Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jim Beam Cup Forum

mono_mal

gday guys,
just asking could you please post Jim Beam Cup topics in the JBC forum to free space in this forum for discussion on other competitions such as Premier League and the junior rep scene.
it is planned to move all current threads into the JBC forum asap.
thanks

Jeffles

I'm surprised JBC always get preferential treatment to Premier League in the media. They've got their own forum now on this website. They gert way more coverage in Rugby League Review than Premier League and they get equal coverage to Premier League in Big League despite it being a comp of lower standard. The NSWRL doesn't seem to flog Premier League.

It isn't sour grapes. I follow Newtown who have entries in both comps. I was just curious as to why there is mrore excitement about "3rd grade" then there is about "2nd grade" (for all intents and purposes). Sure the JBC clubs are different to most Premier LEague and NRL clubs, giving the comp some novelty value, but surely the pull of the NRL Sydney clubs and some welcome additions with Premiership history (Bears, Tigers, JETS and Magpies) and the higher standard of play would warrant increased coverage of Premier League. Look at the VFL, SANFL, Qld Cup etc.

Is the NSWRL not doing enough to promote its flagship competition? I could spread this argument to all grades. We used to get full results and Premiership tables of all 3 grades in the newspaper. Now we're lucky to have all the weekend results in lower grades appearing. It would never happen in Victoria. Pick up a Monday Herald-Sun during winter. Heck, even Club Rugby Union gets all its 5 grades results in a Monday paper.

That's NOT media bias. Any elite sporting comp can get its results published by making the phone call and telling the associated press the details. Is the NSWRL too lazy to pick up a phone? I'm sure more people would want to know about JBC and Premier League standings than hear about Boston United v Bristol Rvers in English 3rd Division Soccer. Yet the soccer always makes it. RL can too. What's going on down at Phillip St.

Any thoughts?

mono_mal

jeffles,
the reason the jim beam cup forum was setup on this site was because it was warranted due to the amount of relevant discussion within this forum.
this opposed to premier league which has a limited amount of fans.
only the most passionate from the nrl clubs support their 'reserve grade' side and apart from newtown the other clubs supporter bases are also limited and only on par with many Jim Beam Cup clubs.
the Jim Beam Cup is simply a more supportable competition.
with the exclusion of the Jets and the Cougars this year it is all the clubs first grade sides. teams who thier fans will support first before any other team.
thats why i support replacing the Premier League with the Jim Beam Cup with clubs forming alliances with the JB clubs. Much the same as the English competitions.
Norths, Newtown, Balmain and Wests could still remain.
I know its not going to happen but i support the idea.

Jeffles

jeffles,
the reason the jim beam cup forum was setup on this site was because it was warranted due to the amount of relevant discussion within this forum.
this opposed to premier league which has a limited amount of fans

I think I know the real reason. I've browsed around various club forums and have found that Premier League is discussd a lot in other forums (Wests Tigers, Newtown, NSWRL, other NRL clubs). I think it is as discussed or more discussed than JBC.

My guess is that JBC got its own forum because it doesn't have enough individual club fans to start say a Hawks forum, a Wolves one, etc. Premier League fans have an outlet already in the NSWRL or their club forums. Since JBC is lacking in club fans it makes more sense to lump them all in one forum.

the Jim Beam Cup is simply a more supportable competition.

But there isn't the appeal of the big names in JBC that you have in Premer League. Saints, Souths, Newcastle, Bulldogs, Eels, etc. You also have big name players playing in Premier League periodically. I think Premier League is more supportable but gets a bad wrap.

mono_mal

whilst premier league may be discussed in the other forums jeffles this is only discussion about their club.
fans couldnt care about the competition, they only care about the players who may go on to represent the team in first grade.
jim beam cup though is disussed more as a competition rather than individual clubs.
i know why the jim beam cup forum was set up jeffles and thats because it was warranted due to the amount of posts currently in the nswrl forum. i know this because i suggested the forum to the admin who supported my idea.
whats the point of setting up a premier league forum if fans are to come on the forum and only talk of their club? its much better kept to their own forums.
you also say premier league has the saints, souths etc... but you fail to mention its their second grade sides.
thats what degrades the competition. that is that is primarily a reserve grade comp.

brook

It is Saturday morning and the JBC forum hasn't had a post since tuesday morning.

imo all we have done is taken one moderately used forum and turned it into two dead forums that can hardly justify themselves.

Mono there may not be much interest in the PL but neither do most league fans have a great interest in the jim beam cup

we would have been much better keeping all the nswrl competitions under the one banner because in the end its mostly the same people that follow both comps.

mono_mal

we havent had any posts in the jim beam forum as the threads on the jim beam cup currently within the nswrl forum havent been moved.
the jim beam cup forum was warranted so why shouldnt it be there?
if we stuck by what you were saying newtown should not have been granted their own forum either as they are part of the nswrl competitions.
the thing is come jim beam season there is weekly discussion on the jim beam cup which normally gets lost and interrupted with other discussion when in this forum.
having its own forum will also encourage more users to visit the forum and enter discussions.
discussion within the nswrl forum primarily comes from jim beam cup fans and this was also the case on the rleague nswrl forum.
now it will give the fans of 'lower grades' somewhere to discuss their competitions without it being lost under countless jim beam cup threads.

Jeffles

we havent had any posts in the jim beam forum as the threads on the jim beam cup currently within the nswrl forum havent been moved.

Yes but even these topics have not developed in their threads. It is Monday lunchtime and looking about, there has been little discussion of JBC in the past week. Aside from this topic, the "promo and relegation" topic (hardly JBC exclusive) has been discussed. The most recent JBC specific topic before that is "Jim Beam Cup 2004" which hasn't moved since November 23.

I'm not against the comp, I just think its puclicity machine overestimates its value to the general public.

if we stuck by what you were saying newtown should not have been granted their own forum either as they are part of the nswrl competitions.

But Newtown have had significant traffic since their forum began. They've now got nearly as much posts as NSWRL whole and in their time they've had something come up everyday. I think that warrants a forum of its own.

the thing is come jim beam season there is weekly discussion on the jim beam cup which normally gets lost and interrupted with other discussion when in this forum.
having its own forum will also encourage more users to visit the forum and enter discussions.

There will be more coverage, but I don't know that it will "get lost" in amongst other talk. NSWRL has always been a dormant topic.

discussion within the nswrl forum primarily comes from jim beam cup fans and this was also the case on the rleague nswrl forum.

Like I said, it was because Premier League is discussed on club forums.

now it will give the fans of 'lower grades' somewhere to discuss their competitions without it being lost under countless jim beam cup threads

See my ealrier bit about the dormant NSWRL forum.

whilst premier league may be discussed in the other forums jeffles this is only discussion about their club.
fans couldnt care about the competition, they only care about the players who may go on to represent the team in first grade

It is still valid Premier League talk. And about the fans, there are genuine Premier League fans here. Brook, Yappy, the Jets people and yourself.

I like the JBC. It is a good competition. I just think that it gets a little bit hyped up. I'm with brook. Better to have the NSWRL comps all under one banner. My original point (and I stand by it) is that JBC is over-flogged at the expense of Premier League. I think both comps are great. I'm just being pragmatic.

mono_mal

jeffles i agree that the premier league deserves a higher profile.
though the thing that keeps holding it back is that it is primarily a reserve grade competition and can not be developed any further.
whilst in contrast the jim beam cup is a competition that is showing large improvements and creating much interest with the inclusion of new clubs and such initiatives as the jim beam cup triple header which attracted over 3 000 fans to central coast stadium.(this would be much higher then any stand alone premier league match).
more publicity should be available for premier league but it seems not even journalists are interested. for example i write weekly jim beam cup previews as it interests me though dont have enough of an interest in premier league to write articles. this could also be the case for many other followers.
i admit to being a casual observer of premier league though the only games that interest me involve non nrl clubs and therefore have visited leichardt oval, north sydney oval and henson park this year.
but i feel what would be better again would be to involve these clubs in a stronger jim beam cup with 2 divisions seperating the large established clubs from the new clubs on the scene.

metroman

12 Jim Beam clubs will be playing a sevens tournament at Windsor on saturday 21 January. The winning team will progress to the World sevens qualifier at St Marys.

Mighty Tiger

I think it is a joke that they have made a new forum set up for the jim beam cup on this site especially at this time of year as it is impossible to see if such a forum is needed.

To be honest I think its a waste of space on these forums! the next thing that will happen is that people will want to start up a schoolboy section on these forums which does get more descussion throughout the other forums than what the Jim beam cup does. What about a forum for the BRL in QLD because there has been more discussion on that even than the Jim beam cup but did any one want a forum up and running for that compition?

If any forum should have opened up and wasted some of the space on league unlimited especially at this time of the year it really should have been one for the basketball fans especially given that more than one fan has requested it unlike it was the case for the Jim beam cup forum!

Mighty Tiger

metroman said:
The Windsor tournament is either 17 Jan or 18 Jan, St Marys qualifier occurs on 21 Jan.

As far I'm aware the JBC side of things will be sorted out on Sat 17th of Jan where the winner will go and play on the Wed the 21st for the final spot in the world 7's

mono_mal

Mighty Tiger said:
I think it is a joke that they have made a new forum set up for the jim beam cup on this site especially at this time of year as it is impossible to see if such a forum is needed.

To be honest I think its a waste of space on these forums! the next thing that will happen is that people will want to start up a schoolboy section on these forums which does get more descussion throughout the other forums than what the Jim beam cup does. What about a forum for the BRL in QLD because there has been more discussion on that even than the Jim beam cup but did any one want a forum up and running for that compition?

If any forum should have opened up and wasted some of the space on league unlimited especially at this time of the year it really should have been one for the basketball fans especially given that more than one fan has requested it unlike it was the case for the Jim beam cup forum!
how can you back up your claims about there being more discussion on schoolboy league and the brisbane comp?
sorry but i dont think you can.
if you were a rleague member last year, which im sure you were, you wouldve seen that the jim beam cup discussion dominated the nswrl forum and was growing.
the rleague closure has lost a few members though they are sure to return upon the commencement of the jim beam cup season.
i cant back this up with anything as all the rleague forums are now not accessible but all you can do is take my word for it.
and basketball mate?
in all seriousness this is a rugby league forum. i know they cover other sports in the forums but if people really care about basketball they can discuss it specialised basketball forums.
call it a joke, say what you want but what i find poor is the failure of site admin/moderators to move jim beam cup threads to the jim beam cup forum.
before criticising why dont you give it a chance and see how it goes.

Spike

I don't believe there is a need for a seperate forum for the JB cup. It is run by NSWRL so therefore should be covered under the NSWRL forum but it doesn't really bother me too much either way so long as the comp gets promoted...... but the banana benders might start kicking a a fuss and wanting their own forum for the Mixwell A Grade cup :lol:

mono_mal

Spike said:
but it doesn't really bother me too much either way so long as the comp gets promoted......
that, on top of the other reasons i have mentioned, is why i believe it should have its own forum.
it means more exposure on the website which in turn would create more interest from forum members which would then create further discussion.

the thing is there are people out there keen to discuss other comps such as the illawarra league but with limited discussion they dont bother. by creating own forums for these competitions it encourages further discussion.

Spike

Speaking of the Illawarra league Mono, do you have any idea what happened to the web of steel? :?

mono_mal

no idea spike.
if i remember correctly it dissapeared last year.
it used to be the only discussion point for the carlton league and had some good history sections.
i think david middleton actually ran the site but have no idea why he cut it if he did.
saddog who used to post on the rleague forums on the illawarra league should be able to help you if he's still around.

metroman

Web of Steel was run by a guy named Chris Thomas. He was always advertising himself as an unemployed busdriver so maybe he got a job, or couldn't afford to keep it going. A pity because it was a great website.

Mighty Tiger

mono_mal said:
how can you back up your claims about there being more discussion on schoolboy league and the brisbane comp?
sorry but i dont think you can.

Maybe you should take a glance in the QRL section today to see it is getting more of a response than the JBC forum is. Also School boy players and the comp do get mentioned on a regular basis throughout many various threads in many of the NRL clubs forums and still are now.

This site granted is classified as a forum is it not?
Don't most people have an express an intrest in other sports?
So to maximise traffic to which LU would be trying to do they of course would try and have forums for all peoples needs.
You say tell people to go to a basketball forum what about the frikin fun bar section? what about the political forum? why are they on LU for? obviously to try and keep most of their users happy with voicing their opinion all on one forum.

Now you being the sole person who requested for the jim beam cup forum to get up and running and since it has been the case where is your evidence to prove the people wrong that such a forum is taking off?

Oh thats right its the off season after all and of course most people wouldn't be interested in discussing the Jim beam cup is that correct?

If thats the case why are the same people that post during the season and the LU subscritpion base growing during the off season posting in other forums for?

mono_mal said:
before criticising why dont you give it a chance and see how it goes?

How about then before you criticis basketball on this forum you give that a chance and see how that goes then? At the end of the day people don't want to spend all day looking down a page to find the forum they want to post in, they want it to be nice and easy and as little time consuming as possible not forum after forum with little comments made in them at any given time :roll: