposition. He deserves to slug it out with the best!

I'm not necessarily disagreeing - well actually I am - I think Price is the best!

Regardless, someone posted some stats a while back - and O'Meley, Price, Rauhihi, Webcke, Civo etc were all very close. It depended on how you rated tackling, metres, offloads, minutes etc as to who you would judge the best...

Dogaholic

JJ,
I'm not necessarily disagreeing - well actually I am - I think Price is the best!

Regardless, someone posted some stats a while back - and O'Meley, Price, Rauhihi, Webcke, Civo etc were all very close. It depended on how you rated tackling, metres, offloads, minutes etc as to who you would judge the best...

Ok, you think Price is the best. That would be pretty hard to argue against.

Who would you rank and no 2, 3, and 4 though?

JJ

Its a Dogs World said:
JJ,

it's tough... on this year

1. Price
2. Webcke (his stats are still awesome)
3= Rauhihi/O'Meley
5. Ryles/Clinton/Civo

At their absolute best I can't really separate Ryles, Bailey, Price and Webcke

JJ said:

1. Price
3= Rauhihi/O'Meley
5. Ryles/Clinton/Civo

Front Rowers of 2004 in order

Rauhihi
OMeley
Webcke
Price
Petero
Ryles (might have been higher, but missed too much football)

Dogaholic

JJ said:
Its a Dogs World said:
JJ,

1. Price
3= Rauhihi/O'Meley
5. Ryles/Clinton/Civo

With Price being injured and Rauhihi being a kiwi. Would seem logical that your starting front rowers be Webcke/O'Meley. Don't you think?

On this year though i would see it more like this....

1. Price/O'Meley - too hard to seperate these two.
3= Rauhihi - very close to being included in the number 1 spot as well
4. Webcke
5. Civo
6. Ryles/Clinton

Its a Dogs World said:
With Price being injured and Rauhihi being a kiwi. Would seem logical that your starting front rowers be Webcke/O'Meley. Don't you think?

On this year though i would see it more like this....

1. Price/O'Meley - too hard to seperate these two.
3= Rauhihi - very close to being included in the number 1 spot as well
4. Webcke
5. Civo
6. Ryles/Clinton

dont let your bias get in front of the facts.
Paul Rauhihi has been the standout prop in 2004.

Dog-E

ghe may have taken the Dally M gong - but that's not an entirely accurate guide, Dally M points being an EXCEEDINGLY subjective thing, depending on who's judging! HOW MANY times have u seen the Dally M breakdown & thought 'Were you even watching the same game as me???" Heaps!

ThaAnd the stats say Price/O'Meley are #1 & 2 respectively...hard to argue with those stats!...Though i would agree that Rauhihi deserves equal billing with them!...But to say he is THE standout prop...I think is not correct!...There'd be a bee's knob between all 3 of em! ;-)