Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jamal Idris attitude to Origin why NSW loose

Mark Rudd

If I was the NSW coach, current or next in line, fair dinkum, after watching the footy show last night I'd pencil a line through his name....for good.

Is this the attitude of all NSW players? Origin was good cause he got a free trip out of it?

Bloody hell. Why is it I get the feeling that playing Origin for NSW players means they can brag they've played a rep game and now they can get more money from their club because they 'play' origin?

Is it just an ego thing?

5 nothing. Keep breeding players like Idris, thats gunna grow.

Idris needs a major attitude change ASAP....sure he is young and impressionable, but he should be shattered that he lost game one and didnt get picked for game 2...instead he sees it as getting a free trip to origin 2.

Joker's Wild

sh*ts gonna get worse before it gets better for NSW I think

When the fans show more desire to win than the players, how do you turn it all around?

Im not ashamed to be a NSWelshman but disappointment is not strong enough a word to describe how I feel.

*Edit: Yes it was a joke and my comment above is not directed at Jamal individually but at the NSW machine as a whole

Bulldog Force

If I was the NSW coach, current or next in line, fair dinkum, after watching the footy show last night I'd pencil a line through his name....for good.

Is this the attitude of all NSW players? Origin was good cause he got a free trip out of it?

Bloody hell. Why is it I get the feeling that playing Origin for NSW players means they can brag they've played a rep game and now they can get more money from their club because they 'play' origin?

Is it just an ego thing?

5 nothing. Keep breeding players like Idris, thats gunna grow.
FFS it was a joke you genius!

Pierced Soul

his attitude is definately...different...

good or bad i'm not sure as every player responds differently.

i know after game 1 he got asked whether he was nervous in camp and he said he wasnt, was pretty relaxed and "they didnt know how to handle me"

Jobdog

:lol: Yeah, what Jamal said should be taken seriously. Give yourself an uppercut. Deadset.

Charlie124

It certainly wasnt a good look, was it?

He gets dropped for game two and it doesnt seem to bother him at all because he got a free trip out of it....really? For those people saying that it was just a joke, that may be so but does joking about it make it any better? for me it makes it look (even more) like he doesnt give a sh*t.

One thing i really realised while watching him on the Footy Show last night was that he is still very much a child, which isnt a bad thing really. I mean he's only 19 so you can forgive him for that but to me it just reinforced my opinion that he is not mentally ready to play origin footy.

He's a side-show.

Paullyboy

It's very clear that he thinks he's being cool by playing the "I don't care card". He tried a similar thing by saying "Oh I don't know who'll win, I don't watch footy". Of course he would have an opinion, at the very least he's played against them. I know when I was in under 14's I had a very good idea of who was going to win when our opponents played each other, because I'd played them myself.

It's very clear he is an absolute wanker.

His definately trying to be cool and is just comming across as a douchebag.

That being said I am sure he cares more then he lets on, and the free trip quip was just a poor joke for mine.

dimitri

jamal - is simply doing what makes him play best - and that is being relaxed.

there is no way that would be his thought when in the dressing room

jeez

Doga

I sorta agree with this thread.

Jamal seems to be a little too laid back for my liking. Where is the desire? The fire?

Another stupid comment from last night "I don't watch footy" when asked which team will win.

Packy

He wouldn't be alone in not watching footy. It'd be a minority that are total league tragics like most of us here that's for sure. :p

Dazzat

Firstly ... the guy is on national television with very little experience in media. He probably thinks he can joke around on TV like he does with his mates ... but will soon learn that fans are quick to judge someone based on three words ...

Second, I actually like his attitude. Taking oneself too seriously is a fast track to emotional and physical burnout ... just because one is laid back on a national television show doesn't mean one is laid back on the playing field.

Take Civ for example ... a nicer bloke you couldn't meet, but turns into the aggressive yardage eater on the paddock.

ANTiLAG

Firstly ... the guy is on national television with very little experience in media. He probably thinks he can joke around on TV like he does with his mates ... but will soon learn that fans are quick to judge someone based on three words ...

Second, I actually like his attitude. Taking oneself too seriously is a fast track to emotional and physical burnout ... just because one is laid back on a national television show doesn't mean one is laid back on the playing field.

Take Civ for example ... a nicer bloke you couldn't meet, but turns into the aggressive yardage eater on the paddock.

Spot on!