Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jamie Lyon meeting

I think this seems like a reasonable outcome. I don't want to speculate on whether Jamie will return to the club, but I can't really thinki of anything negative from what i've read so far. Fitzgerald and the board made the right decision in my opinion, they have to stand strong in this situation.

Sea_Eagles_Rock said:
Hurriflatch said:
Lyon would be paid on the basis that he plays (baring injury of course) so if Lyon doesn't maintain his part of the contract then why should the Eels be forced to hand over $$$ it will come down to how the contract is written and the clauses within.

Will be very interesting to see what happens if Lyon doesn't come back.

Your all miss the point. Yes he won't be paid if he doesn't play, but you have to keep the money available in case he changes his mind. If he became available again to play, then you need the room under the cap to pay him.

He has a contract for his services. If Parramatta won't agree to release him, then they will be obliged to honour the contract if he does decide to play. You can't spend the money twice under the cap. So at June 30 you won't have his money to spend on buying a suitable replacement and he may never return.

I think it is more complicated then that. Fitzgerald is obviously waiting for Jamie to either make a decision about his future, whether he is going to return to Parramatta or whether he shall retire. I presume a further decision will be made about his contract later on. He won't be getting payed though if he doesn't play.

Parramatta made a significant financials investment in the Lyon/Vaealiki centre pairing. To this point Parramatta have fullfilled all their requirements in regards to their obligations with the contract. Parra also assumed Lyon would also. That is why HE CANNOT AND SHOULD NEVER get a release. The Eels let Tonga and Mogg because they assumed Lyon would stay and fullfill his side of the contract. It is easy for everyone to say, Let him go and its a free country and all that crap. However when his decision impacts directly on the club and makes the release of players such as Tonga seem something that may of been avoided had Lyon given the EEls some couertosy then I understand why the longest serving CEO is playing hardball with poor old Jamie. You see Jamie a contract is a promise, FULLFILL it !!!

Chipmunk

If he doesnt want to play Parramatta have very little to gain by not at least coming to some agreement. Even if he doesnt earn one cent cause he doesnt come to training and cant get picked in the team, I am sure that if he does this for the next 3 seasons then the only thing that Parramatta will get is a $3million Salary Cap instead of $3.25 million

It shall be interesting to see the outcome in a couple of weeks. I hope he changes his mind and comes back to the NRL, which be handy out there on the right side.

And another thing Jamie, if you decide not to come back because you simply have a big city headache, then you should suffer for a year and not be able to take the piss in Wee Waa and play footy with your mates.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

I'm certainly not saying your club is doing the wrong thing. But Jamie could mess your club around more than they can mess him around.

If he did get a run for another team this year then he has certainly done the runner like Chris Walker did.

Personally I think the players hold too much power in these situations. But obviously Parra wouldn't want to have him attached for 3 years and not playing.

parra pete

Get a real job... Grow up, and then come back. Bloody Prima Donna.
What is the value of a contract when people can just walk out on them. If he doesn't come back, the Club should sue him for breach of contract... just the same as he would do to the Club if they didn't fulfil its part of the agreement.
He's a VERY good player. Wonder how Jack Gibson would have handled it??
This generation of footballers are the most overpaid, over rated, softest, mollycoddled bunch of sooks EVER...They believe their own press.
Managers get in their ear, pump them up etc...Bet his team mates are pleased with the way he has let them down. Fair dinkum. If the bloke had to work for a living, see how he'd handle disappointments in life...

booligal bill

Well said Parra Pete. Why should he be released? Grow up Jamie Lyon. I'm sick of all this whinging and sooking that the so called "stars" go on with.

Good on Fitzy for having some clout and refusing a release.

Freak

At least now there sounds like there is going to be a decision 1 way or the other by the end of next week.

I hope he comes back but I am not holding my breathe, and if he does come back I would suggest that he earns his spot back in first grade with some good performances in Prems.

thedux

I noticed Sterlo got into the act on the radio last night by lambasting the decision not to give him a release to play in Wee Waa. His words were to the tune of "the kid should be allowed to do what he wants." Sorry Sterlo but you are way off as is anyone who wants to go the same line. I don't want to pay my mortgage but that little paper agreement I have with them says otherwise. Dean Ritchie made a good analogy when he said we lost Willie Tonga because he thought he would be forever behind Lyon. Jamie, you have done the wrong thing!!!!

Eelectrica

I thought the club might have allowed him to play for Wee Waa, but realistically this is the only stance the club can take. To do anything else literally leaves the door open for players to come and go as they please and may as well not even have contracts.

I don't know if Jamie and his manager can re-negotiate the contract so that it conditionally expires at the end of the year. Do whatever the saints did with the Blacklock situation.

I hope Lyon decides to come back and at least finish off the year. This will at least allow the club to prepare for life without Lyon and look for another long term solution to replace him without totally losing out this year.

Looking at how some of last years top 8 teams a fearing we have a good chance of returning to the finals and wouldn't that be worth returning for?

fish eel

I thought Ritchie's comment was spot on.

I think the club have handled this exceptionally from the begining.

Letting the kid go to head his head together was the right thing to do, as is not releasing him.

Not knowing Jamie personally, I know better than to say that this hard approach now might be just what he needs, but I think it may be. Afterall, I have read comments from his manager over the past couple of weeks stating killer doesn't realise how serious the current situation is.

Perhaps in taking the hard line now, Jamie will realise that contracts must be honoured, and he has responsibilities to other people.

PB

Sea_Eagles_Rock said:
Hurriflatch said:
Lyon would be paid on the basis that he plays (baring injury of course) so if Lyon doesn't maintain his part of the contract then why should the Eels be forced to hand over $$$ it will come down to how the contract is written and the clauses within.

Your all miss the point. Yes he won't be paid if he doesn't play, but you have to keep the money available in case he changes his mind. If he became available again to play, then you need the room under the cap to pay him.

He has a contract for his services. If Parramatta won't agree to release him, then they will be obliged to honour the contract if he does decide to play. You can't spend the money twice under the cap. So at June 30 you won't have his money to spend on buying a suitable replacement and he may never return.

No what would hapen is we would agree to release him from his responsibilite with the Eels under the condition that he signs a document saying he will not play rugby league for any club until a set date.

keep money under the cap...... keep'em coming.....

Sea_Eagles_Rock

PB said:
Sea_Eagles_Rock said:
Hurriflatch said:

No what would hapen is we would agree to release him from his responsibilite with the Eels under the condition that he signs a document saying he will not play rugby league for any club until a set date.

And please tell me why he would want to do that... You can't hold a gun to his head to make him play or sign. Do believe his Player Manager would even consider him signing that? Not unless he gets paid to do it! That will cost $.

If like he says he doesn't want to play NRL football a release to the Wee Waa Panthers won't make one iota of difference. The club are trying to force his hand and confirm exactly what his intentions are. If he says that he doesn't want to p-lay NRL anymore his release will be under the condition that he doesn't turn up at another club before the 30 June. Unlike the Walker release the details will also include that until the 2007 season he cannot play in the NRL. If he is going to play for Wee Waa like he says than it won't be a problem what he signs.

Sea_Eagles_Rock said:
PB said:
Sea_Eagles_Rock said:
Hurriflatch said:

And please tell me why he would want to do that... You can't hold a gun to his head to make him play or sign. Do believe his Player Manager would even consider him signing that? Not unless he gets paid to do it! That will cost $.

Actually they pretty much can. If Jamie wants a release then it will be under the club's provisions. His contract may still stand but he wouldn't be receiving payments because he is in breach of it. The club have already suspended his payments and will continue to do so until he returns.