Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Kangaroos Beaten In Papua

SadShark

Greg Bird captained Kangaroos went down by 2 points. Did anyone see footage of the game. Wonder how he went. Not a good week to be a Shark in an Australian side.

Thanks Salmon, I stand corrected. The PNG Presidents XIII won 24-22 in Port Moreseby after being down 18-4 at one stage. The 22-18 result was the first match that was played in Darwin the week before but was the only one I could find when I did a quick scour of the internet before. The NRL/ARL don't exactly go out of their way to publicise the matches!

Having lived in Port Moresby for a while, even though it sits in a rain shadow and October is one of the "drier" months, it is still in the tropics and its a very hot and humid place. Real energy sapping stuff and it looks like our young blokes simply ran out of puff. Having Terry Campese sent off for a high shot wouldn't have helped either and I've heard that Nick Parfitt (Broncos) played pretty well. Don't know how Birdy went.

SirShire

It really is a piss poor effort from NRL not advertising and posting results/match reports of the juniours competitions and tours.

Frenzy

Salmon said:
What, you base that from one close loss to PNG?

Well the Oz Schoolboys were beaten in 2 tests by the Great Britain academy in 2002 for a start. They were also only able to draw the series with NZ this year. That's 3 losses from their past 4 tests.

The PNG win over the Junior Roos was no fluke and not due to bad refereeing. PNG were unlucky last year when the JRs only beat them 36-28

There's no doubt at all the other nations are getting better at this level - Australia is standing still.

Now with a drawn series with NZ in the Big Intl series and the distinct possibility of GB wins in the upcoming series it could well be that Intl RL is on the way back

ali

Frenzy said:
Salmon said:
What, you base that from one close loss to PNG?

Well the Oz Schoolboys were beaten in 2 tests by the Great Britain academy in 2002 for a start. They were also only able to draw the series with NZ this year. That's 3 losses from their past 4 tests.

The PNG win over the Junior Roos was no fluke and not due to bad refereeing. PNG were unlucky last year when the JRs only beat them 36-28

There's no doubt at all the other nations are getting better at this level - Australia is standing still.

Now with a drawn series with NZ in the Big Intl series and the distinct possibility of GB wins in the upcoming series it could well be that Intl RL is on the way back

I sure hope so mate. It also must be noted that was a long way from being a full strength PNG side. Saints John Wilshire was the only big name. All the other players came from various Leagues across PNG's vast RL landscape.

ali

You've all forgot the future president of PNG.
Marcus Bai.

While we are on the intenrational stuff I'd guess Dumas and Pelo must have played solidly in France's 34-12 loss to Australia. I also noticed that reserve grade winger Travis Touma got across the line in one of Lebanon's Mediterannean Cup games.

Any wonder , the school I went to doesn't even play footy anymore .They play soccer and basketball .I think its because of little wimpy kids getting hurt. Now in my day you were bashed by the teachers if you didn't play tackle footy and we enjoyed the bashings.
It breaks my heart when I drive past to see the posts in a sad delapitated state on the old footy feild.
We used to get kids who played soccer on weekends to play footy for school and then convert them . We got heaps of great players that way.

You can probably blame the litigation mentality on that. Schools have had their insurance premiums bumped up as a result of that and it is an ever increasing upward spiral.

I had more than a dozen broken bones playing rugby league in my time at school. This was mostly during the lunchtime stuff when we all played very rough. I, my parents and just about everyone else at the time, just accepted this as normal schoolyard boisterousness and no-one would have ever tried to apportion blame on the school. Nowadays, parents would be suing the school or the State government for negligence.

I've heard of some schools asking parents to sign waivers or to seek contributions to their insurance costs. Rugby league is the big casualty of this, but they are not on their lonesome. I understand that the situation is much the same for rugby union and aussie rules. I'm sure that it won't be long before soccer and basketball go down the same path.

We'll end up with a generation of fat, lazy kids who would rather play with their Gameboy, Playstation etc than get off their ample backsides and kick a footy around in the fresh air. Perhaps a bit of a sweeping generalisation, but I've got a quite a few American friends whose children attend schools where contact sports are effectively banned, and we seem to be heading down that road.

Eskimo Sharkie said:
We'll end up with a generation of fat, lazy kids who would rather play with their Gameboy, Playstation etc than get off their ample backsides and kick a footy around in the fresh air..

I think youre right and that we reached that stage quite a long time ago. The problem of overweight kids and obese adults is frightening. In another decade it will be nothing short of a national health crisis, if it isnt already.

cheese

Ahh obesity .....Its the scum of the world.

Its beating how health system into a bloody pulp. And its also turning possible hot chicks into fringe dwellers. I despise morbidly fat people(unless they've got gland troubles). How they can have so much disrespect for their own body is beyond me.

They cry about how they cant help it ...........just put the burger down ffs, it aint that hard!

I blame the parents .......too many of them want to wrap their kids in cotton wool(or kebab wrappers) in case of injury. Heart disease hurts a hell of alot more than a broken arm thats for sure.

I agree cheese.

Any fringe dweller who needs some motivation should go down to Northies on a Sunday afternoon. The chicks down there last night were smoking hot.

cheese

Gawd .....Sunday arvo's at northies is the 8th wonder of the world. You wouldnt even be able to wipe the grin off my face when im in that joint with a couple of right hook's.

Northies to biggirls used to be sunday arvo religion. I gotta lift my game and get back out there. So many chicks, So little time.

cheese

Dont mean to hijack the thread, but its the off-season, and this joint is struggling.

But..

Oi ss....... Does a youngish chick sing down there on sunday arvo's these days?