Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

John Safran - Please Explain

Sweeper

Well, because of someone i missed the first minutes of the most enthralling episode ever broadcast on t.v. (They had to watch a nobody sing for no reason) I had no idea who he was with... but god it was funny. Can someone fill in the blanks?

Trollhammaren

Basically, John had an excorcism to rid him of the spirits he has picked up over the years. It was a very intense episode, very realistic. If John was acting, he deserves an academy award. At the end all the spirits were gone. A very enthralling episode.

Another note, on Safran's radio program apparently he said he was sceptical about it when he went into the exorcist and thought it would be bullshit, but at the end he didn't know what to think... I don't either. Can't wait to pick up the DVD.

I don't think John was acting.. but at the same time, I don't think there was an 'exorcism' per se.

To me, it appeared more as though the exorcist held some sort of hypnotic power over Safran. When he first sat him down and was talking to him, it was as though he was putting him into a trance.

Le Rouge

If that was acting that was a bloody top effort.

The only explanation I can only come up with (if it wasn't acting) is that some hypnotic/psycosis method was used aswell.....John certainly looked dazed.

Nice way to finish a great series though.

Alex28

it was a great series. i couldn't pick whether he was taking the piss or not - but if he was he is a much better actor than i have ever given him credit for...

Southernsaint

That was awesome...

Bob Larsen was the bloke's name & besides a dodgy set of plugs in his hair I reckon he had some kind of hypnotic power over John. Whatever, it was great television.

In the USA if you qualify as a religious institution you don't pay any tax - I think that's Bob larsen Ministries biggest "calling"...

John: :clap: :clap: :clap:

f**king Bizarre !!!!!!!!!

I missed the start as well because of the same nobody singing .
I thought it was some form of exorcism but couldn't be too sure.
I too thought he may have been in a trance or even hypnotised al la "the footy show".
If that was acting well he's the best at it.
I was actually fascinated and quite shocked by the whole thing , it was a bit like a car crash.
How was the prime evil growl coming out of him towards the end ?
What a chilling way to end the series.

I wonder if he's been brain washed now..........
2810home_ep8.jpg

weasel

I didn't buy it.

I can't imagine the exorcist would be too welcome anywhere outside the US, except by christian nuts, after what he had to say about other cultures. He was pretty harsh on Australians and Aboriginal culture, what a fwit. Not to mention the stuff he said about jews, germans, africans, and every other religion.

MEE

i don't think he was hyptnotised. Remember how the crew said they could feel a weird presence in the room?

bazza

weasel said:
I can't imagine the exorcist would be too welcome anywhere outside the US, except by christian nuts, after what he had to say about other cultures. He was pretty harsh on Australians and Aboriginal culture, what a fwit. Not to mention the stuff he said about jews, germans, africans, and every other religion.

Sounds like he'd fit right in

MILLWALL

that was so real and even john didnt do his last speach bloody top episode on his dvd they have stuff cut from that episode and it has john explain why it was cut as well as like 2 other episodes

crazy stuff mr safran

Alex28

i read an interview in Rolling Stone today where he said he genuinely could not remember what happened during the exorcism. he has nothing to gain and plenty to lose by faking the exorcism - he was fair dinkum about everything he test drove.

it's got plenty of people talking thats for sure!

blackfriday

what you saw was no crap. my uncle does that stuff to people, like he just holds their head, prays a bit and they just collapse.

miccle

Great hypnotism - that's for damn sure. It's nothing more than that, but still made a very entertaining finish to the best TV series i've seen in a long long time.

CC_Eagle

Hmm I never got around to seeing his show unfortuantly but by the short exert from the exorcism it looks f**king real to me. I'm not religious at all, but he isn't acting...