Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights have the wood on the Warriors, we have 2 win this!

Our record against the Warriors since they entered the comp in 1995

Newcastle 48 Def Warriors 6 at Newcastle
Newcastle 22 Def Warriors 18 at Ericsson
Newcastle 33 Def Warriors 4 at Newcastle
Newcastle 38 Def Warriors 14 at Ericsson
Warriors 42 Def Newcastle 0 at Ericsson
Newcastle 18 Drew with Warriors 18 at Ericsson
Newcastle 37 Def Warriors 30 at Ericsson
Newcastle 32 Def Warriors 14 at Ericsson
Warriors 34 Def Newcastle 12 at Newcastle
Newcastle 36 Def Warriors 26 at Ericsson
Newcastle 36 Def Warriors 20 at Newcastle*

Last meeting is important as both teams had similar sides

Warriors: Brent Webb, John Carlaw, Vinnie Anderson, Clinton Toopi, Francis Meli, Thomas Leuluai, Lance Hohaia, Jerry Seuseu, Monty Betham (c), Richard Villasanti, Ali Lauiti'iti, Awen Guttenbeil, Logan Swann. Subs: Justin Murphy, Mark Tookey, Wairangi Koopu, Sione Faumuina.

Knights: Mark Hughes, Anthony Quinn, Matthew Gidley, Adam MacDougall, Craig Hall, Sean Rudder, Kurt Gidley, Josh Perry, Danny Buderus, Matt Parsons, Steve Simpson, Daniel Abraham, Ben Kennedy (c). Subs: Matthew Jobson, Todd Lowrie, Luke Quigley, Matthew Kennedy.

A plus is that our team last year were missing

* O Davis
* Tahu
* Woolnough
* Newton

And they had

* Lance Hohaia
* Francis Meli
* Monty Betham
* Logan Swann

A comparison of our team this year 2 that of last year, tell me which is better

Knights 2003 Vs Warriors: Mark Hughes, Anthony Quinn, Matthew Gidley, Adam MacDougall, Craig Hall, Sean Rudder, Kurt Gidley, Josh Perry, Danny Buderus, Matt Parsons, Steve Simpson, Daniel Abraham, Ben Kennedy (c). Subs: Matthew Jobson, Todd Lowrie, Luke Quigley, Matthew Kennedy.

Knights 2004 Vs Warriors:
1. Robbie O’Davis
2. Craig Hall
3. Matthew Gidley
4. Timana Tahu
5. George Carmont
6. Steve Witt
7. Kurt Gidley
8. Josh Perry
9. Danny Buderus
10. Adam Woolnough
11. Andrew Price
12. Daniel Abraham
13. Ben Kennedy

Interchange:
14. Matt Parsons
15. Matthew Kennedy
16. Todd Lowrie
17. Clint Newton

I do think Tahu will move 2 the wing in number 2 with Hall wearing 5 and Carmont slots in the centres.

The Dragons showed that an understrength side can beat the Warriors in NZ and I think we can do the same, depends on the boys attitude, my opinion it will be on of our great wins of 2004 as the Knights run out winners 21-14, we will still have our critics but after we beat the Roosters next week in our first game at home they may be silenced, I do predict a couple more injuries 2 the roosters with Fittler's shoulder getting damaged by the Raging Bull

IMO

Newcastle Knights 21: Tahu(2), Witt Tries; Abraham 4 goals; Witt field goal Def New Zealand Warriors 14: Toopi, Villasanti Tries; Faumina 3 goals at Ericsson Stadium, Auckland. Halftime Newcastle 12-8 :D :D

Pazza

Face the facts, you guys are shit without Joey! Another loss to the joeyless knights.

Jedda

Well winter has arrived with a vengence, add to the fact that it's also a long weekend for Easter I hope the Knights bring their Winter Woolies cause it has got COLD!

The long range weather forcast is for rain, wind and a sever drop in temperature.

Considering the Warriors don't play well in these conditions and that the Knights had a taste of winter footy with the pitch against the Dragons I'll tip a Knights victory.

I'm expecting a low scoring game with plenty of dropped ball and missed opportunites from both teams.

16-12 Knights over Warriors.

AliN

It's going to be cold alright!!
The Knights will be fired up after their hammering last weekend by the Dragons. Two sets of big forwards, should be a good battle.
Our boys better not be complacent after finally winning a game in 2004.
Jobson looked good in the off season and had a sound game last week when he tookthe field.
Still undecided on this one, it could go either way.

antonius

Pazza said:
Face the facts, you guys are sh*t without Joey! Another loss to the joeyless knights.
Hey Pizza, can't you read? see this score from last season Newcastle 36 Def Warriors 20 at Newcastle* That was with a "Joeyless team"

antonius said:
Pazza said:
Face the facts, you guys are sh*t without Joey! Another loss to the joeyless knights.
Hey Pizza, can't you read? see this score from last season Newcastle 36 Def Warriors 20 at Newcastle* That was with a "Joeyless team"

The Warriors were also without Stacey Jones

antonius

BrentWebb'sno.1fan said:
antonius said:
Pazza said:

The Warriors were also without Stacey Jones
So what? That wasn't Pizza's point, we were talking about Joeyless Knights teams, not what Jones was doing at the time. From memory his replacement wasn't too shaby a player anyway. Pizza is implying we lose whenever Johns doesn't play and to use his words "we're sh!t when he doesn't play" I'm just pointing out to him/her what a dipstick post it was.

Kaz

junior
With the way the fans of the Knights & Warriors are at each other throats, I hope the game is as entertaining. :lol:

~bedsy~

We have a good record against the Warriors and I always like their match ups.
Our team looks a little better this week and it will be a good match... I will be in the Gold Coast and will miss it... what time is the Sunday Footy Show on in QLD?

keeney

i think jedda got it spot on, low coring match bad handling errors form both sides

thuganomics

Im confused, if Witt can show me that he is a good player and a player in the making in this one game . We really do need a win to lift confidence.

"At least we know who will win the biff" lol the Warriors are not the best team 2 be involved in a bit of biff as pointed out by the king of biff, Reg Reagan.

Reg: Can the Panthers win the Grand Final?
Sattler: Mate, time will tell but we take them on in the biff
Reg: Why not mate, im tellin ya mate you'll beat these blokes, deadset they're a bunch of dead set cats! YOU HEAR THAT POLYNESIAN CATS!!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Iafeta

Thats a hopeful scenario Jaime with a lot of different extenuating circumstances. Each game is different, no two games are the same. Basing it on last year is like comparing apples to oranges. Don't forget at that stage the Warriors were borderline top 8 prospects and had no Jones. Now, they have a home record to fix up something they're enormously proud of and extremely good at fixing, they have to be up again to get back into contention and show why the Warriors were rated #2 at the beginning of the year by most betting agencies. Plus, a certain Jobson wants to show what the extra 5-10 KGs has done to his game - journeyman yes, but boy he played solid. Add that to the flair and the Knights will have to be on top of their game to get an upset.

Iafeta

Also, you didn't mention Simpson, Quinn, Hughes, Macdougall, Rudder, Jobson, Quigley are also gone from that team as well as the fact that Tahu, Kennedy, O'Davis and Parsons are hardly going to 100%, which you need to be at against such a physical pack. If you play your best, you can catch them - but it won't be due to the past history or any thinly veiled stat from yester-year.

Jedda

Ali - are you going to the game?

I've got uncovered seating tickets so I'm hoping the weather holds off till at least the end of the match.

I've suffered a cold, wet night at Ericcson before and I don't wish to repeat the experience.

~bedsy~

Iafeta said:
Also, you didn't mention Simpson, Quinn, Hughes, Macdougall, Rudder, Jobson, Quigley are also gone from that team as well as the fact that Tahu, Kennedy, O'Davis and Parsons are hardly going to 100%, which you need to be at against such a physical pack.
Mad Dog missed 18 months and we still managed to win games without him, and we really don't miss Rudder all that much.
O'Davis looks alot better this week, I do agree with the others not being 100% though.
I think after last week we should be more on top of our game. Plus it would be silly for the Warriors to get cocky over this game. I do agree that a win last week will have boosted their moral.

keeney

the warriors have looked very average compared wiht the last 2 years. I dno why they would take so much from a win over manly