What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jury duty

King hit

Coach
Yesterday I came back from holidays and saw a letter for me regarding potential jury duty in March

This is something I've never done before and wondering if anybody on here has done this and if so what was the experience like? The only person I know who has done this is my grandmother and she said it was boring.

Any other experiences?

Willow

Assistant Moderator
Depends if you want to do it or not. Civic duty etc. But they generally ask for a lot of your time.

I have been asked twice and it would taken me away from my work. Self employed so it would have had a detrimental effect on income for family and home. I put that in the letter on both ocasions and I was given exemption.

A relative has done jury duty and said it was interesting, but he is semi-retired and has a lot more free time on his hands.

I got summoned last year for the first time. The only was to get out of it was as what Willow said - own your own business, previously booked travel plans or a medical exemption. Those were what I can remember. I travelled a lot for work and hadnt checked my mail for ages - I literally read the notice 2 days before I was due to go in.... I worked for a company and no way I could get exemption, but went along curious. Downing Centre in Sydney.

Basically went like this...

When arriving, had to register. the option I did get was to select the length of time I was available. I'd randomly been allocated a hearing of up to 3 months, but was allowed to apply for one up to 2 weeks. And given a number - asked to wait until called. Id estimate there were about 200-250 people in the waiting room.