Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Legends hail Eels centres

Ron Jeremy said:
He has had numerous knee problems in 3 years in the NRL. Yeah those alledged 'experts' have given us 20 years of sweet F/A, let numerous high quality players leave our club and given us the tag of chokers for a number of years, but hey there experts right? that's the problem with this club, they dont make the hard decisions as much as they should( actually it isn't).

Don't need to be an expert to see that, actually just watch fox and the evidence is for all to see if he's generally that good.

Even if we have money left over why f**king sign him? the guy will be lucky to even make it on the park this year by rd 12 then we'll have to wait another year before he regains abit of his speed. Why take that risk? that's atleast $100,000 saved for someone else, maybe even upgrading KK or Tony Williams contract, and reckon they're far more of a priority then a guy with serious knee problems.

If he's offered a 2 year contract i'll be absolutely shocked, he's an average player who can occasionaly stop a backline movement by coming out of the line, what people seem to forget is that that same thing he does has often not worked and left Eric stranded with a 2 on 1 situation and he's the one that gets the blame. And as for attack? dont even get me started.

Your spot on Ron, I could not have said it better myself. Some people are saying to put Ben in the forwards but that's laughable. He has no leg drive. He gets easily dominated in the backline in attack so he would get creamed in the forwards. He simply doesn't have the leg strength or speed. Ben Smith is nice bloke but an average footy player.

Leave the Money for the young Tim Mannahs and Tony Williams of the world who will command it sooner rather than later.

Ron Jeremy

Jake the snake said:
Your spot on Ron, I could not have said it better myself. Some people are saying to put Ben in the forwards but that's laughable. He has no leg drive. He gets easily dominated in the backline in attack so he would get creamed in the forwards. He simply doesn't have the leg strength or speed. Ben Smith is nice bloke but an average footy player.

Leave the Money for the young Tim Mannahs and Tony Williams of the world who will command it sooner rather than later.

Totally agree, I find it amusing when it's mentioned about he moving to the forwards as i've never seen a bloke of his size being dominated as much by smaller players in tackles, for a bloke his size he should be unstoppable, as you rightfully point out his leg drive is non-exsistent, you'd think this would be a fundamental thing for Ben, he should watch Matt Utai someday...

Mannah and Williams are priority re-signings.

Ron Jeremy

Stagger eel said:
you should direct this to Hages, he's the one talking to him for next year, tbh the moment INU put pen to paper I'm no longer concerned who we re-sign for next year...

We need to have al bases covered, yes Inu and Hayne are terrific re-signings but we should always be looking to improve ourselves.

Ron Jeremy said:
We need to have al bases covered, yes Inu and Hayne are terrific re-signings but we should always be looking to improve ourselves.

we can only improve as much as the cap allows us to, my point there aint too much room to improve after INU was signed and whether Williams decides to accept less to stay is up to him..and if Williams decides to go Canterbury where he 's been keenly sought after in the past than probably Smith is the next best option available.

Mannah is ours till the end of 09 anyway.

Ron Jeremy said:
Who would you rather keep eela, Smith or Williams?

Williams - but that still doesn't guarentee he'll be the gun player that we all anticipate he will be.

I've heard talk about Williams going to the Dogs, but seriously why would he ? They will struggle this year. Other than Dunny Bill and an aging Ryan - who do they have of note ?

Gronk said:
I've heard talk about Williams going to the Dogs, but seriously why would he ? They will struggle this year. Other than Dunny Bill and an aging Ryan - who do they have of note ?

I tell you what they do have, a sh*tload of cash....

Bigfella

Jake I still don;t think you can write him off as a forward prospect without him having some time there, and preferably an off-season to prepare for it.

I agree he struggles to penetrate from centre, particularly when we are returning kicks from our own half. I think this is because he lacks the footwork and acceleration of the rest of our backs. In particularly he is a bit ineffective out of dummy half; he is slow to pick up and hit top speed, especially compared to Grothe, Hayne, Inu (although most people wuld be).

I reckon as a backrower, with more time to run onto the ball, and to get organised in attack and run lines, he could be valuable.

And he does have some great assets. He is as tough as any of our forwards (and tougher than most IMO). He is a great competitor and can dominate in defence. A brilliant one on one tackler. All of those things can be worked on. And anyone can develop leg drive!

fish eel

I'd let Ben Smith go and replace him with a cheaper option for depth, from either inside or outside the club. Ben's best football is well past him and he should not be offered a new deal.

hindmarsh4pm

Ben Smith will stay with the eels, as someone mentioned, hagan likes him and hagan gets what he wants. Ben is a good player, if he has a season without injury and a good strong off season, we all know he is capable of being an awesome player. What we saw him do in 05 was no fluke, it's in him. He can do it again i have no doubts

hindmarsh4pm said:
Ben Smith will stay with the eels, as someone mentioned, hagan likes him and hagan gets what he wants. Ben is a good player, if he has a season without injury and a good strong off season, we all know he is capable of being an awesome player. What we saw him do in 05 was no fluke, it's in him. He can do it again i have no doubts

Nobody here knows what sort of $$ he's on. Who knows - he may be cheap and represent great value like Luke has all these years.

hindmarsh4pm

Gronk said:
Nobody here knows what sort of $$ he's on. Who knows - he may be cheap and represent great value like Luke has all these years.
You will find that he will be like luke burt and be a loyal eel, re-signing to help the club out and not just for himself

HevyDevy said:
Stagger, I'd rather you play on the wing than Reddy

my timing in defense has been suspect since Mick Lubinskus ran around me at Lidcombe in 1978...

Reddy's not that bad.

HevyDevy

Mine's been suspect since Wade L'Estrange trampled me in high school ... and he was a few years younger than me too!

Well, I think I'm out as a contender as well.
Former Wallaby breakaway Peter Lucas put stud marks from my toes to my forehead once when I was playing rugby for Parra.