Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kapow - sandow

lingard

I know I'll get howled down for this but it is my opinion that, unless Sandow has agreed to do this and will have his break when we get the bye later on, the move shows a total misunderstanding of more traditional indigenous people.
Shame and disrespect mean a hell of a lot more to them.

You`re absolutely right. To single someone out like that is not culturally appropriate. That`s what I was thinking of when I said it would come back to bite Kearney. I was going to bring it up myself - (but I didn`t want to get howled down).

lingard

At over 20K per game you think??!!
550K per year is about 400K more than this bloke is worth.

Zorba:
"...Those brickies, tradies and truck drivers lining up against him will take great delight in smashing the Eels' million-dollar man each and every time he touches the ball."
This is actually the best outcome for our little mate from Cherbourg - he gets a taste of reality and sees how the other half live. On this sort of money he's lost touch with reality.
Zorba: "Can you imagine Manly sending Daly Cherry-Evans to the NSW Cup or Melbourne telling Cam Smith to have a run in the park?
Of course not."
No that's right but Cherry-Evans and Smith are topflight footballers whose incomes match their importance to their teams. Comparing Sandow to Smith or DCE is like comparing a maiden at Gosford with Black Caviar.

Zorba: "Sandow went off the rails a couple of times at Souths but they knew how to handle him.
Parramatta have no idea."
Exactly right...that's why he was only ever going to be successful at Redfern - their culture is a good fit for indigenous players plus Sandow was playing behind pretty good forwards there. Said from Day One that Sandow would not suit Parramatta or Kearney one iota.
Haynzy:
"Shaming him publicly is probably not the smartest way to get the best out of him if he is like most indigenous people from small, remote communities."
Probably not Haynzy but most indigenous people from small, remote communities are not receiving 550K pa. He is so must operate in the realworld as a professional athlete. Regardless of his ethnicity he needs to pull his finger out and start earning some of that money. He is currently a dreadful role model for those indigenous kids from small communities you are talking about.

You mean 'white man`s world' is the real world, and aboriginals can like it or lump it? You`ve got a lot to learn. Also, you should have placed a comma after the word 'is', Mr Teacher.

Maroubra Eel

You`re absolutely right. To single someone out like that is not culturally appropriate. That`s what I was thinking of when I said it would come back to bite Kearney. I was going to bring it up myself - (but I didn`t want to get howled down).

I doubt Kearney singled him out to play for Wenty because he's aboriginal. Or do you reckon he should get special treatment based on his heritage?

Sounds like hullabaloo to me. In the dreamtime aborigines got dropped to play for Wenty regularly.

born an eel

I doubt Kearney singled him out to play for Wenty because he's aboriginal. Or do you reckon he should get special treatment based on his heritage?

Sounds like hullabaloo to me. In the dreamtime aborigines got dropped to play for Wenty regularly.
the dreamtime, that was back in the early eighties right?

duck_dodgers

So no Sandow for the Tigers game ?

Kearney said Sandow was sent to play for Wenty to rebuild his confidence .

failed on both counts .

master stroke by Sandow imho to make Kearney look the goose ... who will either have to pick a guy he's upset with or stand by his words of making him play for Wenty .

mickdo

Given the state of Sandow's shoulder after the Sharks game I doubt the coaches thought he would play a week later. More likely a rev up for the whole team to shape up.

Haynzy

Not sure if you're taking the piss mate but respecting someone's heritage and cultural upbringing and giving them special treatment are different things.
I'm not sure if this is a big deal to Sandow because I don't know the bloke and he may not have been brought up in a 'traditional' aboriginal family way. I just thought I'd throw it out there.

I treat my indigenous students differently than my non indigenous students as much as I treat muslim students differently to non muslims. I don't demand muslim girls take off their headscarves and I don't force them to cook the bbq during ramadan. To me that's about respecting someone's differences.

It would be hard for Kearney if he truly believes Sandow needs time at Wenty. The media will always be all over it and making a big issue out of it which may not be the best thing for Sandow. Sometimes you have to make choices and do things differently when working with different people. I guess now, in Sandow's case, we'll never know.

Maroubra Eel

Not sure if you're taking the piss mate but respecting someone's heritage and cultural upbringing and giving them special treatment are different things.
I'm not sure if this is a big deal to Sandow because I don't know the bloke and he may not have been brought up in a 'traditional' aboriginal family way. I just thought I'd throw it out there.

I treat my indigenous students differently than my non indigenous students as much as I treat muslim students differently to non muslims. I don't demand muslim girls take off their headscarves and I don't force them to cook the bbq during ramadan. To me that's about respecting someone's differences.

It would be hard for Kearney if he truly believes Sandow needs time at Wenty. The media will always be all over it and making a big issue out of it which may not be the best thing for Sandow. Sometimes you have to make choices and do things differently when working with different people. I guess now, in Sandow's case, we'll never know.

Of course I'm serious. I don't take the Internet lightly. I don't know much about Muslim girls cooking bbq's but I don't have a problem with Kearney playing Sandow for Wenty if it's going to benefit him and the team. I don't even know why race or upbringing had to even be brought into this anyway.

Shish kebab

Haynzy

Yeah I know, it was more about how it happened or at least how it was played out in the media anyway.

If it had been a quiet discussion between Kearney and Sandow and they both agreed then no issue.
It looked like Sandow had said that he wanted to head home for the weekend like most of the other guys but Kearney said screw that, you're playing for Wenty.
Some people would just go "oh well" and get on with it. A young fella who is under the pump and missing home might not deal with it so well.

The indigenous stuff I probably shouldn't have brought up as it's a complex thing I was trying to get at and this probably isn't the best forum for that discussion even though I think it is something that needs to be understood by people who are trying to manage young indigenous fellas from remote communities.

lingard

That`s the big 'if', isn`t it? In aboriginal culture, if you are singled out, it means you are being shamed. So just something for Kearney to think about. Apart from that, Sandow is evidently carrying an injury - so to make him play an extra game seems pretty stupid. Or to name him in reserves while expecting him not to play because of injury seems even more stupid. Sandow`s not the worst player in the team; why single him out? Over and above all that, I think it`s very feasible that Sandow is not playing like he did last year mostly because of Steven Kearney`s coaching. Right or wrong, that`s my opinion at the moment.
Oh, and race/upbringing has to be brought into it because it is a reality. It doesn`t afect people like you and me; but the Chris Sandows, Greg Inglises, Jonathon Thurstons live it.

lingard

Come on, M.E; you don`t really think that`s what I meant, do you?