There probably are a few big guys over there who would be worth looking at.Why not recruit a big South African or Rugby prop?
14 wins. I will be pleased with that next year. 16 the year after.Benji's mission is to get off the bottom of the table and not get the rissole.
We are not a top four team and to hot and cold.
All we can do it keep on going forward to the semis next year.
Olam was never the same player at the Tigers that he was at the Storm, neither was Bateman, have a look at the difference in Garner since he went to the Panthers. For their sake I hope Luai breaks that cycle.
Yeah, generally happens when you go from a top 4 team to a multiple spoon team, or vice versa.Olam was never the same player at the Tigers that he was at the Storm, neither was Bateman, have a look at the difference in Garner since he went to the Panthers. For their sake I hope Luai breaks that cycle.
Why do I feel like I just heard this?Yeah, generally happens when you go from a top 4 team to a multiple spoon team, or vice versa.
The gun team will make you look better, make your job easier and will also lift you.
It's hilarious reading other forums and the fan's views . . . . " May is a star". "He'll look great in red and white". " May is coming to play under Flanno".
Nek minnit " May is unmotivated". "WT have to pay overs"
You generally have to pay more when there is more than one interested buyer.
If you blokes do a fair dinkum roster overhaul, you'll be paying overs too. Players don't really see a distinction between last and 2nd or 3rd last.
Enjoy the off season boys . . . good luck for 25 !
There's a reason why South African Rugby players are not recruitedThere probably are a few big guys over there who would be worth looking at.
Ooops.There's a reason why South African Rugby players are not recruited
My son does casual furniture removal whilst studying
he works with many young SA rugby players over here for study and play locally. They all have one thing in common.
THEY HATE LEAGUE WITH A PASSION
A leftover from the Apartheid days no doubt, when once again the working man's game was shit on and marginalised by the elite fascist class. Just like with post-Vichy France, when most of the sport administrators who were in charge during the nazi oocupation held their positions after it, its the same with the Afrikaaners post-apartheidThere's a reason why South African Rugby players are not recruited
My son does casual furniture removal whilst studying
he works with many young SA rugby players over here for study and play locally. They all have one thing in common.
THEY HATE LEAGUE WITH A PASSION
OK so can you please tell me of a player that has gone to the WT from another club and has become a superstar, under any of your coaching or club admin. I'm interested to see what the progression of one Mr Jack Bird will be under your tutelage.You've got your face too close to the screen my friend....during Olam's last season at the storm, Justin Olam wasn't the same player he was previously at the storm...
He was in RESERVE GRADE which was where Benji signed him from. He came with a known calf injury that only allowed him a few trouble free games. These are facts. Make your point some other way....has Daine Lairie improved at all ..let alone out of sight since coming back to the panthers in any grade to make your point?....I'd say no
OK so can you please tell me of a player that has gone to the WT from another club and has become a superstar, under any of your coaching or club admin. I'm interested to see what the progression of one Mr Jack Bird will be under your tutelage.
I'm interested to see what the progression of one Mr Jack Bird will be under your tutelage.
So your saying that the coach that got JB his premiership and his best footy and couldn't get him to his best again will be outdone by Benji. Well mate good luck with that.Well we certainly hope it will better than under your's
* See you in Magic round....probably hopeless but we'll try our best
No one under our previous peanut coaches who were buying hasbeens and rejects. But our coach as has been proven has the ability to get the best out of players, Lomax an example. I'm not saying Benji cant, its just a matter of that we havent seen it yet, if we ever do. I would dare say Benji would be feeling a bit more pressure this year with the R + R you have done and money spent. But yes all the best to you and I do look forward to Magic round, I actually dont mind the Tige's we have a lot in common.A superstar?! Wow..I thought you were talking about prior consistent form going up or down...so who's gone to SGI and acquired the ability to reverse the rotation of the earth?
@Das HasslerBut yes all the best to you and I do look forward to Magic round, I actually dont mind the Tige's we have a lot in common.
Few coaches have natural predispositions that lend themselves to leadership & man management (Think Bennet & Bellamy.) Most others, including Benji, do not.@Das Hassler
@justadragon
Are you saying your team is a basket case Justin
View attachment 96791
I think Benji was a champion football player.
Can you image the pressure a young man, barely having pubic hair, who had just sat for his HSC run out in front of 82,453 screaming fans in a GF. Even before that game he showed his brilliance time and time again.
Well as a fan of his, I can tell you that feeling the pressure just isn't in his repertoire.
So I can't see being a coach under all this scrutiny being an issue.
His biggest task is trying to get players to gel with each other and buy into his coaching techniques and game plans.
It has already surfaced that some resent his style of giving the kids like Lachlan Galvin special treatment when Bateman spat his dummy out.
More like no other human could understand a word he said.
Benji will have to learn quickly that everyone has their way of doing things because they've won Harold matts grandfinals, NRL grand finals or played for their country and are reluctant to change.
This is going to be a huge test of character as he has to get all these different types of players singing off the same lyrics sheet.
Shane Flanagan has done it before and can recognise these bad traits surfacing early and will nip it in the bud before it stuffs the dragons teams up.
Benji needs to learn this and other things of course like using his subs to the best effect and have game plans that are simple but effective.
100% HOD, we all know the old story only too well, great players dont automatically make great coachesFew coaches have natural predispositions that lend themselves to leadership & man management (Think Bennet & Bellamy.) Most others, including Benji, do not.
Ivan Cleary, on the other hand, acquired his leadership skills and knowledge that were developed over time and involved multiple failures, years of experience and mentorship.
My point is Benji just doesn't have the experience to be an automatic success.