Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Leagues Club Funding Drop

The Preacher

On BSB this morning, there are reports that the St.George Leagues Club is lowering their funding to the Football Club by something near $2 mill.
Now, I may be wrong, but I'm of the opinion that most of the Football Club Board are also on the Leagues Club board.
It seems strange, actually very very strange, that people would vote in favour of lowering funding to an organisation that you are a board member of.
The reasons given are a drop in turnover due to the no smoking rules now in place and the poker machine tax.
Seems very strange to me, and something that I'd like to see the full details of before believing this is the case. :?

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news/dragons-big-grant-up-in-smoke/2007/09/04/1188783239038.html

Drew-Sta

2 things:

* I'm shocked at the decision; It does seem very strange.
* Why aren't we entering a Premier League team?! Where the hell are we going to get our depth from?

punton

I posted something on this earlier but it was deleted.

Is there a forum nazi here protecting Doust?

The Preacher

If there is, he's not doing a very good job, because I'm still here calling him a prick, nearly every single day.
And until he does something to make me change my mind, he always will be a prick.

punton

The Preacher said:
If there is, he's not doing a very good job, because I'm still here calling him a prick, nearly every single day.
And until he does something to make me change my mind, he always will be a prick.

Well let's see how we go this time.

A couple of weeks ago, I saw a post on another forum indicating STGLC was in dire financial difficulty.

Also, one of your recent recruits (from last year) wants out.

(Let's see if this is ok) :roll:

The Preacher

The only financial difficulty they could use would be sensationalising the poker machine taxes.
These taxes have been in for about 3 years I think, and clubs would've been aware of the tax increases each year and should have budgeted accordingly.
The funny thing is that these taxes are on a turnover/profit basis, and therefore, to my way of thinking, you can't blame increased taxes that you were aware of and also use a downturn in trade caused by the anti-smoking rules, because if the trade was up, you'd pay more tax!!!!

The Preacher

punton said:

Well let's see how we go this time.

A couple of weeks ago, I saw a post on another forum indicating STGLC was in dire financial difficulty.

Also, one of your recent recruits (from last year) wants out.

(Let's see if this is ok) :roll:

Who??? :?

The Preacher

Fine, all the best. He said he wasn't sure about another year, but I wish he could've made a few more appearences than he did. (due to injury) Thanks for the effort Germ. (If you're going)

Well, if we're cost cutting then surely we should look at cutting back the number of games we play in at WIN.

Doust has said in the past that Kogarah is far more cost effective. We are effectively losing profit every time we play down there.

Drew-Sta

juanfarkall said:
If Doust drank something other than Crownies the costs would drop markedly.

If he started drinking Metho it would solve two problems.

The Preacher

Follow Me Up To Carlton said:
Well, if we're cost cutting then surely we should look at cutting back the number of games we play in at WIN.

Doust has said in the past that Kogarah is far more cost effective. We are effectively losing profit every time we play down there.

Perfect, 10 games at Kogarah, Heritage game at Win and Anzac day at SFS. ;-)

Just with this tax thing, these taxes were known about 3 years ago, there not something that've all of a sudden appeared. There was a scale in place depending on the size of turnover/profit, and a time frame for when each level would be introduced. it should've been budgeted for FFS.
If they pull this charade off there is going to be one hell of a sh!t fight. They will soon find out that there is one big problem getting into a sh!tfight with a pig like me, you both end up covered in sh!t, but the pig likes it !!! :piggy:

punton

The Preacher said:
Perfect, 10 games at Kogarah, Heritage game at Win and Anzac day at SFS. ;-)

Just with this tax thing, these taxes were known about 3 years ago, there not something that've all of a sudden appeared. There was a scale in place depending on the size of turnover/profit, and a time frame for when each level would be introduced. it should've been budgeted for FFS.
If they pull this charade off there is going to be one hell of a sh!t fight. They will soon find out that there is one big problem getting into a sh!tfight with a pig like me, you both end up covered in sh!t, but the pig likes it !!! :piggy:

My mole told me "figures until the end of June were horrendous" - "this is the result of inadequate planning at a venue that has relied upon and remained a gaming haven" - "400 seat Chinese restaurant pegged for downstairs" - "Physical structure of club can't be modified to cater for smokers "outdoors" ".

Discussing the tenure of Doust/Brown.

Doust - "part of old boys club - too hard to remove"

Brown - As above and is lucky his "dam" is a good cook.

I've had this conversation numerous times with my Saints mates but it is time you blokes siezed control, SOMEHOW.

We (Souths) did it.

You need a vote, you need a coup and you need it very bloody soon.

St George Leagues should be renamed St George Poker machine club.

Fair dinkum their TAB is sh!t, the premiers lounge looks like something added @ the last second, and the amount of space the pokie machines take up is atleast 75% of the entire venue.

Other clubs have massive amounts of poker machines but atleast the provide a decent sports bar or seating area to chill out in.

The only reason you would go to St's is either for Poker machines or Poker(great pro series there).

My point is that St George is designed solely with gaming in mind, most people go out to have a good night, see a band or watch the footy or doing something with mates. People in most instances dont go out specificly to play pokies which is all that St's offers, however when out its not unusual for them to throw some money in there fav machine. It is part of the night but it is not the night which is what St's have forgotten.

No wonder they are loosing money its just about the most antisociable establishment in Sydney the way its designed.

Any thats my rant.

Wobbygong

Punton,

I don't know where you get your info from re the leagues club (but I can guess - maybe your ar$e).

The leagues club is hardly in a dire financial situation if anybody cares to read the annual reports they had approx $35m in cash reserves and I agree this is just crock of an excuse for the leagues club to cut back it's involvement. They have been flagging this for a few years now. It just puts more pressure on Doust and his marketing guys to find alternate revenue streams and cut unecessary costs like the current Head Trainer, Doust and Brownies junketts to the USA etc etc...........................

Wobbygong

Maybe it wouldn't be such a worry for us if we were a two bit Rugby league organisation that could be privatised for a measly $3m?

Godz Illa

Yeah Saints leagues is cashed up to the hilt, I dont buy punton's story at all.

Not that I'm a cynic, but I do like to read between the lines and the pieces I've put together are these:

"The Dragons, who have total expenditure of about $12.7million, will have to cut costs across the board to make their forecast budget"

"Doust said the Dragons would field only two teams next season - the first-grade outfit and the new national under-20 side - and had declined to enter a team in premier league.
The club is looking at its commitments to junior football, particularly fielding two teams in the representative areas of St George and Illawarra.
"We need to be more cost-effective about the grassroots activities," Doust said."

Just an excuse to dump the premier league?