Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jets beat Raiders 34-24

twistedbydesign

G'day guys, I cruised down to Henson to have a bit of gander. Pretty entertaining game but in the end the scoreline was a pretty fair reflection of the game and Newtown deserved the win.

Few observations (I missed the first twenty minutes or so)...

I didnt see Frawley at all so it may well be that he'll play in firsts tomorrow.

Chalk looked as flat as a tack in the frst half, however was back to his very best in a stellar second half display that included two tries and a couple of line breaks.

Ale was ordinary - rarely touched the ball and was pretty poor in defence. Junior Sau, however, looks like an absolute beast, only came on late in the match but made some damaging runs. Bronx Goodwin had a reasonable game as well I thought, scored a great try off a Herbert bomb.

Hodgo looked like a man with a point to prove. He was always one of the first back to take the ball forward and took more than one hit up in a set on several occasions. Tilse is HUGE, however certainly looked short of a run and it will be a while before his fit enough for first grade I would assume. Thurling didn't catch my eye for most of the game but had a solid last 10 or 15 mins.

Zillman had a similar game to last week in some ways. A couple of his touches were just amazing, his certainly gonna be a crowd pleaser for years to come. However his defence was found wanting on a couple of occasions and I would like to see him get more involved.

Over all I didnt think it was such a bad performance. The Raiders certainly had their opportunities, however were a bit too keen to run sideways and at times looked a little bit disorganized. The Jets on the other hand had some handy players running hard on the fringes and caused our boys a few headaches in defence.

Cheers guys, lets hope for a better result tommorrow.

Stuart

Good to see Sau got a game. He definately deserved one after his performance last week which was excellent. Good to hear he backed it up.

Kris_man

Seems a few of us were at the game. Did you see the ONLY guy in the crowd wearing a Raiders jersey? That was moi.

I'll ask the same thing I asked on the GH: was that Learoyd Lahrs in jersey 18?

twistedbydesign

haha nah mate i didn't spot ya there unfortunately.

I'm not too sure about #18, there were quite a few of our boys that I didnt know.

Mal Meninga

Yeah from the little i've seen of Zilly, it's a concern reguarding his defensive capabilitys. He's not a big man and teams will target him pretty hard.

aussies1st

Hopefully Zilly fixes his defence.
We now know why Ale is on the bench in PL. Hopefully Eliott too knotice of Chalk's 2nd half.

Kris_man

This talk of Zillman being bad in defence is ridiculous. Even IF he was a bit suspect in that area, who gives a sh*t?? He's a gamebreaker - you make concessions for gamebreakers.

Edwahu

Yeah, especially since we have such great defensive players in the top grade already.

canberra_raiders2k2

sounds like macca.

graham started out pretty bad in defence but now plays alright, as long as he isnt getting run over every run its ok imo.

besides how many halfbacks are there in this league that are great defenders?

thickos

Fact is the first grade side is bleeding and changes have to be made. Despite how poor or non-existent he looked in PL Frawley has to come in on ability alone.

Tilse 2 more weeks for fitness; and the way we're going we need Zillman IMO to spark things up a bit.

Edwahu

The whole team looks unfit anyway. They may as well bring back Tilse and Frawley now.

ed bbay

who were the blokes in the army that where on the fox coverage the camers was on u blokes a couple of times during the game .
1 was a big bloke clapping his hands & waving them a bit after the first try i think .

2 True Blues

Edwahu said:
Yeah, especially since we have such great defensive players in the top grade already.

Not trying to be a smart arse at all, but with a scoreline Roosters 56 Raiders 20 there has got to be an improvement in defence.

Jets are presently suffering from the need for improvement in defence also. Having conceded 94 points in only three matches. Mind you Jets have the second best attck so far from three games scoring 108 points.

Parra are first with 116 but have only conceded 34 points. There are only two other sides in Prem/league that have conceded more so far than the Jets. These are Wests and Bulldogs, who are the only two teams still on ZERO.

However with Canberra also suffering from the same defensive problems in reserve grade I don't know where you guys will get them from. As Canberra have scored 72 points for and conceded 90 in defence so far. To place them in 4th spot out of the 13 teams in the comp in the worse defence dept......

However it is only early, but Jets and Canberra will both have to make improvements in their defence in order to compete against teams the likes of Parra in the Prem/league comp.

canberra_raiders2k2

2 True Blues said:

Not trying to be a smart arse at all, but with a scoreline Roosters 56 Raiders 20 there has got to be an improvement in defence.

Jets are presently suffering from the need for improvement in defence also. Having conceded 94 points in only three matches. Mind you Jets have the second best attck so far from three games scoring 108 points.

Parra are first with 116 but have only conceded 34 points. There are only two other sides in Prem/league that have conceded more so far than the Jets. These are Wests and Bulldogs, who are the only two teams still on ZERO.

However with Canberra also suffering from the same defensive problems in reserve grade I don't know where you guys will get them from. As Canberra have scored 72 points for and conceded 90 in defence so far. To place them in 4th spot out of the 13 teams in the comp in the worse defence dept......

However it is only early, but Jets and Canberra will both have to make improvements in their defence in order to compete against teams the likes of Parra in the Prem/league comp.

i think he was being sarcastic ;-)

2 True Blues

Fair enough. In hindsight he would have wanted to have been I suppose.

Good luck with next week and the season anyway Guys.....All the best !!!

I am hoping Jets can work on their defence but with such a strong line-up reckon we are aiming for a top 4 finish come finals time. I know it's really early, but their is certainly some talent and depth in the club this season.

Anyway, hope you guys come back strong next weekend.........