Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mander retires

The Preacher

skeepe said:
Clarke should rightfully assume the mantle of #1 now.

Couldn't referee a sh*t fight, even if he was the target he'd go to the video ref.
icon8.gif

Would NOT know SH*T from CLAY if he tasted it.
icon13.gif

Boing Boing

This is a pity. The level of refereeing in Rugby League's top competition is already alarmingly bad. jason Robinson should step up. He doesn't take sh*t from any players and although he's made some colossal mistakes in the past, I think people should give him a go.

The Preacher

2UE 1530hrs news has reported that Mander is staying on as a video ref.

He'll be busy with the tripe that will be blowing the whistle next season.

AuckMel

The_MaFeeLi_Tiger said:
Black isn't good enough....saw him cost the Cook Islanders the game (And eventually the series) against NZ Maori's......As well as plenty of other mistakes.

Does this mean more Shayne Hayne?!?!?!?!?

If Black's not good enough, then neither are about 5 other NRL refs.

Fact is, he craps all over, Hayne, Archer, Robinson, Clarke and Lyons.

Knightmare

Bomber said:
One of the better referees in his generation, and certainly better than the current mob.

One of his biggest problems, as a Queenslander, was that he didn't want to be seen as being biased towards the Maroons, Broncos and Cowboys. So, often, he would referee them more strictly and end up being biased against them.

I suppose Simpkins is now the #1 referee...I still can't get past him not giving the Cowboys a penalty in the final seconds of the 2004 preliminary final when Minichello knocked the ball into an offisde Chris Walker, instead ordering a scrum that had no time to form. Call me bitter and twisted, but he's blotted his copybook in my eyes after that! :)

No, I'm with you there. That game was probably the biggest rort I've ever seen, and that includes Northern Eagles-Newcastle matches refereed by Steve Clark!

Raider_69 said:
and with him into retirement goes one of the last decent refs we have

Mate I am over the moon. This guy absolutely hates the raiders. He single handledly won the game for Cronulla at canberra statium this year with some hurrendous penalties. The penalty count ended up 16-4 or something. It was as though he was on a mission to get the sharks home.

Having said that, he has been a good ref in rep matches and big games and deserves a rap for his career, but as a raiders fan I am glad to see the back of him.

imasharkie

strewth_mate said:
The time is ripe for a return of Moghseen...

Whatever happened to him. He had a bright future ahead of him.

While we're talking of young refs, what about Mark Oaten=what happened to him,he was a good young ref too.

Jason Robinson is the new kid on the block with a view to being the number one ref in 2006.

choc_soldier

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
I dunno about anyone else, but I'll always remember his last NRL game very fondly.

In the same way that I will with Bill Harrigan... ;-)

Tim Mander was definitely at the top of the tree... sad loss.

Hari Kari

65-100k the fulltime refs will be on, time for some of you to start trialing with the under 11's.