We would have easily got him for 500k if we signed him in Nov-Jan. We waited until Wests were wanting a replacement for Woods and by then it was all over red rover.
You don't know that. Maybe Packer waited until the market for props opened up.
We would have easily got him for 500k if we signed him in Nov-Jan. We waited until Wests were wanting a replacement for Woods and by then it was all over red rover.
Why? We got Graham for about 400k and now have about 900k left in the kitty. What we would have had is a complete first grade prop rotation. Vaughan, Graham, Packer and Ah Mau. Our young props Laurie and Kerr would be in the reserve grade run-on side and ready as backup for first grade; for me the ideal structure for our prop rotation.Would have missed Graham in that case I reckon.
Happy enough with the end result.
CC
Why? We got Graham for about 400k and now have about 900k left in the kitty. What we would have had is a complete first grade prop rotation. Vaughan, Graham, Packer and Ah Mau. Our young props Laurie and Kerr would be in the reserve grade run-on side and ready as backup for first grade; for me the ideal structure for our prop rotation.
Yes 2 centres and 2 wingers needed Young guns may apply . unfortunately the coach is looking for backs with 50 years experience so good luck boysPacker is a very minor loss when you take into account we have a signed a better replacement and another club is paying a large chunk of his salary this year. And if we have money to spend it needs to be spent on an outside back. That’s where the squad is obviously weakest.
Packer is a very minor loss when you take into account we have a signed a better replacement and another club is paying a large chunk of his salary this year. And if we have money to spend it needs to be spent on an outside back. That’s where the squad is obviously weakest.
Second half of season packer did not much.Packer's impact for us early last year was huge, enormous, we thrived off his big metres, quick play the balls and stout defence and later when his form dropped the impact of that affected the whole team and the rest of our season. He's a big loss for us and I was appalled that we let him go.
Graham might have his value as an inspirational team mate but he simply won't have the physical impact of Packer. I even think his time as starting prop might not last more than a month or two.
Yep, and look at what happened to the forward pack in the second half of the year. We will miss him.Second half of season packer did not much.
Graham has 5x the footy brain.
It is clear now that we had the cap space for both Packer and Graham.Packer's impact for us early last year was huge, enormous, we thrived off his big metres, quick play the balls and stout defence and later when his form dropped the impact of that affected the whole team and the rest of our season. He's a big loss for us and I was appalled that we let him go.
Graham might have his value as an inspirational team mate but he simply won't have the physical impact of Packer. I even think his time as starting prop might not last more than a month or two.
Hasn't that cap space become available now because we let Joel Thompson go?It is clear now that we had the cap space for both Packer and Graham.
Hasn't that cap space become available now because we let Joel Thompson go?