Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jamie Lyon

~knights~

He's left the parramatta club,claims he was sick of footy,city life and also personal issues relating to his partner ellie.

He isn't the 1st player this season who has walked out over troubles.

But after reading reports this morning ,I doubt if this player will rreturn at all.

oh well hope you are happy jamie :)
certainly throwing alot of money away :shock: ,

but in the end .....your heart has to be in it

antonius

Bit of surprise to read the story. Parra really are in a deal of trouble, things just seem to be going from bad to worse for them, which is a pity I've always had a soft spot for them. I know it prob has nothing to do with the Lyon thing, but I reckon they need a good clean out down their way, Smith's rule has run it's course, it's been backwards for him and Parra ever since the 2001 Grand Final, he's starting to look like Parras version of Chris Anderson. Anyone know the situation with Hindemarsh, I heard he'd broken his hand in the game on Sunday? That will just compound their present dilema.

~knights~

He's been cleared of a broken hand.

He has bad bruising but should be fit for next weeks clash with brisbane

Hindy just bruised his hand and will be right to play Brisbane.

We are hoping that Jamie gets his head around the things that are causing him all the problems at the moment and that he gets back in a few weeks.

Kaz

junior
Just what I didn't want to hear about Lyon.

He could have waited until after playing my team.

I hope this doesn't spur Parra to play well. :lol:

After last Saturday Kaz, I think Brian Smith's career hinges on the next game so for Parra's sake I hope they do play well.

~knights~

Colonel Eel said:
We are hoping that Jamie gets his head around the things that are causing him all the problems at the moment and that he gets back in a few weeks.
Just don't let anyone talk footy with him,lol.

"We are trying desperately to get him to change his mind but so far we're having no luck."

Gainey has tried to organise counselling for the reluctant star and asked Cleal to talk to him.

Cleal, who left Parramatta at the end of last season as the club's recruitment and development officer to join Manly, said he had first spoken to Lyon about retirement 12 months ago.

"Jamie or 'Killer' as we call him is a very strong-willed boy," Cleal said. "It appears he has lost his taste for the game and for a player of his talent that's very sad.

"This time he just said he was over footy and was sick of the city. He just wants to get some fresh air into his lungs in the bush and it doesn't look as though anything will change his mind.

"My eldest son Gareth is Jamie's best mate. "Gareth has spoken to him too and he reckons the more people try to talk him out of quitting footy the more he will just dig his heels in."

He sounds pretty stubborn.

Jedda

Perhaps we could sign him for next year once he rediscovers a passion for footy again.

Surely life in Newy would be a vast improvement on living in Sydney and there is always Abes and Quiqley to go do a spot of hunting with. ;-)

Jokes aside though, it was a shock to read about Jamie this morning and as a footy fan I hope he seriously reconsiders.

The_Ben

It's just the pressures of modern day footy. Media commitments, pressure to perform both from the coach and the supporters, never too far away from the spotlight.

For a country kid, that's a big ask. I can understand why some of them can't handle footy. It's a sign of burnout among some of our top players.

Seeing as he is contracted until 2006 I doubt any NRL club will see him for a few years if he does want to go to another club. ;-)

He is a rare talent - 18 year olds don't make a start to their careers like he did every day. Hopefully he'll be back but good luck if his heart isn't in it.

astrogirl

The_Ben said:
It's just the pressures of modern day footy. Media commitments, pressure to perform both from the coach and the supporters, never too far away from the spotlight.

For a country kid, that's a big ask. I can understand why some of them can't handle footy. It's a sign of burnout among some of our top players.
What a sad thing to happen to a player so young - he's only 22 isn't he?

Matt23

And hopefully he does'nt suddenly rediscover his passion for the game again after a visit to Bondi junction... :?

Andy

It's reported in the Telegraph that he said he's "over football".

If you ask me, I reckon he's just over losing. :lol:

Kaz

junior
In the Courier Mail, it is reported

It is believed State of Origin centre Lyon has been comtemplating retirement for the past 12 months and it is understood his decision to turn his back on a lucrative career was brought forward by a person tragedy he and partner went through recently.

It looks like he is at his parents place at Ballina

Andy

My tip - he's trying to do a Walker.

Roosters to make him an offer before the end of the month. :lol:

mrford61

Its the Knights fault.

Since the 2001 grand final the shell shocked club has just gradually and incrementally slid into an abyss.

Smith takes life too seriously.

Come join the Knights Jamie and all will be well again. :D

Doctor

Take 2 (the abridged version):

As I said, before cyberspace swallowed my response; I popped over to the Parra forums this morning and recorded my disappointment.

I don't know too many 22 year old first-graders, who have played for Australia, that retire at that age without the hint of a career-long injury. He seems fit enough, even if he does get the occassional injury.

It seems he is just sick of being in the city, or else doesn't like playing football anymore. It all seems a bit strange, but one thing is for certain: he is a loss to the game.

What an eventful week: Ongoing Bulldogs issues, then they record a big win, then the Panthers lose, the Roosters look sloppy but still win, Manly win, Terry Hill retires, Craig Wing injured for an extended period, and Lyon retires.....what next? It's only Tuesday.

Andy

Oswin said:
Take 2 (the abridged version):

As I said, before cyberspace swallowed my response; I popped over to the Parra forums this morning and recorded my disappointment.

I don't know too many 22 year old first-graders, who have played for Australia, that retire at that age without the hint of a career-long injury. He seems fit enough, even if he does get the occassional injury.

It seems he is just sick of being in the city, or else doesn't like playing football anymore. It all seems a bit strange, but one thing is for certain: he is a loss to the game.

What an eventful week: Ongoing Bulldogs issues, then they record a big win, then the Panthers lose, the Roosters look sloppy but still win, Manly win, Terry Hill retires, Craig Wing injured for an extended period, and Lyon retires.....what next? It's only Tuesday.

What's next???

the Bunnies beat the Tigers this weekend!! :lol:

Kaz

junior
Oswin said:

Monty Betham to be in pain after his operation on his broken arm. :D

No I don't have any sympathy for him.

astrogirl

Oswin said:
Sure, Lyon has fans who would be disappointed if he were to give up RL but the thing I can't overlook is the fact that he is a person and he has to do what's right for him - the fans don't own him. If he can't play with passion and commitment then IMO pursuing something else is not a bad option, even in spite of the fact that he would not be honouring his agreement with the Eels.