Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights - Finals 2023

Alex28

Naturally we all want the team to go as far as possible and win the premiership, however with respect of the whole season, is week 2 of the finals a pass mark? Overachieved? Below what we expected?

I say pass, however on a week to week basis, the Knights can definitely beat the Warriors. Getting to week 3 against the Broncos would be a huge achievement.

Mr_Knightside

So I’m thinking about doing something crazy and flying over to go to this game. Anyone else here thinking of doing the same? Also has anyone got a member code that can be used for when tickets go on sale this morning? Assuming you’re not using it of course… I would only need 1 ticket.

Zoidberg

So I’m thinking about doing something crazy and flying over to go to this game. Anyone else here thinking of doing the same? Also has anyone got a member code that can be used for when tickets go on sale this morning? Assuming you’re not using it of course… I would only need 1 ticket.
Do it!

Think we have achieved a pass mark for season with a bit of expectation to go another step

It really just depends where you're grading us from. If you were to grade the last 10 weeks in isolation, it's a straight up A or A+. If you're grading the season as a whole it's probably more in the C+ range. It's a pass. Win another final or two and you're looking at a B- minimum even considering the awful start to the year.

If you'd asked me what O'Brien needs to do to save his job this year, I would have said something similar to win a finals match. We did that, but god it was unconvincing. He did not have us prepped for that match in any sense of the word. It's like limping over the line to a pass mark.

I'm an incredibly happy fan right now, but realistically you want to see us do what we did for 10 weeks this season next year to be sure we've actually turned a corner.

Old dog

Hopefully that poor first half and near loss is the wake up call they, Coach and players, needed and preparation is foremost for all, don’t think they were fully ready for the Raiders.

Apey

It really just depends where you're grading us from. If you were to grade the last 10 weeks in isolation, it's a straight up A or A+. If you're grading the season as a whole it's probably more in the C+ range. It's a pass. Win another final or two and you're looking at a B- minimum even considering the awful start to the year.

If you'd asked me what O'Brien needs to do to save his job this year, I would have said something similar to win a finals match. We did that, but god it was unconvincing. He did not have us prepped for that match in any sense of the word. It's like limping over the line to a pass mark.

I'm an incredibly happy fan right now, but realistically you want to see us do what we did for 10 weeks this season next year to be sure we've actually turned a corner.
I might be crazy but I reckon that game will be a good reality check for us. I don't think we will play that badly again. We were completely outplayed for the majority of the game and still found a way to win. I reckon we beat the Warriors, they have been off for a while - our game was like the Dolphins game for me (exact same score actually), a down game we still got away with. Business resumes next week (I hope).

Alex28

You can do all the prepping in the world - if they go out there overawed by the occasion, things like the first half are going to happen.

There has been so much hype about a home final and how rare they are for us - it’s hard to prepare for, it’s a bit more than just another sold out game.

I saw enough in the first half of the season to know with a bit of luck we could go on a bit of a run. Didn’t see 10 in a row coming, but the sum of the parts of the club weren’t bad. Mind you, even I was resigned that AOB was gone at the end of the year…

Next year is a different story - we can see what’s possible now. They need to live up to it.

You can do all the prepping in the world - if they go out there overawed by the occasion, things like the first half are going to happen.

There has been so much hype about a home final and how rare they are for us - it’s hard to prepare for, it’s a bit more than just another sold out game.

I saw enough in the first half of the season to know with a bit of luck we could go on a bit of a run. Didn’t see 10 in a row coming, but the sum of the parts of the club weren’t bad. Mind you, even I was resigned that AOB was gone at the end of the year…

Next year is a different story - we can see what’s possible now. They need to live up to it.
I didn't mean to imply it's easy, but some of the best coaches have built a reputation on getting their squad in the right headspace for this kind of footy, Wayne Bennett being the king of it. I wouldn't even say that getting the squad in the right frame of mind for a match is a fringe job of a head coach, i'd say it's a primary function of the job. Ultimately, it's his job to make sure they don't get overawed.

Having said all of that, I think our boys will be better for that run and will have learned a lot. They know what's required now. I don't expect the same performance against the Warriors.

I guess when you're talking about a coaches tenure, they're always trying to buy themselves more time - it's just a question of how much. Has AOB earned himself a 5 year extension? No I wouldn't say so. He has bought himself another year or two though, with the expectation that this is just the beginning of our run. This run of form can't just be a once off, back to regular programming next year kind of thing. They need to keep growing.

Woody90

Ahhh sorry mate not a member but you should definitely do it!

Record breaking wins in a row in a season has to be a good pass.
Reasons we have lost games such as errors and lack of discipline shows where the improvement needs to be.

Zoidberg

You know what. I’m gonna just say it.
We WILL win the comp this year. It’s gonna be one of those underdog, fairytale endings.