Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

LU Canberra Raiders preview 2007

Knightmare

Like they say, being a pessimist has its' advantages in that you either get what you expect or you're pleasantly surprised. I suppose for Raiders fans, if they come last it won't be any major shock to them but anything higher will be cause for celebration. Someone has to come last, though.

Disco

Best youngsters in the league, wont come last

that said, i think they'll be wildly inconsistant and miss the 8, but there on there way to being a force (if they can keep there team together)

jed

Disco said:
but there on there way to being a force (if they can keep there team together)

We've got a list of all our contracted players in the Raiders forum (http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=90062), we've got only a few 2007-expiring contracts left unattended to, and a few guys that are already locked in to 2009/2010 - most of us are excited about the ones that we've given longer term contracts to, so Henry has a lot to work with over the next few years.

mxlegend99

Disco said:
Best youngsters in the league, wont come last
Which comp did they win? I thought Harold Matthews, SG Ball and Jersey Flegg were won by Panthers, while Premier League went to Eels.

I'd rate the teams with the trophies as having the best juniors.

Disco

mxlegend99 said:
Which comp did they win? I thought Harold Matthews, SG Ball and Jersey Flegg were won by Panthers, while Premier League went to Eels.

I never said best juniors, i said best youngsters

As in the best bunch of young NRL players

Including

Carney
Weyman
Tilse
Costigan
Zilliman
Miller
Dobson
Goodwin
Leoroyd-Lars etc

MattJ

I guess this is the season wether we find out if Elliot was the great coach many people believe, or if he was the hinderance that many raiders fans would have you believe.
Either way, i wouldnt be suprised to see the raiders in a group of 4 or 5 teams all in with a shot for 7th and 8th place come seasons end. A lot of there talented youngsters got some good experience and played some great football on the back end of last season.
Goodluck to the raiders anyhow.

simon says

Down the bottom end of the table.......the bloke who wrote this must be a Raider fan to pick them as high as 9th.

They have lost the 5 best players in their side......the most important being Shifcofsce,I dont know how many times he won them games they should have lost.

IMO his loss is worth about 4-6 points,and the Raiders dont win too many by more than 6.

legend

You don't have to and if you knew anything about the Raiders, the majority of our wins were by six points or fewer during the Elliott years.

Get ready for heart attack footy Panthers.

mxlegend99

legend said:
You don't have to and if you knew anything about the Raiders, the majority of our wins were by six points or fewer during the Elliott years.

Get ready for heart attack footy Panthers.
Well, i think winning by less then 6 points would be a good change from last year :cool:

Knightmare said:
Like they say, being a pessimist has its' advantages in that you either get what you expect or you're pleasantly surprised. I suppose for Raiders fans, if they come last it won't be any major shock to them but anything higher will be cause for celebration. Someone has to come last, though.

what are you drunk?
If we come last or any where near it, it would be a massive shock to any canberra fan or league fan with any knowledge of the talent we have in our club. I expect nothing short of a top 8 position, again like years gone by we wont do anything in the finals THIS year but we will give it a real shake in the 08-09 seasons

ByRd

I dont expect the Raiders to make the 8 but i wouldnt be shocked if they did cause they do surprise people. But i just think this team needs time to gel and this year may be too early. They lost alot of experience so the young guys will take a while to learn, especially with a new fullback, halves and hooker combination (which is really important)

Mal Meninga

mxlegend99 said:

The SG Ball side and Premier league side that won 2-3 years ago have a fair share now in the first grade squad, such as Carney and Dobson.

ocko

juniors
i'm tipping the spoon for me this year. good on em for giving some of their youngsters a go, but thery're not going to be successful this year doing it. in years to come, who knows? but not this year

Ron Jeremy

I wouldn't say they have have the best lot of NRL players coming through, i think that goes to Parramatta & St George Illawarra, but they do have talent there.

Timbo

It's going to depend alot on injuries.

Already Bronx Goodwin (son of former Aussie fullback Ted Goodwin), who was a shoe in for the #1 spot left by Schif, has broken his arm and will be out for a while.

Our forwards are monsters and will match up toe-to-toe with any club in the league. Our backline though...Other than Graham, the rest are either proven average first graders (Best, Frawley) or unknown quantities who could be anything or nothing (Dobson, Zillman, Goodwin).

If the young backs fire, we could bother a few teams. But difficult to see us going anywhere near the first Sunday in October.

thickos

Going to be an interesting season for sure. The loss of experienced players does hurt, but leaving Schifcofske out of the equation for the moment, the players who have moved on are:

Woolford - while great player in his prime, has been below his best for a while. Was interchanged with Withers all 06 which led to inconsistent style.

Smith - massively important for us but 05 contribution was much more significant than 06. Obviously getting old (very old). I believe what we bought him for (to pass on his league knowledge) has been successful, and it was time to move on and look to the future.

Mogg - dominant late last year but largely inconsistent prior to that.

Kahler - who cares, good to clear cap space.

Hodgson - honest toiler but not an impact player.

Croker - heart and soul of the side but again, not the dominant force he used to be. Ball handling a major issue last year too.

So yes while Schifcofske leaves a gaping hole at the back, and we will leak more points in his absence, it is not the doom and gloom that many predict. Recruits like Matt Bickerstaff and Glen Turner were smart pickups and add a lot of starch to the pack. When we signed Bickerstaff I started watching his game very closely and damn I was impressed, he will go well and be a team leader. Turner goes alright too despite missing all last season, Neil Henry rates him highly. Then of course Nev Costigan, he'll be out with a point to prove. Add in Dane Tilse, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs, Mick Weyman etc and I'm delighted with the state of the pack tbh.

The making of this side will come from the backs. We have only recruited Colin Best and while he can be suss defensively he brings much needed experience. He and Phil Graham are the only 'certainties' in the entire backline. Fullback could be Bronx Goodwin, Marshall Chalk or William Zillman, but I think they may unleash Zillman off the bench. He will be an excitement machine however, no doubt.

In the halves Todd Carney has to step up with Smith gone, he may be partnering his old mate Michael Dobson, or Zillman might find himself there too. Either way there are a lot of young exciting players in the Raiders side and while we will lose games because they're inexperienced, we'll win games no one expects us to as well.

I think the thing that has most Raiders fans excited is Neil Henry has stopped the 'Elliott rhetoric.' IMO Matt Elliott has built a career selling his side short, last year he said that we have a pretty weak squad. As a result by making the finals he's considered a coaching genius - and the Sydney media have bought it hook line and sinker. Fact is he had much more 'talented' players (Smith, Schifcofske, Woolford etc) than Neil Henry has access to in 07, yet Henry has never sold the squad short or said they're not up to it. He has constantly come out in the media and while being realistic, has said we've got enough young talented players to be a competitive side.

Hearing our coach talk up our players is a welcome change for once. That and, well, everything points to a more sophisiticated game plan than 'hitup hitup hitup hitup pass to Smith or Schif' that the supercoach devised over the past 5 years :lol:

simon says

I reckon their will be a lot of Raider fans with even more egg on their faces than now, when Elliot guides Penrith into the top eight, and the Raiders come bottom or very close to it.