Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Loyalty before loot for Phil

Paullyboy

Souths Logan captain Phil Dennis has showcased why he was on the cusp of a fairytale NRL debut just a fortnight ago after inspiring his side to a 26-14 win over Ipswich.

“The Raiders were looking at Phil a couple of weeks ago but Glen Buttriss and Travis Waddell made comebacks quicker than was expected. Unfortunately Phil didn’t make it to the plane” says Souths Logan CEO Jim McClelland.

“Phil is the heart and soul of our club. He’s an old style footy player. He hasn’t got abs and he’s not the fittest looking guy, but you know he’s going to go 80 minutes every game and give you everything that he has got. He just amazes you every week with the amount of workload he gets through and the courageous way he plays.”

McClelland is certain the Raiders rate the man who was once dubbed the “Dean Widders of the Queensland Cup”.

“Dave Furner came up and watched us when we played the Northern Pride and Phil had a big game that day and really impressed him” McClelland says.

“I know that Phil wouldn’t let anybody down if he got an opportunity in the NRL are very lucky that he has chosen to stay with us each year because on the open market he is worth a lot more than we can pay him. We always try to look after the boys as much as we can but if it is money they are looking for it is very hard to hold them.”

The Magpies struggled financially for the two years they played at Logan, where they were unable to draw sufficient crowds to justify costs. The club will survive but it took another unexpected financial hit in the pre season.

“We put on a trial at Ballymore and we are still owed about $8,000 from them” McClelland says.

“We spoke to the players to let them know the position the club was in and offered them the opportunity to be released if they weren’t happy. I got the six senior players together and explained what the situation was but Phil was the first one to step forward and say ‘Jim, we don’t play here for the money. We play because of the respect we are given and because we enjoy playing here’.”

Rugby League Week

----------------------------------------

This was posted on the Raiders forums and I thought it was pertinent given the crap players like Jarryd Hayne have been spruiking lately.

A very good point was raised on one of the footy shows last night (I know, I was shocked too) saying that players have forgotten that this is the working class game.

The players are turning into money-hungry primadonna's and it's so refreshing to remember stories like the one above. God how I wish I was still in QLD and could go to QLD Cup games. You get great quality without the wankers.

Whoosh

Good story. Once the Raiders are mathematically out of the race for the finals, they shuold give him a run.

And this is no longer the working class game. If you want it to go back to being the working class game why don't we drop the salary cap to 400k, let all the best players go to rugby or overseas, and end up with a competition weaker than the NSW cup. Get with the times, rugby league in Australia is now an elite professional competition NOT the working class game anymore.

This was posted on the Raiders forums and I thought it was pertinent given the crap players like Jarryd Hayne have been spruiking lately.

A very good point was raised on one of the footy shows last night (I know, I was shocked too) saying that players have forgotten that this is the working class game.

The players are turning into money-hungry primadonna's and it's so refreshing to remember stories like the one above. God how I wish I was still in QLD and could go to QLD Cup games. You get great quality without the wankers.

maybe that wanker Dugan should also take note..you know, the bloke who's obviously holding out for more money..

God-King Dean

I'm sick of this whole loyalty bullsh*t.

Players should look out for themselves above all else.

f**king parasites.

nqcowboy87

technically rugby league is and always will be the working mans game, b ut it is an elite sport nowdays, but some players carry on like english premier league primadonnas. are they expecting to earn enough of football so they can live in a mansion and not work after they retire. loylaty does still play a part in everything

Dirty Hoe

players should look after themselves loyalty is gone.

clubs will shaft a player quicker than it takes you to cum when it suits them

The Engineers Room

Have the points system then clubs can get their sponsors to pay the salaries of the top players and player salaries will get to levels that will stop the looking around in other sports.

juanfarkall

A question for the OP, has Phil Dennis played for any other clubs in Brisbane ?

I seem to recall a player named Phil Dennis playing lower grades at other clubs who had a reputation as a lazy trainer with a not so great attitude who was unlikely to ever fulfil his potential.

Paullyboy

To be honest I'm not aware of him playing for anyone else, but having said that, Souths Logan were not around at the start of his career so it's a very strong chance he started at a club named differently (ie for Souths or Logan Brothers).

If he played for someone outside of that, I'm unaware of it (not saying it didn't happen, I genuinely am unaware)