Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Let's talk about the Eels.

Gaba

Eels were never a top 8 team i am still puzzled how people thought the eels were,

people who thought the eels were a top 8 or even a threat must haven been hooked in by the media and bradbury run of last year and the only answer i can think of

Blind could see they were going to struggle to score points , teams werent going to be caught by surprised again, hayne was the only attacking player eels from last year and the eels apart from tahu had the same backline.

He was going to be the only attacking again this year

cleary89

He's the best fu*king player in the whole fu*king wide world!!!

Ah jealousy's such a curse.

Oh, I hope you break your eeny weeny teeny tiny dick.

must suck that the team with the best player in the world cant even make the 9, or even beat the sharks.

thommo4pm

I hate Parra and their fickle fans, but there isn't really any need to kick them while they are down.
The fact that they are likely to miss the 8, and we wont have to listen to all the bandwagon fans come out over the next 2 months is enough to satisfy me.
I feel sorry for the diehard Parra fans, of which I know a few.

I posted a few weeks ago how the Hayne/Parra wankfest was a joke as they had only beaten two bottom teams...Cows & Dogs ,& played one half of good footy against the Panthers(who seem to only get across the line from kicks).
Also stated, wait till they play a few of the top teams instead of cellar dwellars & the eels fans gave it to me..
Dumb as AFL fans they are.
Eels have played two top eight teams & got smashed each time...
Enough said.....but you can be assured when Hayne has two weeks of form in July next yr,the same dumb flogs will be jumping on the Hayne "Wank Train" again.

LazyDreamer

Why is it that when a ref tears strips off a player, channel 9 like to show it in all its glory. Yet last night, apart from mentioning that Badger ripped into the Haynepain, there was no replay & they did not show the subsequent convo when Badger called him out to (I'd guess) tell him to pull his over-sized conehead in?

The media w@nkfest continues unabated it seems. Can't show a sullen, pouty Hayne being given a severe dressing down like the pathetic brat that he is.

...and to the OP, bravo. Couldn't have said it any more succinctly.

ironhorse

From where i see it Parra have two main problems - The media and their fans .
the media seem to be made up of parra diehards ... Rabs , sterlo etc , who cant help but publically flog their wangs when the eels get up . This leads to others death riding them to fall down .
The fans are 75% bandwagon jumpers ,like the swans fans . you never know your working with fans until parra win a couple or get a run going and suddenly your swamped with people who grew up in merrylands.

I don't think they overachieved last year - how the f*ck do you overachieve?????? I think they played to the capacity of their talents - and only got beaten by cheats.

The rest of their form has been a massive underachievement. Taylor and Hagan also got them playing fantastic unbeatable footy -for a short period.

Hayne is the best player in the world. His arrogant persona is something I have no problem with - seen it many times with players from other clubs. Still, the Hayne bandwagon has overshadowed the great name Hindmarsh in his latter years. It's always forwards that win games anyway. It's just that sometimes at Parra Hayne wins it for them.

Anyway, September to do the garden. We have changed the front office and gotten rid of the deadwood there. One day that will flow to the team on the paddock, and when it does, look out!

Gaba

I hate Parra and their fickle fans, but there isn't really any need to kick them while they are down.
The fact that they are likely to miss the 8, and we wont have to listen to all the bandwagon fans come out over the next 2 months is enough to satisfy me.
I feel sorry for the diehard Parra fans, of which I know a few.

In a way i understand your point , but in a way you have to blame the eels players by saying they are relying on hayne to get them into the finals and believing the media hype about themselves.

And osbourne reacting on the media hype ,

DeeJ

Why is it that when a ref tears strips off a player, channel 9 like to show it in all its glory. Yet last night, apart from mentioning that Badger ripped into the Haynepain, there was no replay & they did not show the subsequent convo when Badger called him out to (I'd guess) tell him to pull his over-sized conehead in?

The media w@nkfest continues unabated it seems. Can't show a sullen, pouty Hayne being given a severe dressing down like the pathetic brat that he is.

...and to the OP, bravo. Couldn't have said it any more succinctly.

Write into the Sunday Roast and they might be able to show and highlight the footage. Maybe have a topic of refs talking to players like they have touched on lately.

Frailty

I don't think they overachieved last year - how the f*ck do you overachieve?????? I think they played to the capacity of their talents - and only got beaten by cheats.

The rest of their form has been a massive underachievement. Taylor and Hagan also got them playing fantastic unbeatable footy -for a short period.

Hayne is the best player in the world. His arrogant persona is something I have no problem with - seen it many times with players from other clubs. Still, the Hayne bandwagon has overshadowed the great name Hindmarsh in his latter years. It's always forwards that win games anyway. It's just that sometimes at Parra Hayne wins it for them.

Anyway, September to do the garden. We have changed the front office and gotten rid of the deadwood there. One day that will flow to the team on the paddock, and when it does, look out!

http://jakerake.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/genius.jpg

:lol::lol:
You would think "the best player in the world" would be better positioned defensively .
You would also think his winger wouldn't have to come in to the centre of the field to cover that ,while Hayne stays out on the wing.

Luke Burt ....stay out there Jarryd...dont go any wider than that white line,but dont come in any closer to me...

Not even close to the best FB in the world...

Die-hard Eels fan, I am, and even I hate the whole wankfest about the Hayne Plane and the media jumping on our bandwagon when we start to do well. But how is that our fault? Sure, Paul Osborne could tell the media to stuff it - but why would he? They say there's no such thing as "bad publicity"...

I can certainly see the Hayne hate, though. I, myself, find myself getting irritated at some of his antics. Is he talented? Sure. Is he a poor sportsman? In my opinion, yes. And it irks me. A guy with his talents shouldn't need to be lazy and a whiny, poor sport. But, alas, he is...

You hate Parramatta, and more power to you. I can understand people dislike other teams. But I want to say - even as a Parramatta Eels member and an absolute die-hard fan of this team (and I will be until the day I die) - is that I am simply disgusted by some of this football club's performances this year. More so given the fact our skipper - a true gentleman of the game - is retiring.

I know when Locky announces his retirement, the Broncos will play like men possessed to send him out a winner. A deserved winner. Ditto for pretty much every other club in the NRL. Hell, the Sharks and Cowboys, with a less than spectacular season in 2010, have shown more heart than my beloved side. And it sickens me. How could they not band together as one and say, "Right - let's do it for Caylo!" I can understand the fact we've been comprehensively outplayed for 80% of our season, and well done to everyone who defeated us. But why is Parramatta seemingly the only club where "passion", "camaraderie" and "mateship" are just words?

I apologise for my rant but it is beginning to dawn on me how a club legend like Caylo (and pretty much Hindy, too, if things keep going this way) will never win a Premiership for his beloved club. And it saddens me.

Nice post...Caylo busts his ass every week and gets no kudos. Totally agree...

thommo4pm

In a way i understand your point , but in a way you have to blame the eels players by saying they are relying on hayne to get them into the finals and believing the media hype about themselves.

And osbourne reacting on the media hype ,

Don't get me wrong mate, I hate Parra, and am glad to see that they look like missing the 8.
Just don't think we need to get stuck into them, the real fans of Parra will be hurting enough today.

To the bandwagon fans, I say get stuck into them.

thommo4pm

one more thing to the bandwagon Parra fans, who have been having shots at Saints all year....eat sh*t.
They've all been saying that it doesn't matter if you are playing good footy in March, April, May, June....well guess what....Saints did do that and set themselves up to be in the top 8.
Parra have played sh*t footy all year and don't deserve to be there.

Gaba

To the bandwagon fans, I say get stuck into them.

Thats who im making my comments towards ,

Thats what i be upset with, if i was an eels supporter , is the players attitude with the hayne plane/train and how he will get them into the finals.

Slick

The fans are 75% bandwagon jumpers ,like the swans fans . you never know your working with fans until parra win a couple or get a run going and suddenly your swamped with people who grew up in merrylands.

Something similar happens at many clubs. Look at the Tigers 2005, half the people at my work became Tigers fans in the weeks leading up to the GF. Even Manly has fans coming out of the woodwork when they look like wining. Lets see what happens with the Dragons this year, set to be the biggest bandwagon ever IMHO.

I'll admit Parra has their fair share, it's going to be one hell of a party if we ever actually manage to win something.