Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwi RL Haka not "real" Haka

RedVee

lol

The AB's hybrid 'haka' is actually less real (although I really enjoy it) than Ka Mate.

Its a culture combo ( maori, PI, Fiji) challenge, where Ka Mate is strictly kiwi.

Izzy is a drongo..:lol:

Not quite... "Kapa o Pango" IS a Maori Haka written by Derek Lardelli.. It was supposed to represent all the cultural heritage of the team... Tho it was more likely the threat of Ngati Toa charging for Ka Mate's usage that inspired it... which may still happen.

The All Blacks use a couple of different Hakas don't they? I thought they only bring out the 'throat slashing' Haka once per series?

I find the Rugby Haka more intimidating than the Rugby League version, maybe because of the larger number of participants?

LESStar58

The Kiwi haka isn't real? Evidently he's never faced up to an NZ AFL haka either. :lol:

Seriously though;what a flog. Let him stay in raa raa.

ozbash

Not quite... "Kapa o Pango" IS a Maori Haka written by Derek Lardelli.. It was supposed to represent all the cultural heritage of the team... Tho it was more likely the threat of Ngati Toa charging for Ka Mate's usage that inspired it... which may still happen.

ta TK, Kapa O Pango is a no bullshit challenge, tingling up the spine stuff.

Hope the AB's use it on Saturday night for Quade ;-)

league13

If any one thing has ever been overdone it's the Haka.Every time you switch the telly on someone is having a go at it.I think the average Kiwi is pi--ed off with it.

What means more, a haka written by the greatest ever maori chief 200 odd years ago, or a haka which was written by a guy a few years ago for the sole purpose of being used by a sports team?

Folau's an ignorant prick.

In recent years Luke, Blair, Benji, JWH and Rapira have raised the bar in terms of haka performance.

ozenzud

When I lived in Oz, I thought the haka was really cool.

Now I've lived in NZ for a long time, you get a haka for every rugby and league test, every school game, every school assembly, then everyone else does a haka at the drop of a hat. When the all white swim team, lawn bowls team and darts team feel they have a right to do it, it becomes boring. Real boring. I don't watch it, grab a beer while its on and wait for kickoff.

deal.with.it

Luke is an absolute nut! He loses his shit doing the haka.
Benji is another one who takes it to the next level.