Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Is Ricky Stuart the most overrated coach ever?

Wizardman

Whoever is in charge of recruitment in that club deserves a massive wrap. They have struck gold a few times lately. Their NSW Cup team have a few gold nuggets as well.

BadnMean

Do they play this at games or is it just a promotional song for clinics and the like? Very Hi-5ish.

Rhyming green with green is beautiful though *Chefs kiss*

At all the games. It's the most rockin club anthem of all. My old man used to own it on vinyl before the Canberra bushfires burnt his house down.

BadnMean

Whoever is in charge of recruitment in that club deserves a massive wrap. They have struck gold a few times lately. Their NSW Cup team have a few gold nuggets as well.

Current recruitment is Joel Carbone and yes, club has done amazingly well the last few years with recruitment and retention decisions. The late Peter Mulholland was the real guru and still deserves a lot of credit- guys like the pommy Nicholson have been on the Raidar (see what I did there) since he was 15 years old through Mulholland's scouting.

It's been a real thorough plan but it's all clicking much earlier than anyone expected. The playing group is probably a season or two too young across the backline to win anything right now but will be a force for some time to come.

What are you talking about? He'll be coaching Canberra until he shuffles off this mortal coil. Then the powers that be at Canberra will simply weekend at Bernie's him because what else are they gonna do? Let someone else coach them?

They'll freeze his corpse in a sitting position and plonk him on the sideline.

In winter he won't even thaw

King-Gutho94

I reckon Madge Maguire is slowly becoming the most overrated coach in the game.

Won 53 club games from his last 144 games

Hasn't won a final since 2014 GF
Hasn't coached a final since 2015.

You look at the Broncos they have a 5-star roster have had a dream draw left Brisbane twice in the last 2 months and sit at 5-5 after 10 rounds.

His intensity seems suited to Rep football in short and sharp stints.

Saxon

I reckon Madge Maguire is slowly becoming the most overrated coach in the game.

Won 53 club games from his last 144 games

Hasn't won a final since 2014 GF
Hasn't coached a final since 2015.

You look at the Broncos they have a 5-star roster have had a dream draw left Brisbane twice in the last 2 months and sit at 5-5 after 10 rounds.

His intensity seems suited to Rep football in short and sharp stints.
Madge has obviously modelled his career on Tim Sheens.

Munky

Ricky Stuart - "you think I care" in reference to salmon..

Err mate you held a grudge against a kid for 10 years

He only did the original reference in 2022 to deflect that his full strength side just lost to a team with SOS and Fido in the halves effectively eliminating them from the finals.

The Raiders then fluked their way to the finals and eliminated the Storm.

Disappointed the Dogs players didn't go up to Ricky and bark this arvo.