Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Letter from Noyce

Card Shark

Depends how you look at it.

Cullen quit because he felt the board made bad decisions without consulting him.

I agree. But it was rogue by the board, as they wanted a CEO that suited them.

I think they get that choice (Cullen not there), as bad as that appears.

Eion

If he didn't quit he should have got the arse. Must be the only CEO in history to have 0 communication with members, fans and media (unless we count shoving the knife in on the 730 report).

Don't mind what I've seen from noycey.

cb4

Very narrow minded that.

He was sent in by the NRL to clean a complete cluster f**k, we didn't pay a cent for him.

He was sent in to see if we could have our doors closed, but he proved to the NRL that we will be financially stable.

By the time his actual work commenced, he had to deal with a board under manning his every decision.

There have been far worse than Cullen. Far worse.

Eion

Yeah well, I suppose there have been worse. He still shouldn't have had a cry on the 730 report though.

Card Shark

Yeah well, I suppose there have been worse. He still shouldn't have had a cry on the 730 report though.

Imagine if he had to sack Carney & he had Carney saying in an interview that he had it in for him. He would've retaliated & blew things up.

Noyce took it on the chin...& it wasn't an ongoing story.

cleary89

League passes and Junior league passes that get scanned through the turnstiles, the info gets sent to the NRL and the NRL subsidises the club with finances.

So whilst money doesn't come out of your pocket, you help us get an extra $20. Thank you.

Really? I don't reckon that can be right.

Mr Brown....

Run off, Toops, Lewis, Gallen, Graham in that order.

Fa, Robbo will run things, run, run, then a repeat set if it is there, but run fella, run.

Madsharkie

I LOVE this part of his letter. The way things are run now with media scheduling sucks. They want a level playing field and strongly manage a salary cap, all the while the massive rort of FTA games to the big clubs continues... Well said Noycey. Stick it up 'em!

Our match on Sunday at Remondis Stadium is very important for a number of reasons. NO ONE involved in the Club wants to end up with the wooden spoon and therefore it is crucial that we build on the wonderful wins against the Bronco’s and Roosters. You would also be aware of the Club’s immense disappointment and frustration with the scheduling we received for season 2014. Whilst we acknowledge the tremendous financial support provided by Channel 9 and Fox Sports, in a competition that involves 16 Clubs there must be a more consistent approach across all NRL Clubs otherwise the rich will get richer and the poor poorer. On Sunday we play our only 3pm Channel 9 game for the season at Remondis and it is imperative that we get a HUGE crowd to show the NRL, along with our media partners, what we can achieve if we are given a fair share of the Sunday afternoon allocations.

Card Shark

To be fair to the NRL, yes they have ripped us off with FTA as usual, but plenty of of $ has been spent on promoting this game.

Hope there is a massive crowd there "to show the NRL & Nein" but what will really show them we deserve more games is an attacking / entertaining brand of footy, like the last 2 weeks. I reckon 9 will be pleased we are featured on Sunday because there is plenty of positive talk about our footy.

Alas, when they sit down to do the scheduling next year, they'll check the name of our coach & only give us FTA time around SOO. If we play boring footy like the last umpteen years, don't expect Ch 9 to want to show us - they have bills to pay .

DJDL

Very narrow minded that.

He was sent in by the NRL to clean a complete cluster f**k, we didn't pay a cent for him.

He was sent in to see if we could have our doors closed, but he proved to the NRL that we will be financially stable.

By the time his actual work commenced, he had to deal with a board under manning his every decision.

There have been far worse than Cullen. Far worse.

For real?

2012....Sharks Year

Pretty good letter. So much so it has convinced me to come watch you guys lose Sunday. Don't worry, I have nrl passes so I wont need to pay anything towards the club.

Hope you enjoy the experience of watching the footy in front of a passionate capacity crowd. I also believe there is a promotion of free beer to all fans wearing a dragons jersey..... Feel free to participate!

Madsharkie

To be fair to the NRL, yes they have ripped us off with FTA as usual, but plenty of of $ has been spent on promoting this game...

Ah you've been brainwashed!

'To be fair' would involve all clubs getting equal fta coverage. Until that happens it's not even close to a level playing field and will never become one. As Noyce mentioned the gap just gets bigger.

If you're a company looking to sponsor an NRL team, which one is more attractive... A team getting15 Friday night football games or 3 total fta games? And which club will be able to demand higher coin for their sponsorship? And which club will spawn more adoring child fans (because they're on prime time tv the same time each week)? And which club will sell more merchandise? And which club will fill their stadium more, and sell more good and beverage at the game? Need I go on?

It is a big enough issue for our clubs CEO to state as such in an open letter to fans. And I agree it's a massive inequality issue that needs to be addressed ASAP. So many people, who post on here, have remarked how the football just isn't the same anymore, or that they haven't 'gotten into it' as much. Maybe seeing a few other teams on fta tv might pique people's interest again...

End rant.

Eion

Ah you've been brainwashed!

'To be fair' would involve all clubs getting equal fta coverage. Until that happens it's not even close to a level playing field and will never become one. As Noyce mentioned the gap just gets bigger.

If you're a company looking to sponsor an NRL team, which one is more attractive... A team getting15 Friday night football games or 3 total fta games? And which club will be able to demand higher coin for their sponsorship? And which club will spawn more adoring child fans (because they're on prime time tv the same time each week)? And which club will sell more merchandise? And which club will fill their stadium more, and sell more good and beverage at the game? Need I go on?

It is a big enough issue for our clubs CEO to state as such in an open letter to fans. And I agree it's a massive inequality issue that needs to be addressed ASAP. So many people, who post on here, have remarked how the football just isn't the same anymore, or that they haven't 'gotten into it' as much. Maybe seeing a few other teams on fta tv might pique people's interest again...

End rant.
100%.

The other major thing widening the gap is the NRL allowing the 3rd party rorts to run out of control.

Take Daryass - that prawn had 3rd party sponsors. What do you think more likely, that these 3rd party deals were set up through the club and (previously) wealthy owner to swindle the salary cap OR companies are so impressed by Daryass' presence and 'value add' that they couldn't wait to be associated with him.